Ratings based on 1,299 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Idaho

Great location very near Waikiki Beach.

Posted Dec 14, 2017
Pros: The location and the friendly and helpful staff. We borrowed beach towels and chairs from the hotel and they were happy to answer all our questions.
Cons: Well, it's an old building, so some things are a bit worn and could be spiffed up, but there was nothing lacking, really.
Location: The location, just off the main Waikiki strip and very close to stops for all buses and trolleys, is super. We walked to the zoo and the aquarium.
The Renew is small--nine floors. The location, just off the main Waikiki strip and very close to stops for all buses and trolleys, is super. We walked to the zoo, the aquarium, the gorgeous beach and the big nearby park.The hotel is older and not totally, perfectly spiffed up but beds,bath, TV, etc. are good and kept very clean.Their free breakfast (an asset to us) includes fresh fruit and juice, cheerios or granola and two kinds of milk, hard-boiled eggs, various pastries, coffee/teas/water, and granola bars.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 15, 2017 by Natasha Akee, Hotel Management
Aloha!!! Mahalo nui loa (thank you very much) for choosing to stay with us and for providing valuable feedback of your experience. We’re glad you enjoyed our close proximity to our famous Kuhio Beach, restaurants, shopping outlets, and tourist attractions. Furthermore we're happy our continental breakfast were an asset to you. We hope you created unforgettable memories, took lots of pictures, and enjoyed all the adventures our island has to offer. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you in the near future. Me Ke Aloha Pumehana, (with warmest aloha) Natasha Akee Guest Services Coordinator
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

November 2017

Posted Nov 29, 2017
Pros: Great staff
Location: Eating, shopping, Starbucks. Walking distance to everything. Shuttles for excursions were right outside.
The hotel was nice, close to everything. Waikiki beach was not impressive, though this was not the hotels fault. Just an FYI. Staff was awesome, very helpful and friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2017 by Natasha Akee, Hotel Management
Aloha!!! Mahalo nui loa (thank you very much) for choosing to stay with us and for providing valuable feedback of your experience. We appreciate your praises to our staff. We are dedicated to touch all we encounter with integrity and the gracious spirit of “Aloha” as we fulfill the dreams of our guest. We’re glad you enjoyed our close proximity to our famous Kuhio Beach, restaurants, shopping outlets, and tourist attractions. We hope you created unforgettable memories, took lots of pictures, and enjoyed all the adventures our island has to offer. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you in the near future. Me Ke Aloha Pumehana, (with warmest aloha) Natasha Akee Guest Services Coordinator
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Enjoyed my staff, EXCELLENT staff and experience

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Clean rooms not for from the beach and the staff was above expectations
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2017 by Natasha Akee, Hotel Management
Aloha!!! Mahalo nui loa (thank you very much) for choosing to stay with us and for providing valuable feedback of your experience. We’re glad you enjoyed our close proximity to our famous Kuhio Beach. We appreciate your praises to our staff. We are dedicated to touch all we encounter with integrity and the gracious spirit of “Aloha” as we fulfill the dreams of our guest. We hope you created unforgettable memories, took lots of pictures, and enjoyed all the adventures our island has to offer. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you in the near future. Me Ke Aloha Pumehana, (with warmest aloha) Natasha Akee Guest Services Coordinator
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Back for my last night

Posted Nov 22, 2017
Everything was great. The only issue we had was with the game console in room 803. It wasn't working but it was our last night so we didn't worry too much about it. Thanks Hotel Renew! We had a blast in Hawaii!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2017 by Natasha Akee, Hotel Management
Aloha!!! Mahalo nui loa (thank you very much) for choosing to stay with us and for providing valuable feedback of your experience. We're sorry our PS3 was not working. We sincerely regret that you were inconvenienced. Overall we hope you had a positive experience on O’ahu, and enjoy all the adventures our island has to offer. Happy Thanksgiving! Me Ke Aloha Pumehana, (with warmest aloha) Natasha Akee Guest Services Coordinator
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Nice hotel that brings tranquility and comfort

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Our stay was very enjoyable and relaxing just what we were looking forward to our vacation in beautiful Hawai‘i Very close to the beach and eveything is a walking distance.Best part, as soon as the housekeeping lady knew we were going to check out and it was our last day in Hawai‘i, she thanked us and gave my wife and I a big warm hug and told us to please come back and visit, would of loved to have gotten her name. Friendly staff, thank you for your services. Great memory great experience for our first time in Hawai‘i. Will love to come back soon.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2017 by Natasha Akee, Hotel Management
Aloha!!! Mahalo nui loa (thank you very much) for choosing to stay with us and for providing valuable feedback of your experience. We’re glad you enjoyed our close proximity to our famous Kuhio Beach, restaurants, shopping outlets, and tourist attractions. We appreciate your praises to our housekeeping staff. We are dedicated to touch all we encounter with integrity and the gracious spirit of “Aloha” as we fulfill the dreams of our guest. We hope you left feeling refreshed and renewed! If your travels bring you back to Waikiki, we would be delighted to host you again. Me Ke Aloha Pumehana, (with warmest aloha) Natasha Akee Guest Services Coordinator
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from El Paso Texas

