Ratings based on 2,211 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Craig Colorado

Convenient location

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Pros: The location was great!
Cons: The sofa bed could be repaired or replaced.
Location: Close to the beach and beach activities. Lots of close by shopping and restaurants.
Our group of five female family members, ranging in ages 20 thru 75, found the hotel to be an older one but in great shape. The staff was very accommodating and the rooms were adequate. We had one room with a twin bed and a double bed and both were very comfy. The living-dining-kitchenette had a queen sized sofa bed. The 2 gals sleeping on the sofa bed complained about it being very squeaky during the night whenever they moved and it was not very comfortable. Kitchen facilities were well appointed. Location was great-close to the beach and lots of restaurants and shopping within walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Second great stay

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Cons: air conditioning in hall ways and elevator.
My husband and I spent our 4th wedding anniversary in Hawaii and stayed at the Aston Waikiki Sunset. It is the perfect spot if you want to be close to the beach, take the bus anywhere and do your own cooking when you want. The beds are comfortable and the housekeeper was very nice and did our room with pride. I would recommend this hotel because of the full kitchen and location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2017 by Doug Okada, Hotel Management
Aloha Chris! First, we’d like to say a big happy anniversary! We’re so delighted to hear that you and your husband chose to celebrate your special day with us. Thank you for your recommendation and glowing review. We’re happy to learn that you found our location convenient and were able to relax in our comfortable beds. We take pride in keeping our rooms clean and providing a great kitchen for our guests to use as they please so we’re elated to hear that you took advantage of that amenity. Mahalo and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and your husband back for your fifth anniversary! Aloha,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Tired and Dirty

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Pros: See Pros List, The location and staff were great
Cons: This place needs to be cleaned and maintained better, it is tired and dirty.
Location: Waikiki Beach, the Zoo, Diamond Head, the Aquarium all a short walk away.
Pros: Close to Waikiki Beach Good sized lounge space Nicely stocked kitchen (plates/bowls/cups (plastic, glass and wine), glass dishes for microwave and oven cooking, juice jug, rice cooker, kettle etc) Nice views of the mountains Great Staff who were quick to check me in and deal with any issues Cons: Tired and showing age Mix of condos that have been cleaned and others that are dirty Sheets and Blankets on bed worn out Lobby/Hallway/Elevator not air conditioned $20 a day "resort fee" to cover a newspaper, internet, 2 DVD a day rental and the safe in the room This condo has potential but is being used in a way to generate as much income as possible without investing back into the property and keeping it maintained and clean. The condo we first checked into had a small double (but I was told it was a queen bed) bed and was dirty. The fan in the bathroom was clogged with dust, the carpets and curtains were stained and worn. The kitchen cabinets had food pieces from the previous guest and the dishes were all greasy. The light switch plates were all sticky and filthy. I asked to be moved to a king suite which they accommodated after one night, it was slightly cleaner with less obvious stains and a working bathroom fan. The light switches were still all sticky and filthy but there were less obvious stains on the carpet and curtains.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 6, 2017 by Doug Okada, Hotel Management
Aloha Jenn, and thank you for your review. We are very glad you enjoyed our ideal location, great views and fantastic staff. It is also wonderful to hear that your personal kitchen enhanced the quality of your stay! Your honest feedback regarding your initial accommodations and room for improvement in overall cleanliness is greatly appreciated as we are dedicated to continually bettering our overall guest experience. We apologize for any discomfort you experience, and hope that we will have the chance to welcome you for an even more enjoyable vacation in the future. Mahalo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fresno ca

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Love the hotel everything was excellent close to the beach and shopping we will be booking again soo
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2017 by Doug Okada, Hotel Management
Aloha Annette! We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed our scenic location and excellent surrounding shops. We’re elated to learn that we’ll be able to host you again during your next vacation. Thank you for your 5-star review! Mahalo,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hawaii

Great one

Posted Sep 21, 2017
It was very convenient place. We love to stay in this hotel again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2017 by Doug Okada, Hotel Management
Aloha Janese! Thank you for your 5-star review. We’re elated to hear that you enjoyed our location and will be vacationing with us in the future. We look forward to extending our aloha to you again! Mahalo,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 16, 2017
The hotel was nice and clean and it was comfortable for me and my family's stay. The hotel would be better if it's exterior was was brighter and more manicured... more curb appeal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Beautiful view from the room. Everything is near walking distance .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

Great service and staff

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Everything was truly excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2017 by Doug Okada, Hotel Management
Aloha Janice! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. It delights us to know you received excellent service from our friendly staff. Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. Mahalo!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from honolulu

Nice hotel with kitchen

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: Location and kitchen
Location: Relatively close to the beach and restaurants
Loved the location which was relatively close to the beach and restaurants. The kitchen allowed us to eat in which made it very convenient for the children.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2017 by Doug Okada, Hotel Management
Aloha Stan! Thank you for sharing your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our ideal location and that your kitchen enhanced the quality and convenience of your family vacation. We hope to welcome you all for your next island getaway! Mahalo.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Family of 6

Posted Sep 3, 2017
We are a family of 5. We were on the 19th floor and only 2 of the 5 elevators work it was very tough.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2017 by Doug Okada, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review. We are glad to have welcomed your family for a vacation, and sincerely apologize for the inconvenience our elevators caused you. Your review will be shared with our management team and is appreciated as we seek to improve our overall guest experience. It is hope to welcome you for an even more enjoyable vacation in the future. Mahalo.