Ratings based on 656 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 22, 2018
The room was outdated and I couldn't turn the TV on because I did the late check-in (key left in a safe with a code) and you need to get a remote from desk staff. Might have been okay, but the TV in my room didn't have external buttons for me to turn it on. As a solo traveler, turning on the TV when I'm in my room is part of my ritual because I hate the silence. I ended up just playing YouTube videos out loud on my phone. I went to take a shower and there were long human hairs folded into one of the towels and the shower had one of those wall pumps instead of bottles. I've stayed at other hotels that have the pumps, but they are nice looking. Not the kind you'd find in a Wal-Mart restroom. Would only stay again if I were desperate for something reasonable at the last minute. I was glad this was for only for one night. Bonus: Nice staff and central location in Waikiki.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

No parking facilities

Posted Feb 21, 2018
Location is good, but car parking is terrible in that location.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

BYO air freshener, never again!

Posted Feb 20, 2018
Had read the reviews and thought this place couldn’t be as bad as everyone wrote. Unfortunately it was. During checkin had two groups demanding their money back. Disco noise is unbearable. Rooms are dated and smelly...... Long’s down the street sells great air fresheners, grab 2 if your staying a week. Definitely take room slippers as the carpets feel alive. Should be categorised as a backpackers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Posted Feb 16, 2018
Clean and comfortable unit. Spacious with kitchen. Central location in Waikiki. Close to beach and other facilities. Staff were helpfull. Would stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2018 by Jozel - FD Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha, We appreciate your feedback. Than you for giving the Kuhio Banyan the opportunity to serve you. We hope you enjoyed your Hawaiian vacation and look forward to seeing you again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Never come back again

Posted Feb 15, 2018
1) We were asked not using the water when we checked in at around 7:30pm because of the urgent maintenance work!!!!! They said it took an hour to fix the water leakage but we were keep waiting until their notice after 10pm. We felt so tire and were not able to take shower right after our check in!!!! The hotel manager did not feel sorry about it and did nothing as compensation!!! Just said it was out of their control and we were not the only guest affected!!!! 2) no hair dryer in room and the reception closed at 10pm, we can only borrow one from reception the next morning. Really bad experience and we are never come back again!!! 3) the bed was not ready in the room and We have to fold down the bed ourselves!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Old, but good value for money

Posted Feb 14, 2018
The hotel is a little old, but good value for the money. Location is in the heart of Waikiki. Lots of restaurants nearby, and the public beach in Waikiki is 2 blocks away. Jozell at the front desk was lovely- very friendly, knowlegeable, and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from thunder bay

Great location and great prize

Posted Feb 11, 2018
I had a amazing time the staff were wonderful and there when you needed them great hotel perfect location I will be comming back in the future
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton,Alberta

Posted Jan 31, 2018
Pros: Location, Security, size of the room very spacious,
Cons: The hotel requires some Upgrading
Location: Across the street from the International Market, close to the beach and restaurants, walking distance to the Honolulu Zoo
We had a very good experience , hotel staff where very helpful, rooms where clean . close to the International Market, Restaurants and Bus services, the only problem was late night check in. Office closes at 10:00 PM and we didn't arrive until Midnight . We weren't given the security guards Phone Number to to contact him of our arrival. Overall we would book again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nanaimo, BC

Busy, and central

Posted Jan 29, 2018
The staff. Great! The property would at best be fair. It is in Waikīkī so noise and hustle expected, we just found it a little much. No parking at this hotel, but staff hoked is up with Kyle who had a reserved spot for us in a parking garage less than a two minute walk ( I would recommend if you have a vehicle).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Logistics Inappropriate.

Posted Jan 27, 2018
There is the advertised room price and then there is the mandatory $15 resort fee. I did see it and mentally added the resort fee to the price of the room, but what is being done here is just a ploy to make the rate appear lower than it is: after all, one is unable to decline to use the resort and not pay the fee. That is then your first impression of the place. Then they want to encumber your credit card for $250 deposit. Hmmm....it's a hotel -- the rest of the industry is fine with just keeping the card for incidentals. Next time I want an inexpensive hotel in Waikiki, I'll pay another $5 and go elsewhere.