Great hotel close to beach

Posted Nov 12, 2017
It was an awesome experience for my wife and I. First time to Hawaii and this hotel made our anniversary & experience great. So many activities in walking distance including the beach. Would stay here again if we get to come back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2017 by Natasha Akee, Hotel Management
Aloha (hello) and E Komo Mai (welcome)!!! Mahalo nui loa (thank you very much) for choosing to stay with us and for providing valuable feedback of your 1st time to Hawai'i experience. We’re glad you enjoyed our close proximity to our famous Kuhio Beach, restaurants, shopping outlets, and tourist attractions. Overall we hope you had a positive experience on O’ahu, and enjoy all the adventures our island has to offer. If your travels bring you back to Waikiki, we would be delighted to host you again. Me Ke Aloha Pumehana, (with warmest aloha) Natasha Akee Guest Services Coordinator
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 10, 2017
Great hotel, very close to the beach. Limited amenities, but everything is clean and updated.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2017 by Natasha Akee, Hotel Management
Aloha!!! Mahalo nui loa (thank you very much) for choosing to stay with us and for providing valuable feedback of your experience. We’re glad you enjoyed our close proximity to our famous Kuhio Beach, restaurants, shopping outlets, and tourist attractions. We hope you created unforgettable memories, took lots of pictures, and enjoyed all the adventures our island has to offer. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you in the near future. Me Ke Aloha Pumehana, (with warmest aloha) Natasha Akee Guest Services Coordinator
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Close to Beach

Posted Oct 30, 2017
The room was small. However, very close to beach. Clean, offers beach towels, chairs for beach, staff was excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2017 by Natasha Akee, Hotel Management
Aloha!!! Mahalo nui loa (thank you very much) for choosing to stay with us and for providing valuable feedback of your experience. We’re glad you enjoyed our close proximity to our famous Kuhio Beach and our beach gear. We appreciate your praises to our staff. We are dedicated to touch all we encounter with integrity and the gracious spirit of “Aloha” as we fulfill the dreams of our guest. We hope you created unforgettable memories, took lots of pictures, and enjoyed all the adventure our island has to offer. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you in the near future. Me Ke Aloha Pumehana, (with warmest aloha) Natasha Akee Guest Services Coordinator
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort lauderdale, fl

Almost on the beach

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Great location, just a few hundred feet to the beach. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The lobby is small, please note that this is were the continental breakfast is served, but it is adequate. We had an ocean view room ,but no balcony, which was fine. It was clean and we were offered a choice of 4 scents during check in. Oh almost forgot...a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered pineapples were sent to our room for our anniversary..what a nice surprise!!! If you are looking for a decent hotel at the beach without breaking your wallet this is the place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 24, 2017 by Natasha Akee, Hotel Management
Aloha!!! Happy anniversary and many many many more to come. Mahalo nui loa (thank you very much) for choosing to stay with us and for providing valuable feedback of your experience. We're happy you enjoyed our oil diffuse scents, anniversary amenity, and convenient location. We appreciate your praises to our staff. We are dedicated to touch all we encounter with integrity and the gracious spirit of “Aloha” as we fulfill the dreams of our guest. Overall we hope you had a positive experience on O’ahu, and enjoy all the adventure our island has to offer. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you. Me Ke Aloha Pumehana, (with warmest aloha) Natasha Akee Guest Services Coordinator
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

Great location

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Both of our room keys didn't work at first but the staff member that helped us to our room took care of it quickly. He let us in the room with his master key then brought us 2 new keys shortly after. I didn't like the smell of the room when I first entered it. It was kind of like an old mattress or pillows type smell. Or maybe it was a combo of all the different scents that they offer at check-in. I don't know what it was but it was a minor issue. The breakfast is simple. Pastries, coffee, juice and hard boiled eggs. It was good. I liked it. Location is the best part. I would stay here again just because it's in such a good spot.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 24, 2017 by Natasha Akee, Hotel Management
Aloha!!! Mahalo nui loa (thank you very much) for choosing to stay with us and for providing valuable feedback of your experience. We're happy you enjoyed our continental breakfast and our convenient location. We're sorry our keys did not work. We are glad our team was able to be of assistance, but sincerely regret that you were inconvenienced. Overall we hope you had a positive experience on O’ahu, and enjoy all the adventure our island has to offer. It would be our pleasure to host you again. Me Ke Aloha Pumehana, (with warmest aloha) Natasha Akee Guest Services Coordinator