Ratings based on 133 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Disappointed... wouldn’t stay again.

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Pros: The staff was so lovely, very helpful and friendly. The lobby was open and airy, great look.
Cons: Rooms, breakfast, having thongs available to guest since they are paying for them.
Location: Walking distance to anything: beach, shops, restaurants
The staff is all very lovely, the location is great for those who don’t want to pay the higher price for hotels on the beach as it’s great walking distance to the beach, restaurants and shops. I was disappointed in the room size, they are VERY small. I mean, the bed takes up the entire room. They were clean though. The continental breakfast was a very basic continental breakfast. The disappointment was getting the charges for resort fee and parking at $98 for 2 days... and knowing the pool deck was closed so we didn’t get to enjoy the pool or the games up there. The pool from seeing it, was very small, smaller than expected (like the rooms). We didn’t use any other amenities. I think I’m just disappointed in the product that we received for the high price. I wouldn’t stay here again unfortunately.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Not Close To The Beach. Elevator Out Of Service

Posted Oct 8, 2017
I choose this hotel based on the reviews of it being close to the beach. However, after walking nearly 2 miles to the beach with our beach bags, I quickly learned it was NOT close at all! Then downstairs in the lobby as you're trying to get up to your room you constantly have hotel concierge aka sales people trying to sucker you into going to these presentations that they claim are free yet the only way to get attend is to give your credit card information. Clearly it is NOT free & will cost you roughly $200 or more! It's a complete scam! The worst part of my stay there was their "scheduled maintenance" that was only suppose to be from 9am to 12pm. Well when returning to the hotel on my last day of vacation around 2:00pm the their scheduled maintenance was not complete & the elevators were not working! So both me & my 7 year old son had to walk up 35 flights of stairs! I was beyond livid! Once we got to to our room we had to freshen up & got ready for the beach. Then we went back to the elevators & they still were not working! I refused to spend my last day of vacation trapped in my hotel room so both me & my son had to walk back down 35 flights! I will never ever stay here again! By far the worst hotel ever!! I would rather stay at motel 6 before ever staying here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good location

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Air conditioner was terribly noisy and so was bathroom fan. Bathroom fan should be on a separate switch
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AZ

Close to beach, restaurants and more!

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Pros: Location, cleanliness, staff, express elevators.
Cons: Bathrooms are pretty small, especially if there are four guests per room. Another mirror would help for the ladies. Also, luggage racks would help.
Location: Convenient location to beach, shops, restaurants and beach activities. Able to book activities at the hotel.
Traveling companion had issues with 39th floor room. Gladys, God love her, found a lower level room for my friend and I kept the 39th floor room. Great views of Waikiki Beach and the sunset. We walked to the beach, and walked to restaurants, which was great to not be driving while in Oahu. Cannot express my appreciation enough for Gladys and the other staff at the front desk. Mahalo nui loa!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from elk grove california

nice looking hotel but terrible air conditioner

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Pros: walking distance to Waikiki beach and close to the different stores like abc
Cons: fix the air conditioner not to loud modify the menue on the breakfast twice a week add a little something like bacon and breakfast link sausage
Location: ABC store and close to ala moana mall
The hotel is nice bec its a walking distance to the beach n our room is ocean view window but when its time to rest @ nite the air conditioner is noisy n we could hardly sleep and of course bec. its terrible noise /sound fr the air conditioner so you could barely hear the sound of the television good thing its not continous n its in cycle mode Also the breakfast its the same every day they can @ least add bacon once in a while or link sausage and also fresh fruit like cantalope or pineapple
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Had a great location within walking distance to the beach & other attractions! The free breakfast was good & helpful Bc the food can get expensive when paying to eat out for each meal. Housekeeping was also great! Would definitely come back again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

40th bday vac

Posted Sep 28, 2017
We love Hawaii and this hotel was Close to the main strip . Breakfast was good the room was clean , bed comfortable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Good Hotel and Value for Waikiki

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Pros: We had a very active vacation and were out and about every day. This hotel was the perfect launching pad for that. Sent us on our way, fed and ready!
Cons: Location of the air-conditioners. Location of the time-share salespeople, so you can avoid them if you want to. Longer/Later Pool area hours.
Location: You can pretty much get to anywhere from bus stops within 2 blocks of this hotel. Diamond Head, Pearl Harbor, The Zoo, Aquarium, Haunauma Bay, etc.
We stayed here for 7 nights. It is conveniently located to several bus routes (download the daBus2 app and get realtime route and stop arrival times) and the free breakfast was the perfect way to start the day. Rooms are small and the in-window ac unit is not well placed, but we since we were out and about every day, we kept it on while we were out and turned it off and cracked the window at night. Pool area looked decent. We went for a look one day, but we never really had time to use it. Would have liked to use the jacuzzi a few nights but it closes way too early!! Desk staff were pleasant. bellhops were too but sent us to the wrong bus stop twice (before we shunned them for the daBus2 app) I had read that the elevators were busy and a pain to wait for. This happened to us 3 times, but more often than that we were in one by ourselves. The big downside for me was the time-share desk, placed where you can't avoid it, getting on and off the elevators. They were constantly trying to sell us on a time-share presentation (to save money on a luau or tour) … the concierge even did this when we tried to rent a car for a day. Maybe this wouldn't bother some, but it did bother me. HI Express was my go-to hotel when I traveled a lot for business a few years back. Overall it was what I expected from Holiday Inn Express.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC Canada

Renovated hotel, great location

Posted Sep 26, 2017
My husband and I booked the Holiday Inn Express for our visit to Ohau. The hotel was really nice, but the rooms were a little small. It didn't bother us that much since we never spent any time in the room. I liked the location of the hotel. It's on Kuhio Drive which is a block away from the main Waikiki strip. Kuhio Drive is busy, but not as busy as the strip. I liked the accessibility and location of the hotel. There is contintental breakfast included with the hotel, which had a wide variety of items (eggs, sausages, yogurts, bagels, muffins, pancakes . . . the list goes on). The food was good, but we got tired of it quite quickly because it was the same things over and over again. However, it did save us from purchasing a meal so that's a bonus. Overall, great hotel, good location, friendly staff, renovated and clean. This is a great hotel to stay at!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 25, 2017
We loved the buffet breakfast. We also loved the pool and hot tub. It was close proximity to Waikiki Beach and the bus lines.The staff was always friendly and helpful.