Ratings based on 3,550 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from gta

Pictures were deceiving

Posted Oct 13, 2017
The pictures online were obviously when from it first opened. Bathrooms needed major updating. Showers were moldy and floors too. The kitchen was unusable because it was so old. A $20 resort was ridiculous and completely a rip off.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pittsburgh pa

comfortable,clean, excellent staff

Posted Oct 10, 2017
good location food beaches with in waling distance staff excellent clean and comfortable rooms
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 6, 2017
The vents were too.noisy, couldn't sleep. Quit making me write more stuff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, California

Clean, quiet hotel room

Posted Oct 6, 2017
I was a little nervous about my stay at Ambassador after reading all the reviews but I was very pleased with the room we stayed in. The room was clean, spacious, with working ACs in the bedroom and living room and the balcony was a really nice surprise. Beds were comfortable enough and the bathroom had very good lighting. Staff were nice and the concierge lady helped us plan our activities for our 5 day stay. Only bad thing was that there was no AC in the restroom which got a little hot but other wise very happy with my stay at Ambassador. Would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Spring, TX

A gem in the rough.

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Pros: The price was decent for a last minute booking, the location was decent and the City Bus stop is very close with access to Ala Moana Mall and HNL
Cons: It could be updated, the building is about 30 to 40 years and it looks like it.
Location: The Ambassador Hotel is located at the beginning of Waikiki. It is at Kalakaua and Nakahama.
We had to find a hotel at the last minute because we missed the flight to Guam. I went to my Expedia mobile APP and started looking for a place for the wife and I and we happened the Ambassador Hotel and we booked it and didn't know what to expect. The room was clean and there was a full size refrigerator and a kitchenette with cookware, glassware and utensils.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from midland, on

Not worth the money

Posted Sep 30, 2017
The room is extremely dated. The walls are all banged up the kitchen is absolutely disgusting. Oceanview should be limited as you are at least four blocks away so you can't really see it that well. I was there on my honeymoon and was given a twin bed and a single. It has a serious ant infestation in the shower doesn't drain.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

House keepers are excellent

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Hotel house keepers are excellent! Ants or tiny insects crawling all over the room. Shower is clogged. We have to use the toilet pump to drain.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saskatoon, SK

Older hotel but well maintained.

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Pros: Location and size.
Cons: Coffee machine in room would be nice.
Location: Bus, beach, shopping, everything you need.
Loved the roominess, comfort of beds and location to beach, shopping, bus, etc. Older hotel but well kept and great staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Overall a great place to stay. The only thing is the elevator is really slow but I would stay there again.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Disappointment

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: Friendly Staff
Cons: Do away with that so called Resort Fee. Repair the shower facilities.
Location: Area is showing of becoming seedy. Consider a rental vehicle and leave the concrete jungle.
We went to Hawaii to visit Hawaii and not our hotel. As a result, we brought back as many memories as possible and the hotel wasn't one of them. The so called Resort Fee is a RIP-OFF which like many other visitors rarely if ever utilizes any of their perks. The Hotel Stall were friendly and the maid service were worthty of merit!