Ratings based on 186 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Palmers Wedding anniversary and family stay

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: Loved the scenery , the history of it and the peaceful surroundings
Cons: perhaps some new loungers by the pool , big palms , a few little touches here and there as it is set back in time so is meant to look older
Location: Fabulous beach and bush walks etc to enjoy
We were greeted at the front desk with lovely smiles and lots of information for our stay. We stayed in the Villa and had the most amazing views and weather. Nothing was a problem and we have 3 very busy boys. Our room was spacious and well planned out with a large bathrooms our own deck and the boys played cricket so we just relaxed. It was very private and very peaceful Dinner was a little late to be served but worth the wait in the restaurant. There was a wedding on but we fed our boys before we had our dinner.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wellington

Different and indifferent experience

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Pros: Its idiosyncrasies
Cons: Its idiosyncrasies
Location: It's Auckland. There's too much badly managed traffic
This is not a run-of-the mill place, and so good to have against the same old same old city hotels. But it feels weird in The Shining kind of way. It's isolated down a dark damp bush road, with great views at the end, and built from a different era rarely seen outside of NZ. Jack Nicholson didn't axe his way through my door, but I felt ripped off the high mark-up to ensure room had internet (why is this even optional any more???), then being told I'd have to pay more after 500MB, then 500MB, then 1G - what?? The check-in was so dismissive to the point of being rude that it started feeling more like Rocky Horror Picture Show, but without the benefit of transvestites or aliens. The food was expensive but good - you are captured there, so you'd have no option anyway, and the time window the check-in gave me kept shrinking ("8.30, uh 8, how about 7.45"). The shallow pool and squash court (yes, really) were not sufficient substitutes for an actual gym, with dilapidated changing areas. The surrounding forest was beautiful but desperately silent, the effects of cats, rats and possums, with traps left unbaited. The longer walk was poorly mapped, and the Deliverance came to mind when I came across a toilet seat housed in tarpaulin in the bush....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney

Amazing scenery

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: Being in the middle of no where.
Cons: Smoking policy. People still smoking on balconies mean smoke comes into room as no air conditioning means windows ad doors are open.
Location: Beautiful bush area, beaches, national parks, water activities.
Lovely meals, great scenery, close to tourist attractions, eg beaches.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic quietly hotel in great location

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Great hotel, our room was spacious comfy and everything you needed. Really liked the traditional decor in keeping with hotel. Unfortunately this is not being kept. Stunning views. One down was had to wait hour for breakfast but waitress was very friendly and kept us updated and apologised. Very friendly staff
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Texas

Beautiful view, but not worth the cost

Posted Dec 20, 2016 on Orbitz
This hotel has an incredible view of the rainforest that surrounds it. However, the hotel itself has minimal amenities. They charge per item for laundry, even though it's not dry-cleaned. They have a restaurant, but no cafe or store for basic purchases. This means that if you forget anything, it's a half hour drive to the nearest town. The staff was minimally helpful. When we asked for a 3-bed room, we were put into a room with 1 king size bed. They did move us into another room, but did so begrudgingly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rockhampton

Retreat!

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Wotif
We stayed in the loft room, with its huge window letting in the vista of Auckland City, all while witnessing it as you are relaxing in bed. As night was gradually forming, we had dinner downstairs, again with this same view, and coupled with the skillfully prepared cuisine, it was definitely a highlight of our stay in NZ.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Posted Nov 24, 2016 on Wotif
Nice hotel to get away from the city for a short break. It's a bit like stepping back in time with a 70s feel but very comfortable. Nice views of Nz bush & Auckland city. Staff are lovely. The restaurant served a great dinner and good wine list.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great and well maintained estate with enormous cha

Posted Oct 27, 2016 on Hotels
Other than weak wifi signal we truly enjoyed our three nights stay. It's a beautiful estate in a beautiful natural setting, a great place for relaxing and going around exploring the nature beauty. The restaurant is great with limited choices but everything is cooked at a fine dining quality.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff. Nice rooms. Lovely quiet location
Location: Beautiful part of West Auckland.
Hotel lovely country retreat very grand. Rooms v nice but some general areas need renovating
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from christchurch

Lovely bush retreat

Posted Sep 25, 2016 on Wotif
Although we had rain and lived in the cloud overnight it is an incredibly peaceful and quiet retreat. We were looking forward to walking in the area and due to the weather had to cancel these plans . We will be more than willing to come back . Lovely dinner and breakfast and small number of guests make it friendly