Ratings based on 725 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Good place for a decent price

Posted Dec 21, 2017
Nice hotel in the center of Waikiki beach. Limited parking but you can park at other hotels for the same price. Everything is within walking distance: food, shopping and the beach. Try the Lovin Oven downstairs by the pool, great vegan place but doesn’t compromise on taste. Staff was friendly and very accommodating to needs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydeney

Great location, close to the beach. Lovely pool.

Posted Dec 20, 2017
Pros: Location and pool
Cons: Refurbishment or painting everything white to lift the old bamboo brown and make it feel light and bright. Replacing curtains in all rooms.
Location: Noisy road outside, noisy bins removed each day on the other side. Depends where your room is as to your noise levels. Otherwise great location.
Aqua Bamboo was a nice smaller hotel in a great location being close to the middle of Waikiki beach. Although its décor was a little dated and tired, with the soft furnishings especially needing replacement the pool area was just beautiful and the staff were extremely lovely making up for that.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never again

Posted Dec 20, 2017
Not clean Pool area was dirty. Staff not friendly at all except for the nice concierge girl
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alberta Canada

Smoke and mirrors

Posted Dec 2, 2017
Pros: Close to beach. Pool area was nice
Cons: Better upholstered sitting chairs. If you book a king get a king.
Location: Luau, Diamond Head, Pearl Harbour all avalible from bus across street.
Did not get king size. Got a double. Said they would upgrade for a fee. Said they do not guarantee size on arrival. No sense booking early. Room looked bigger on brochures due to mirrors. 2.5 stars at best.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and close to the beach we had a semi view

Posted Nov 30, 2017
Nice and quiet hotel clean older though it would be nice to have some regular chairs in the room
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PERTH WESTERN AUSTRALIA

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Pros: The pool area and pizza shop and free coffee and water machines.
Cons: The decor was dated and could do with a refresh.
Location: Two streets from the main strip, beach, shopping and good bus and shuttle service
This hotel is centrally located to shopping and the beach. The room was comfortable with a kitchenette and balcony. The queen beds were comfortable but we felt the sheets were not clean and fresh. There is a shuttle service that takes you to Ala Moana Shopping Complex next door. The pool area was lush and tropical with lots of seating. There is also a Pizza shop on the premises which was a novelty. Overall it was a pleasant stay. I would recommend it to families and couples.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gatineau, QC

Nice hotel and amazing staff!

Posted Oct 26, 2017
We stayed at this hotel on the first leg of our trip to Hawaii. The location is so convenient. You can walk to Waikiki Beach and many shops/restaurants. The room was spacious and clean. We were very comfortable. The staff is beyond helpful. They answered our numerous questions about attractions, hikes and activities. They went out of their way to make sure we were getting the most out of our trip. The pool area is very nice! The only slightly negative thing I would mention is the parking fee, but we only rented a car for 2 days so we just paid one night of parking. Overall, we were truly satisfied and happy with the Aqua Bamboo.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2017 by Kimari Pada, Hotel Management
Aloha Dominique! Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your positive experience with me. I'm delighted to hear you were so happy with your stay and are glad you enjoyed our ideal location in Waikiki, comfortable accommodations, fun pool area, and friendly staff. It was an honor to have you as our guest, and I invite you to stay with us again the next time your travels bring you to Oahu. Mahalo! Sincerely,
4 out of 5
by linda

Posted Oct 20, 2017 on Hotels
Lots of space. Comfortable stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2017
Aloha Linda! Thank you so much for taking a minute to share your review. We’re thrilled you had a comfortable stay with us and enjoyed our spacious accommodations. It was a pleasure welcoming you to our hotel, and we invite you to stay with us again soon for another memorable escape. Mahalo!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Spain

Great location

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Pros: Location and room size. Nice sheltered pool with nice, hot, Jacuzzi.
Cons: Provision of a courtesy room.
Location: A stone's throw from the beach and pick up points for all the usual tours.
The staff were friendly and helpful. Short walk to Waikiki Beach. I would describe the hotel and its facilities as tired but that said, for the price it was excellent and the bed was spacious and comfortable. I would certainly go there again and recommend it to anyone seeking a budget hotel. Only slight drawback was the lack of a courtesy room where we could shower and change before going to the airport after checking out at midday we had to hang around till 6pm. The hotel doesn't provide food but there are plenty of places to eat nearby. A fridge and microwave is provide if you want to take your own food back with you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2017 by Nicole Yoshimoto, Hotel Management
Aloha and thank you for taking a moment to share the details of your stay with me. I'm so glad you had a positive experience and that you appreciate our spacious accommodations, ideal location in Waikiki, and our friendly staff. Your recommendation means a lot and we hope to welcome you back again soon! Mahalo nui loa (thank you very much in Hawaiian). Sincerely,
3 out of 5
by Mike from UK

Great location but a bit dated

Posted Sep 30, 2017 on Hotels
The location is great for Waikiki but the hotel could do with a refurbishment. The staff do a great job, it is only the tiredness of the rooms that hold it back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2017
Aloha Mike, thank you for your review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our ideal location and helpful staff. We appreciate your valuable feedback and will be sure to review your suggestion about refurbishing our rooms with our leadership team as we want all of our guests to enjoy a comfortable stay. Thank you for choosing to spend your vacation with us. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Mahalo!