Ratings based on 1,934 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Older hotel but less than 10 minute walk to beach

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: Location. Short walk to the beach, restaurants, and shopping.
Cons: Elevator service: only one working elevator for the entire hotel, and the stairs were for Emergency Use Only
Location: Location. Short walk to the beach, restaurants, and shopping.
Cons: Only had two total elevators but one was Out-of-Order the entire time during our stay, so really only one working elevator All the stairwells were for Emergency Use Only which was a problem for us because our room was only on the second floor but our only option was to take the only working elevator which had an approximate wait time of 7 minutes Mirror in our bathroom was broken Positives: Less than 10 minute walk to beach Less than 10 minute walk to lots of restaurants and shopping Fresh pancakes for breakfast Hotel has a restaurant and a bar
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Friendly and hospitable staff who care

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: The cleanliness and the location close to the shops and beach
Cons: There could be more variety at the breakfast table to please everyones tastes
Location: Very happy that the beach was nearby especially when you want to go and get changed.Also places to go and eat and many different shops
I stayed at the Aqua Aloha Surf hotel for 16 nights,I enjoyed every minute of it.The staff are very polite and helpful in every way, they care about your stay at their Hotel and will do everything to make you feel comfortable. The rooms are spotless and cleaned every day with clean towels etc.I recommend this Hotel because it is reasonable in price and very close to all amenities including the beach
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose Ca.

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Room was small but decent. Bathroom was a little gross bugs crawling and flying in the showers. But other that that it's ehh you get what you pay for.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2017 by Tim Clark, Hotel Management
Aloha Jan and thank you for sharing your review. We strive to provide great value to our guests with comfortable rooms, quality amenities, and friendly customer service with lots of aloha spirit. I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the bugs. Pest control is a priority and rooms are sprayed once a month with daily maintenance from housekeeping. Unfortunately, bugs are much more common during these warmer summer months. Your valuable feedback is appreciated and will be shared with our leadership team for careful consideration and improvement. We hope to welcome you again for another enjoyable stay soon. Mahalo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Hotel staff was very helpful, room was comfortable and clean. Only about 2 blocks from the beach. We will definitely stay there again when we come back to Waikiki.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very small, dated rooms

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Nice lobby. Good location.
Cons: Cereal and toast for breakfast.
Extra charges on arrival make no sense. Very small, dated rooms. Free breakfast was just weird combination of foods.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2017 by Tim Clark, Hotel Management
Aloha and thank you for sharing a review. I am happy that you enjoyed our welcoming lobby as well as our convenient location close to Waikiki beach, shops, and restaurants. However, I am disappointed to hear that the room wasn't as spacious or updated as you had hoped and that the breakfast options were not to your satisfaction. Our daily hospitality fee is outlined on our website and is an industry standard that allows guests to enjoy many convenient services and amenities like our popular Waikiki to Ala Moana shopping shuttle, BluRay/DVD movies and PlayStation 3 games, in-room WiFi internet access, and more, without having to incur separate additional charges. Your valuable feedback is appreciated and will be shared with our leadership team for careful consideration and improvement. We hope to welcome you again for a more enjoyable stay soon. Mahalo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Great hotel for families and students

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Pros: Excellent customer service recieved from front desk, housekeeping, etc. Staff gave helpful tips on sightseeing and transportation. Great amenities.
Cons: selection of breakfast choices
Location: super convenient and in the heart of Waikiki
The hotel suited my family perfectly in terms of comfort, convenience, and budget. The staff were wonderful and helped to make our stay very pleasant. By staying here, we saved money on lodging, and treated ourselves to nice dinners, exciting activities such as helicopter rides and ziplining, and had fun shopping for things not found elsewhere.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto canada

Great location.

Posted Aug 9, 2017
Staff were very accommodating and helpful. Breakfast choices were poor. lication was really good - easy access to the beach. Complimentary shuttle to Aka Moana and other stores was great. Helpful to have the kitchenette in the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2017 by Tim Clark, Hotel Management
Aloha and thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed our ideal location close to Waikiki beach, as well as our convenient amenities and services. I am also happy to hear that you felt welcome by our friendly staff, but sorry that you were disappointed with the breakfast options. I will share your valuable comments with our management team so that we may improve our overall guest experience, and we hope to have another opportunity to warmly welcome you for a more enjoyable stay soon. Mahalo.
3 out of 5
by Sheryll

Waikiki Tour PH

Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Hotels
Stay in the hotel was good, overall it was fair cause of the consideration you are asking that was not granted, stayed a week, just to ask for consideration to use the washroom to have a shower and change cloths because our flight is later at night cant be given considerations, and ask to pay extra for late check out? Common we have kids and you know that its hard to change and have a comfortable shower in public areas. But thats it over all we are good. Especially the free cintinental breakfast everyday. Just to mention the lady checking the breakfast coupon need to have a better customer service, she never smile.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria BC Canada

Okay, moderate priced hotel

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: Clean room. Mostly friendly staff. Great music in the lobby and very comfortable. Appliances and tv worked.
Cons: Owners need to get together and get rid of the people running the kitchen and the bar. I have a friend that will be commenting on the bar.
Location: Good location. The beach is 1 long block away, Good views of the Ala Wai Canal. Pool, small but clean.
I did not get the room that I reserved online, nor did my colleagues. The hotel should not lead you down the garden path thinking you are getting something that you are not. I requested 2 twins with a Lanai. I was booked into a room with a king-sized bed and no lanai. ended up in a King bed with a lanai overlooking 2 boarded up buildings and a parking lot under construction. My 2 friends ended up with a queen bed and no dresser, ancient shower. There were no occasional chairs in either room save an old kitchen chair in mine. I understand these are condos, or I do now and probably very difficult to rent out less favourable units to guests but do not tell potential guests they are getting one type of room and then act like they are doing you a favour upgrading you from so NOT desirable to LESS undesirable. Most of the Staff were very friendly with the exception of 1 person who shall remain nameless. My room was very clean. The Manager of the units should get rid of the people operating both the kitchen and the bar. The food was terrible and the staff pretended they did not understand English. The bar is a whole other story.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: Location, staff, open lobby with coffee & water, concept of providing breakfast
Cons: Modernize rooms - change older fittings
Location: Walking distance to many key locations at Waikiki.
Spent satisfactory 8 days at hotel. Pleasant and helpful staff.