Ratings based on 2,388 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

comfortable, clean

Posted Dec 24, 2017
Pros: cleanliness, polite staff.
Cons: Parking garage.
Location: Wakiki beach nearby.
Had a good experience, clean, free coffee, polite staff, overall nice hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 31, 2017 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and Mahalo for your feedback! We hope to see you again soon!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from philippines

Unnecessary additional charges

Posted Dec 22, 2017
Unnecessary additional charges upon check out. For the amenities fee and wifi including the use of gym and swimming pool.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 24, 2017 by front desk, Hotel Management
Aloha Alvin, Thank you for staying with us and providing your feedback. We would also like to apologize for the inconvenience during your checkout. We'll do our best to ensure any and all charges be clearly stated prior to checking in. Again, we sincerely thank you for you patronage and we wish you a safe and prosperous holiday season & new year! Sincerely, Aqua Palms Staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great hotel

Posted Dec 19, 2017
Pros: sofa in room, table and chairs both on balcony and in room
Cons: the gym was terrible why charge a facility fee for that
Location: close to shops ocean and ala moana mall
This hotel is very nice, we loved our room. There was plenty of space to walk around in the room. The room had a sofa and table and chairs.The bed was comfortable, and in room coffee was good. The lobby coffee machine didnt work properly. The gym was terrible (not worth the $20 facility fee the hotel charges whether you use their facilities ir not), it was a tiny room with an exercise bike and a tread mill. the pool was also disappointingly tiny but the ocean was so close that it wasnt a big deal to not be able to swim at the hotel. we just swam in the ocean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2017 by Aqua Palms Guest services, Hotel Management
Aloha! Thank you for staying with us at the Aqua Palm Waikiki. We value your feedback and will be shared with our management department. We apologize for the inconveniences that you've encountered during your stay. We hope you were able to enjoy your time in Waikiki and what it had to offer. Thank you again. Mahalo!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland, New Zealand

Posted Dec 15, 2017
Cons: Get rid of the amenity fee or make it optional.
Watch out for the additional amenity fees for a useless shuttle (comes once in a blue moon and drives around ala moana 2 times before coming back to aqua palms. Far better use of your time just to walk (5 minutes) or get the local bus for $2.50. Dated room with no roof light in the main room only side lamps which made it too dark.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 18, 2017 by Aqua Palms Guest Services, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at with us. We appreciate your feedback and it will help us to provide better service. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience that you had encountered. We will be sharing your review with our managers. Thanks again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Expensive for what you get

Posted Dec 14, 2017
Cons: Lifts, facelift, pool, fitness room, facilities offered in room. Air conditioner addressed as noise was loud.
Location: A short walk to beach and about a 10-15 minute walk to downtown.
I found the unexpected additional amenities fee of $20.00 a day horrifying for what was offered. I was under the impression all was included from expedia when booking.This needs to be made a lot clearer. The amenities were lacking gym only a treadmill! Pool needs to be looked at. Lifts very slow and one was not working while we were there. Location okay. Towels for room were were given only one when two guests in room. Aqua Palms was dated and needed a facelift especially for the daily rate for a room. There was no tea making facility in the room. Air conditioner noisy
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 17, 2017 by Guest Services and Team, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at the Aqua Palms Waikiki. We appreciate your feedback and it helps us to provide better service. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences that you had encountered during your stay and will make sure to inform all department heads of the issues. We hope you were still able to enjoy your time in Waikiki and what our Island had to offer. Thanks again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from florida

Posted Dec 10, 2017
Outdated. Rooms need to be upgraded. Stayed many times at this hotel. Rugs have been taken out and replaced with cheap laminate flooring. Very tacky!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2017 by Aqua Palms Guest services & team, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback and find it very valuable for it will help us to improve and provide better service. We will be sharing your feedback with our management department. Mahalo!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 1, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: Cleanliness of room
Location: Beach, restaurants, bars
good location next to great hotels and across the street from the beach
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2017 by aqua palms staff, Hotel Management
Aloha, Thank you for staying with us and providing your feedback! We hope to see you again in the near future. Mahalo nui loa
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from portland

Overrated

Posted Nov 24, 2017
This hotel it’s in need of a really deep cleaning, not work the 3.9 rating
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2017 by ., Hotel Management
Aloha, We appreciate your feedback. Mahalo, Aqua Palms
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 23, 2017
No room service, somewhat dated, but affordable and worth the money in the area. Good location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2017 by Aqua Palms Staff, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience with us!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Will be coming back!!

Posted Nov 23, 2017
The hotel is very nice, the staff very friendly.. the only problem or thing I didn’t like is the parking lot... very tight and first come first serve.. for the amount you pay per night kinda ridiculous.. and the IHOP in the hotel closes at 10pm.. what IHOP isn’t 24hrs... geez thankfully tho, there’s wailana restaurant right around the corner, the room was beautiful, nice view and balcony, overall have a very good experience definitely will return here for another vacay
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2017 by Aqua Palms Staff, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience with us!