Ratings based on 1,758 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Park City, Utah

Ideal location

Posted Nov 19, 2017
My two-night stay at the Ilikai was ideal. The room was excellent and obviously had been updated because the hotel is more than 50 years old. The location was close to restaurants and right on the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Loved the room and lanai! Loved the pool deck

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Loved the amount of space in the room and the kitchen felt like home love tell large the lanai was and the closeness to the pool on our second floor felt like a little city downstairs had everything that we needed super convenient I would definitely stay there again
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Overall good value and location

Posted Nov 5, 2017
We were upset to find out that the pool was closed for renovation, the Wi-Fi signal was weak in our room, and the resort fees were too high consider. But overall a great hotel. Nice view and cleanliness was great. Bed was firm but surprisingly comfortable. Fitness facility needs an update. Valet parking was very prompt.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2017 by Wes Kawakami, Hotel Management
Aloha Owen! Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience with me. I’m glad you enjoyed our hotel and am happy to hear you appreciated our beautiful views, clean accommodations, comfortable bedding, and efficient valet service. However, I apologize for our lack of communication about our pool closures, and am sorry as well for the inconveniences you experienced with our WiFi and resort fees. It was an honor to have you as our guest, and I invite you to stay with us again in the future for an improved experience. Mahalo. Sincerely,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Hotel was nicely located.

Posted Nov 4, 2017
It's right along a beautiful beach area, and very close to magic island. All the shopping and restaurants are within walking distance. The hotel has a beautiful lobby area and very friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Kitchenette

Posted Nov 2, 2017
Having a kitchenette was the best so you wouldn't be spending too much on food and drinks.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2017 by Wes Kawakami, Hotel Management
Aloha! We’re happy to know that the kitchenette was helpful and convenient for your needs. We hope you enjoyed your vacation with us and that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future! Mahalo,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Christchurch

Close to centre

Posted Nov 1, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Only a kettle would have been nice and some tea bags
Location: Hilton shopping ABC Stores and close to the mall great views fabuluos
We would stay at this hotel again it was just wonderful. Staff are great services are great and easy walking distamce to anything you need.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2017 by Wes Kawakami, Hotel Management
Aloha Trevor and Sue! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a 5-star review. We are pleased to hear you two enjoyed our excellent location near great shopping, delicious restaurants, and beautiful Waikiki beaches. It’s also wonderful to know that our staff extended a warm aloha and made you feel welcomed in your accommodations. It was a pleasure hosting you both and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you again for another vacation! Mahalo,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 31, 2017
Lovely hotel close to what we needed with great ladies that clean the rooms
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2017 by Wes Kawakami, Hotel Management
Aloha! It is great to hear that you enjoyed our excellent location and that our maid service did an exceptional job at keeping your room at it’s cleanest. We hope to welcome you again in the future. Mahalo,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sunshine Coast Australia

A nice Hotel in a great position

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Pros: Again the room size was great The staff very helpful and a nice reasonable priced restaurant on site.
Cons: I am not a fan of the Resort Fee charged on departure. I think it should be it be included in the room rate.
Location: The location is very central close to shopping restaurants and beaches. The free shuttle was great as the drivers we very helpful.
We were very much impressed with the size of the room and the kitchen which had everything you need. After spending 15 days prior on a cruise ship on which the cabin size was a bit cramped, it was wonderful to be able to move around and not being in each others way. We wished we had longer at this hotel and we will return one day soon
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2017 by Wes Kawakami, Hotel Management
Aloha Barry, and thank you for taking the time to share the details of your stay! I’m happy you had such a pleasant time with us and that you enjoyed our spacious accommodations, ideal location, helpful staff, Cinnamon’s restaurant, and free shuttle. Thank you also for sharing your valuable feedback about our resort fee. I appreciate hearing from our guests as it provides us the insight to make improvements, and I will review your feedback with my leadership team for careful consideration. Mahalo for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to your return! Sincerely,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Great helpful staff, and very clean rooms.

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Pros: Great location, very efficient check in and check out procedure, shiny clean rooms.
Cons: Putting up an earlier notice on the website to advise the pool will be closed rather than communicating it on the day from when the closure started.
Location: Close to the lagoon, which is great for cooling off. Close to the beach. 10 - 12 mins walk to the Ala Moana centre, bus stop right outside.
Shame that the hotel pool was closed for maintenance, and that the Ilikai website did not mention this in the week prior to us making our booking. That would have been helpful to know beforehand. Good that there is a second pool, but it's more of a shallow paddle pool. Check in staff were most efficient and very helpful. The room was immaculate. Spotlessly clean bathroom, shiny kitchen, and bright white linen. Good powerful air conditioning which helped us cool down after a long day of exploring.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2017 by Wes Kawakami, Hotel Management
Aloha, and thank you for taking the time to share the details of your experience with me! I’m happy to hear you enjoyed our helpful staff, clean accommodations, convenient location in Waikiki, and efficient air conditioning. However, I apologize that we failed to communicate to you properly about our pool closure. Feedback from our guests is taken very seriously, and your review will be shared with my management team for future improvement. Mahalo for choosing to stay with us, and I invite you to stay with us again in the future for an improved experience. Sincerely,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from United Kingdom

Nice hotel, but a bit out of the way

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Good facilities. We had a mountain view room on the 25th floor, but could only partially see mountains between the other hotels. Also lots of traffic noise on this side of the hotel. Studio apartment was good and well serviced. Hotel is a bit isolated from downtown Waikiki, but a good bus service available into town for 2 dollars each way. Great location for beach and lagoon. One main concern was the lack of a hotel bar after Cinnamons closed at 9pm. Overall though, an enjoyable stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 21, 2017 by Wes Kawakami, Hotel Management
Aloha Gary, thank you for taking the time to write your review of our hotel! I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked our comfortable accommodations and convenient access to the beautiful beaches of Waikiki. Thank you also for your suggestion for later dining options. I will share that with my management team for future improvement, and we look forward to welcoming you again soon. Mahalo nui loa (thank you very much in Hawaiian)! Sincerely,