Ratings based on 7,339 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from portland OR

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Great experoence. Good location of the hotel. All facilities are good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Super close to beach!

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Pretty good location. Resort fees cover beach towels and chairs to use at beach. Also given welcome bag with playing cards and water bottles! Resort fees do not cover parking tho. Room was a little small, but beds comfy. Bathroom needs updating. Walls are a bit thin so you can hear hallway bustling.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles ca

Very friendly staff. Good service!!!

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Great service , friendly staff , everything is super clean
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bothell WA

Nice place on the beach

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Pros: Great location. Most rooms have partial ocean views.
Cons: Wished there was better option than having to use valet parking at the hotel. I mean, there's self-park but it's $20/day and at least a block away.
Location: Walking distance to all shopping and restaurants.
We got an Expedia upgrade to a room w/ supposedly better ocean view than what we booked. It wasn't ocean-front, but an unblocked ocean view nevertheless. Nice! The hotel is older so there's signs of maintenance needs in the bathroom. (Not a deal breaker by any means, considering they're often full). Great service staff, from valet guys to check-in desks. The last 2 nights the AC acted up, but maintenance man came up to fix it right away. There's no parking garage on site so you either self-park for $20/day in a garage a couple of blocks away or pay $32/day valet fees. That's an extra $417/week total when you added up valet and $25/day resort fees. Ouch! The location is great. All the tour bus picks up here so you don't have to go far on tour days. Walking distance to all food and shopping. Crossing the street and you're on the beach - great time saver when you just want to sit and watch sunsets. We'd likely stay here again but may skip the car rentals next time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Hotel is right across the street from the beach however it is at the end of the strip. No self parking. Hotel does offer valet parking to their guest at $32 a night. The room was not bad although the hotel doesn’t offer many services.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2017 by Natasha Akee, Hotel Management
Aloha!!! Mahalo for staying with us and for sharing your experience. We’re glad you enjoyed our close proximity to our famous Kuhio Beach, restaurants, shopping outlets, and tourist attractions. Unfortunately due to limited space we’re unable to offer self-parking. Frequently we check competitive parking rates and price ourselves in order to remain competitive. We hope you created unforgettable memories, took lots of pictures, and enjoyed all the adventures our island has to offer. It would be our pleasure to host you again. Me Ke Aloha Pumehana, (with warmest aloha) Natasha Akee Guest Services Coordinator
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bullhead City, AZ

Great Location

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Pros: Location, refrigerator & coffee pot in the room. Towels and beach chairs available to take across the street to the beach.
Cons: Rooms and the pool area were neat and clean, but could use a face lift.
Location: Zoo, aquarium, beach, shopping.
Across the street from the beach and walking distance to restaurants and shops. Friendly, helpful staff. Excellent restaurant (Tiki's) onsite. Only down side is that they do not serve drinks or food out by the pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Great Customer Service

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Pros: Customer Service
Cons: None
Location: Great location near the end of the Waikiki Strip.
I left some clothes in the room and their lost and found was very helpful. Overall customer service was nice and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2017 by Natasha Akee, Hotel Management
Aloha!!! Mahalo nui loa (thank you very much) for choosing to stay with us and for providing valuable feedback of your experience. We’re glad you enjoyed our close proximity to our famous Kuhio Beach, restaurants, shopping outlets, and tourist attractions. We're sorry you left some clothes in the room however we are glad our team was able to be of assistance. Overall we hope you had a positive experience on O’ahu, and enjoy all the adventures our island has to offer. If your travels bring you back to Waikiki, we would be delighted to host you again. Me Ke Aloha Pumehana, (with warmest aloha) Natasha Akee Guest Services Coordinator
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the beach

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Pros: Great location for the kids, the beach right across the road.
Great location for families, close to the beach. Check in was awful, really long line and took a long time, even though we had done the paperwork earlier we still had to wait in the line to get a key. We had 4 people in our room and housecleaning continued to only give us 3 towels! Had to ring and get an extra one! unfortunately my daughter left her two 'snugglies' behind when we left early in the morning - I contacted the hotel twice to ask for them to be sent to us at our cost. When they finally replied they said they weren't there but we know they were definitely left in the room. A disappointing end to our holiday.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2017 by Natasha Akee, Hotel Management
Aloha!!! Mahalo nui loa (thank you very much) for choosing to stay with us and for providing valuable feedback of your experience. We’re glad you enjoyed our close proximity to our famous Kuhio Beach, restaurants, shopping outlets, and tourist attractions. We’re sorry you were unhappy with our check-in process. We’re implementing new tactics to improve our check-in process. Furthermore we're sorry our lost and found team did not locate your daughters snugglies. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced. Overall we hope you had a positive experience on O’ahu, and enjoy all the adventures our island has to offer. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you in the near future. Me Ke Aloha Pumehana, (with warmest aloha) Natasha Akee Guest Services Coordinator
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Ocean View

Posted Nov 15, 2017
When you walk out on your balcony it's a pretty View of the beach and I like the shopping area around the hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2017 by Natasha Akee, Hotel Management
Aloha!!! Mahalo nui loa (thank you very much) for choosing to stay with us and for providing valuable feedback of your experience. We’re glad you enjoyed our close proximity to our famous Kuhio Beach, restaurants, shopping outlets, and tourist attractions. Our property offers phenomenal views. I am glad that you were able to enjoy it. Overall we hope you had a positive experience on O’ahu, and enjoy all the adventures our island has to offer. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you in the near future. Me Ke Aloha Pumehana, (with warmest aloha) Natasha Akee Guest Services Coordinator
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Medicine Hat, Alberta

Hotel close to the beach and easy acces to trolley

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Pros: Accessibility to the main street and the beach and also the trolley system and tour buses.
Cons: Sell the room that you advertise!!!! Our room was no where near the pictures in the on the expedia page. Request view but did not get any Ocean view
Location: 6 ABC stores in walking distance to the Hotel, Honolulu Zoo 1 block away, beach directly across the street. Lots of Shady homeless people in vicinity.
We asked the housekeeper to leave more soap supplies as there was three adults staying in the room, seemed like a hit and miss for the first couple of days and then no soap supplies for the duration of our trip. Bathtub drained very, very, slowly like a half hour or more. Reported to House keeping but never got fixed well we were there. Phoned down for a wake up call to the front desk and the operator said to me, set your alarm clock we are to busy here to be phoning every room for wake up calls, so question to be asked is why sell the wake up call service on the phone if you aren't offering it to the customers. Almost missed one of our expensive bus tours. Food at the Tiki Grill and Bar was very good but would have been nice to have the ability to charge to the room bill instead of having to pay every time we ate there. Furnishings were nothing like those pictured on the Expedia advertising page in our room and everything looked old and abused. we were very disappointed with our choice of rooms as we were shoved in the back corner of the Hotel and only had a view of Diamond Head and not a partial view of the ocean. For the money dropped on this trip I would have expected a much better view of the ocean or at least some kind of upgrade to a up to date room at the very least.