Ratings based on 1,365 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

Great hotel for budget minded folk.

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Pros: Cheerful and friendly staff. Room was cheerful in colours. Great price for Canadian dollar exchange rate.
Cons: Replace the carpets, and maybe just our room - fix the ceiling plaster.
Location: Near canal on Ala Wai Blvd. Near shopping and beach. Semi-quiet area. Great for a base to go explore the island from
Enjoyed our stay at the hotel due to being bumped up to a higher floor with a great view of the canal and golf course. Jessica at the front counter was very pleasing and helpful along with parking staff. Pros: All staff members were exceptally friendly; hotel provides a good continential breakfast, and free wifi. Cheerful colors in room. If you get an higher floor on the East or NE/SE corner units you will get a great view of canal, school, and golf course. Short walk to beach. Price was great for Canadian (and Auzzie/Kiwi) travellers. Outside flower arrangement by sign was nice. Cons: Old stained carpet in room we stayed in (1008) and ceiling plaster in one spot was cracking with small pieces falling down. Pool had cold water, so we just dipped in it. Washroom was a bit cramped. We would stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Reasonable hotel

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Unfortunately we stayed here straight after staying at Aulani for a couple of nights in Waikiki. We should have done it the other way around because after Aulani, this one didn't feel as good. It was Clean and in good location close to beach and shopping and served our basic needs well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aiea, HI

Hidden Gem in Waikiki --- For locals Too!!!

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Everything!!!! See above comments...
Cons: Nothing!!!!!
Location: Far enough away from the confusion and mayhem of Kuhio and Kalakaua but close enough for all the activities/beaches in Waikiki....
Extremely clean, just renovated hotel. Beautiful, spacious and the amenites were top-notch. Staff was OUTSTANDING!!! Truly personifies the Aloha Spirit. From the time we checked in with Isaac who was very professional, courteous and great personality and complimentary Tsunami Popcorn, we knew we had found something special. My wife (who is a little claustrophobic and will avoid elevators, if possible) had send a request to be on a lower floor where she could have easy access and use of the stairs and Isaac obliged by putting us on the 3rd floor, with not problem!! Also, they provide with clean beach towels, beach chair if needed, valet parking which is essential in Waikiki and a "continental" breakfast which was so delicious and full....the only thing missing was a meat (bacon, ham, sausage or spam). They had eggs, fresh waffles, pastries, cereals, fresh OJ, coffee....Amazing!!! The next day, James was at the front desk and he was a mirror of Isaac...very professional, courteous and great personality. Our Valet, who i forgot his name (but he has the nice hair) was also extremely courteous and always ready to get our car when needed. Just a great location, staffed by great people and topped off with immaculately clean rooms and a great breakfast. Being local and living on Oahu, we will DEFINITELY be coming back for more vacays!! Mahalo, Dwayne and Carmela
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Nice hotel close to the beach an shopping

Posted Sep 16, 2017
My stay in the Coconut Waikiki Hotel was a great one. The bed was very comfortable. There were plenty of nights we had the pool all to ourselves
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2017 by Jordan C., Hotel Management
Aloha! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay and we hope you'll choose to stay with us again on your next Hawaiian adventure! Mahalo
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nz

Close to everything, hotel staff extremely helpful

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Great hotel for price. Excellent breakfast, rooms were comfortable and clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Very comfortable & convenient hotel

Posted Sep 13, 2017
We had a lovely stay. Hotel is comfortable, clean & convenient. We had a room with mountain view. The staff were very welcoming & helpful & although we arrived before check-in time we were in our room in no time. Continental breakfast was very good. Thank you all at Coconut Waikiki
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, smaller hotel next to the canal

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Pros: Hotel provided towels and beach chairs to take to the beach Good, hot complimentary breakfast Friendly, knowledgeable staff
Cons: n/a
Location: Walkable to Waikiki, restaurants, bars, stores. Morning walks by the canal delightful.
Nice, smaller hotel next to the canal, but still close enough (15 min?) to Waikiki to walk it. Hotel provided towels and beach chairs to take to the beach. Several restaurants and stores on the way. Arrived early, but instead of just stowing our bags, the staff was gracious enough to find us a room right away, an upgrade. Good, hot complimentary breakfast. Only complaint was that their pool was too cool for us to take a dip in. But we would still come back here. The mountain view over the canal was just beautiful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in the heart of Waikiki

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Our room had an outlet that didn't work which the AC was connected to, a warm draft coming from the ceiling, and a broken cabinet in the bathroom with some stains on the floor. The room had small issue that could have easily been fixed if some effort was made. The complementary breakfast buffet was great as well as the flavored water pitchers and their hurricane popcorn. I didn't get a chance to use the Outdoor pool but it looked clean.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok hotel but below my expectations

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: Location,common area,
Cons: Noisy, not very clean.
I had a lot of expectations about this hotel but were not met. The beginning was nice because thy offer us wine and chocolate to celebrate our honeymoon. We received an upgrade because of the honeymoon (mountain view) but the room was not good as it was small and very noisy because close to the main road. The AC was also very noisy. The bathroom (sink, mirror and floor) was never cleaned up properly for the entire stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2017 by Jordan C., Hotel Management
Aloha! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're delighted you enjoyed our location just away from the craziness of the main Waikiki strip. When you're planning your next Hawaiian escape, we hope you'll choose to stay with us again! Mahalo
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Pros: Room was spacious and very comfortable.
Cons: The breakfast could be better, eggs were so-so.
Location: Location was close to Waikiki beach,shopping and lots of restaurants.
Great location. Staff was pleasant and very helpful. Would return and recommend. The pool was also quite nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2017 by Jordan C., Hotel Management
Aloha! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and it sounds like you were big fans of our location just away from the craziness of the main Waikiki strip. When you're booking your next Hawaiian escape, we hope you'll choose to stay with us again! Mahalo