Ratings based on 3,086 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

BROKEN DOWN HOTEL

Posted Dec 9, 2017
The bathroom shower and door malfunctioning, the closet door did not open or close, the room itself was in bad condition with peeling paint, the staff erred in giving us two queen size beds rather than the king size bed requested and booked for online, etc etc etc. Stay away!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Pros: reasonable, near from shops and restaurant
Cons: as above point which I was disappointed
Location: near from Hawaiian jewelry shop LONO and steak restaurant Ruth's Chris
When checking in, I was asked show my credit card because it was for guarantee and passed the front staff, but I was charged amenity charge about US $ 11.00 at checkout. As I didn't hear about this charge before, I was disappointed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2017 by Guest Relations Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, Hotel Management
Aloha, Thank you for your review. We're glad that you enjoyed our convenient location. However, we're sorry to hear about the issues you mentioned. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Sincerely,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good for that price. Excellent location.

Posted Dec 2, 2017
Excellent location. Little bit old furnished. Nice staff. Good for that price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2017 by Guest Relations Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, Hotel Management
Aloha, Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We are happy to hear that you had a positive experience at our hotel. We hope to see you again in the near future. Sincerely,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Spokane Wa

close to beach

Posted Dec 1, 2017
my reservation was 3 single bed but when i was check-in they gave to me 2 double bed..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Receptionist

Posted Nov 27, 2017
The receptionist was so rude. Her name is Cathy. We felt like she didn’t want us to be there. Really bad experience with her. I stayed here before thats why i came back but Cathy ruined our Thanksgiving stay at this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2017 by Guest Relations Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, Hotel Management
Aloha, Thank you very much for the feedback. We're sorry to hear that you received unsatisfactory customer service. If you would like to discuss your experience further, please provide us with an email address where we can reach you. Sincerely,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from vancouver

This hotel too old

Posted Nov 16, 2017
They do try hard to keep it clean, but the building is simply too old and lack of reno. Dust in the ventilation systems, pest... Not recommended if your budget is flexible
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 9, 2017 by Guest Relations Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, Hotel Management
Aloha 886, Thank you very much for your review. We're sorry that you didn't have a positive experience with us. Thank you for bringing our attention to the issues you mentioned. Sincerely,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

the hotel needs an upgrade

Posted Nov 15, 2017
I'm disappointed that Expedia book me in this hotel, the name Ambassador hotel does not represent the company. The best thing about this hotel was the staff they were very professional.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 9, 2017 by Guest Relations Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, Hotel Management
Aloha Shelly, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review. We're happy to hear that you had a positive experience with our staff members. Sincerely,
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mississauga

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Worst experience ever. Cockroaches in the room...I said everything.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 9, 2017 by Guest Relations Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, Hotel Management
Aloha Cristian, Thank you very much for your feedback. Our guests' comments are very important to us because we use it to better our overall hotel experience. Sincerely,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Clinton, MO

Hotel is old, & there is mold in the vents & walls

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Pros: The TV worked!
Cons: Actual pictures on the hotel, not glamorized photos. Explanations of number of showers, and actual distance to the beach, not within walking distance
Location: We rented a car because walking distance does not take into consideration for people who have disabilities.
When we checked in, we were told that Expedia was waiving the resort fee, however we would have to pay parking. When we checked out we were charged resort fees AND parking fees. The picture of the hotel is very deceiving, it is very outdated & it NOT close to the ocean. We also wanted a room with an ocean view with a kitchen, when we checked in, they told us we could have one or the other, NOT both. Very disappointed with the fact that there was mold growing in the room in which we stayed. Beddings were not changed, until we physically put a note on the bed requesting the bedding to be changed. We were put on the 13th floor, which wasn't a huge deal, however there was ONE ice machine for the WHOLE hotel and 18 floors plus a penthouse, and 3-4 washers & dryers. The first night we were there, we didn't realize that when you leave the hotel the doors don't shut behind you, so when we returned our hotel door had been open the whole time we left. House-keeping does NOT knock either when they are coming in to clean your room, so you literally have to either keep the extra latch on your door all the time, or schedule your showers or changing clothes around housekeeping, because they will literally walk into your room unannounced. There was also nasty bodily fluids that were on the walls, that were there the WHOLE stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 9, 2017 by Guest Relations Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, Hotel Management
Aloha Valorie, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review. We're sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. If you'd like to discuss your experience further, please leave us your contact info. Sincerely,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Friendly staff with good pool area.

Posted Nov 13, 2017
The staff was friendly and helpful. The pool is small, but area is nice. The beds in the room are comfortable. The whole room however needs updating. The kitchen appliances are with rust. The closet is in the bathroom and the doors were off the rail. No vent in the bathroom and felt humid most of the time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 9, 2017 by Guest Relations Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, Hotel Management
Aloha Hilda, Thank you very much for your feedback. We're glad that you had a positive experience with our staff members. Also, thank you for bringing our attention to the issues you mentioned. Sincerely,