Ratings based on 3,458 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from SoCal

Great honeymoon getaway

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Pros: Really liked being very close to the beach! We really enjoyed the surrounding restaurants and ammenities in and around the hotel.
We loved our stay in Oahu, HI at the Hyatt Regency Waikiki Beach and Resort & Spa. We really enjoyed our stay at the hotel. This was our two and half year delayed honeymoon. The Hyatt made it very memorable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2017 by Guest Services Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha M&M, Thank you for sharing this wonderful, if belated, life celebration at our resort. We are honored to have been your chosen destination and I am pleased to read that you had such a great experience. I hope that you will visit us again, possibly for an anniversary. Mahalo, Laura
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San jose

A hotel to remember

Posted Sep 5, 2017
The front staff was great, special "Thank You" to our front desk host named Chrea! She made our trip extra memorable. We found out about a family members incident once we landed which made the trip regrettable to go through with it but since we were also celebrating our anniversary and also our first time to Waikiki we did our best to focus on the trip. Then we met chrea which started out with a comforting smile and understood our situation and provided our stay with so much blessing. We had wine brought up to our room, staff were great on being friendly and providing great hospitality, even the valet staff was friendly. The hotel is right across the beach which was great and abc stores all around for last minute items we forgot to bring with us. It was a very memorable Anniversary. I would definitely recommend the Hyatt @ Waikiki beach resort for our next trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los angeles

Great location. Clean and great view.

Posted Sep 4, 2017
They have many shops on the 1st and 2nd floor. It is next to the beach. Resort fee is $36 something and parking is $35 so it is kind of expensive $70 extra a day. But the view is perfect. Helpful staff. Elevator can be a hassle it is stopping at almost every floor...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Very impressed traveller

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: Location, facilities.
Cons: More lifts or express lift to higher floors.
Location: Location of Hyatt is close to everything; shops, beach, restaurants etc.
We usually stay in Waikiki at Outrigger, but this time we booked Hyatt and we were very impressed with location, facilities and hotel itself. we would definitely recommend this hotel to all our friends and we will definitely coming back to Hyatt in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Excellent location and beautiful view

Posted Sep 2, 2017
We stayed at the Hyatt Regency for a week in an ocean front room, the view from the room was amazing and was definitely worth the extra money. The staff were friendly and the room was fairly large and clean. Good location and minutes away from shops, restaurants, bars etc and across the road from the beach. Can get noisy at night due to street noise but we got used to it and slept through it! The swimming pool is quite small, however, with the beach being so close we swam in the sea most days instead. Would recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to stay in Waikiki Beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Very nice but...

Posted Sep 1, 2017
The hotel is very nice, clean, awesome hotel and the staff is wonderful. The only minus: we asked for a room with 2 beds because we were 3. There is no wall to separate the bedroom and the washroom area. There is a door to the bathtub and toilet but it's so small that you can't change in there. So there is no privacy what so ever. We asked to switch room but all 2 beds rooms were the same layout. Strange. I would stay there again if it was only me and my wife.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 30, 2017
We had an amazing time at the Hyatt It was clean, friendly, and nice. We did have some trouble when checking in because it took us two room changes to finally get the original room we paid for. We were given a smaller elevator room, then a handicap room, before we complained and finally got a regular city view room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cypress, Ca

Nice hotel, friendly staff, and close to beach.

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Went on vacation with my family and the staff was great!! Restaurants and stores were at a walking distance, especially the beach!! Will be back next year again..
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017 by Guest Services Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha Jose, Thank you for this wonderful review and for sharing your Waikiki family visit with our colleagues. We are honored to have had you stay with us and I am really pleased to read that your experience was exceptional. We look forward to seeing you again next year. Mahalo, Laura
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Over priced

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Requested for early check in as our flight arrived at 0900 from Australia. When we arrived at the hotel, staff was not friendly or very helpful. I asked if they could register my points towards my frequent flier membership, she said I had to do that online but there wasn't an option to do it online hence the request. So I got nowhere with that. Had to wait 4 hours for our room to be ready and it was a bit hard as I was travelling with my 3 year old son. requested for a king size bed we never got as they were fully booked apparently. So first impression did not start off well. Japengo restaurant very expensive and food was just average. There was another very average restaurant to eat like a sports bar by the pool. Pool was ok friendly pool staff at least. Room was clean but a bit dated, needs a makeover. The only good thing about it was the location just accross from the beach. So if you are planning to go to the beach on a daily basis it's very convenient. Otherwise lots of other places to stay for less than half the price. it's easy to get around by bus so if you are planning to do other things and not just stay at the beach everyday I would suggest to find another hotel cheaper. And that spot is very busy, to go anywhere to eat you most times than not have to line up to get a table at least an hour. So best to stay further... any hotel you find on Kuhio avenue would probably be cheaper and it's still within walking distance to the beach and lots of eateries.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by Guest Services Manager , Hotel Management
Aloha Maria, I am sorry that you were disappointed with your experience at our property and that you did not see any value to your stay. I apologize for the misunderstandings about some of our policies and for the responses you received to your inquiries at the front desk. Our check-in time is 3:00 p.m. To clarify, we will, when possible, assist guests to check-in earlier and we encourage them to let us know if that is a preference ahead of time but regrettably, due to our high occupancy on most days, this simply is not a guarantee, as is also the bedding. I am sorry we were unable to fulfill this request and make your arrival experience more pleasant, which would have created a much better visit for you. To note, we are across the street from the beach and our rooms were remodeled in late 2015 and early 2016. Unlike many other hotels we also have a spa, seven dining outlets, interactive cultural activities, and over 60 shops. I will be certain to share your comments with our front desk supervisor as well as with Japengo and SWIM. Mahalo, Laura
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Beautiful hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2017
This was a beautiful hotel. Across the street from the beach. Very short stay; however, next time I can go for vacation, I will be staying the Hyatt Regency Waikiki.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017 by Guest Services Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha Angie, We are honored to be your new property of choice in Waikiki! Thank you very much for your review and I am very pleased to read about your great experience. We look forward to your next visit. A hui hou! Laura