Ratings based on 1,247 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
55% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maui, HI

A bit of a stretch for what you pay for

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Cons: Wifi should be accessible in all rooms, and MORE OUTLETS!
I'm not sure I can say that we got what we paid for during our stay. The location wasn't all that great in distance to the center of Waikiki (which wasn't that much of a problem because we were honestly just looking for a decent place to sleep; but I can see how that can become a problem for tourists looking to spend a lot of their time in around Waikiki), the building was obviously old and hadn't been renovated in a while, wifi was only available in the lobby, not in the rooms (again, not a huge problem because we were local and had access to data; but could definitely be a problem for out-of-country visitors), and there were only 3 outlets available in the whole room, 2 of which were in the bathroom (this was a HUGE problem as there were 4 of us in the room who all needed our gadgets for the conference we were in town for). If you're just looking for a place to sleep and not planning on spending a lot of time in the room at all, this may be a reasonable option for you. Try to do more research though as there might be better deals out there.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would not recommend

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Needs to be totally updated. Carpet was terribly worn and dirty.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Not very nice, found a cockroach one we walked into the room. All downhill from there.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Hotel was as expected...inexpensive, in an area convenient for us. The MAJOR complaint is the added $10.00 plus tax charge for no particular reason other than to disguise the true hotel room cost. The Hawaiian Tourist Board should be ashamed to allow this almost hidden additional "fee" which seems to be common with many hotels in the state.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Antelope, California

Terrible

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Seriously, don't stay here. Carpet was beyond nasty. Carpet was dark green at one time, now mustard yellow. Mattress was from the 70's, the tub...rather take a shower in a jail cell. Staff, only one nice guy (the dude with ponytail) the rest hated their job. Oh...don't let me forget...$25.00 a day for parking. This place is a joke. Pay the $20 more a day for something you don't have to wear slippers the whole time you're in your room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wailuku hawaii

Worst hotel

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Customer service was terrible, room was insanity, they shut off the water between 11-3pm and sink didn't drain, coffee machine didn't work, overall bad service and accommodations
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ancaster, ON

Stay at Hawaiian Monarch Hotel

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: Close to city centre
Cons: Improve the leaving condition.
Location: All the shopping centres are close to this place. Beaches are in the walking distance.
I went to Oahu Island with my wife on Sep 26th 2017 for a vacation and stayed at Hawaiian Monarch Hotel. It was a basic hotel. Room was not very clean. The safe was without key, there was not any clock in the room. No microwave in the room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from United Kingdom

Stay somewhere else

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Pros: The location was good.
Cons: Better customer service at check in. Remove reference to the hotel having parking and Wi-Fi.
Location: Central location.
It was not clear where we could park our car whilst we checked in so ended up having to park in a reserved area. The check in experience was poor, the chap on reception was rude and not helpful. His attitude was "you need to give us a credit card so we can charge you for any damage to the room", surely there's a nicer way of saying this rather than suggesting we are going to damage the hotel room. Another example was he didn't tell us we needed to use the room key in the lifts to get to our room, another guest told us this when we couldn't select our floor number in the lift. When we booked this hotel it said there was parking for $20 a day. At check in we asked for parking and were told parking is nothing to do with the hotel and we need to sort out with the parking garage attached to the hotel. At the time of booking it said there was a safe in the room, we asked about this at check in and were told the safe's don't work in the room and to leave things in a plastic bag on reception!! Also Wi-Fi does not work in the hotel room only in the lobby. Finally the parking attendant was rude, would only take cash payment for parking and the process for paying for parking took ages.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Shields, NE England

Excellent for those with lower budget

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Pros: Staff were first class always helpfull. The Chinese take-a-way next to lobby and it's location
Cons: Fixing the venetian blinds is needed
Location: Ala Moana (largest open air shopping mall in the world) is a ten minute walk away as is Kona Street which you can access TheBus routes
45 storey structure - part hotel part condo. 16 rooms per floor with three lifts. My room on fl.22 had a 180 degree view but of five sets of venetian blinds only three worked. Even venetian blind in the toilet-bathroom shielding a clear window. Air con not too loud but limited to 60F coolness so needs to be on most of the night. Bed comfy plus plenty of personal item storage space Relatively cheap Resort Fee which gave access to swimming pool and sundeck but very basic pool and sundeck area also Fitness Suite 24 hrs standard gym equipment, Computer internet room and free local calls (Who the 'ell do you know in a foreign city?) I personally think Resort Fees are a total rip-off and should be included in the room rate as they are compulsory. The hotel had two breakfast eateries and a chinese take-a-way + mini grocery store on site and bar+cafe too. Many local bus routes within five minutes slow walk + a 7-eleven store open 24/7 which sells nigh on anything. Niu Street is about 600m from the beach via DeRussy Park but is close to the Ala Moana Shopping Mall so not bad placed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

I wouldn't recommend this hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: One of the receptionists was a delight to chat to.
Cons: Wifi installation in all rooms, not just the reception area, the laundry and the gym.
This hotel has wifi only at the reception area, the laundry out of all places and the gym. If you are there for business, I wouldn't recommend this hotel purely for this reason that the wifi is not available in the rooms. The bathtub was old and the carpet in the room felt dirty. This place needs some serious renovations.