Ratings based on 3,010 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Great location. Iconic building.

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Perfect position in the heart of Waikiki. Direct access to the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Best hotel!!

Posted Sep 23, 2017
First time in Hawaii and so glad we chose to stay at the Moana Surfrider. Staff were helpful and friendly. The hotel is prime position on Waikiki Beach and close to all restaurants and shopping. Next time we come to Hawaii we will definitely be staying here again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Big Island of Hawaii

Prefer the Royal Hawaiian

Posted Sep 23, 2017
The Surfrider may have been first, but take away the Polynesian carpet and photos and it looks like any other upscale hotel. The Royal Hawaiian looks and feels like old Hawaii.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed!

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Frontliners specially those at the check in counter are so rude! They have no sense of customer service. They have no place in such a five star hotel like this. We won't book to this hotel ever!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Nice hotel but terrible service

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: staff are rude and arrogant
Location: it is ok
As I said, worst hotel experience you can imagine especially the staff named RAND who works in the luggage department. Very rude, impolite and you can tell he is very unhappy with his job and unfortunately it is the guest who suffers. I can he artfully say that I WILL NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL at all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Very nice hotel. Small enough that it feels intimate but large enough to enjoy the amenities of a big chain. Staff was very nice, but maid service could be improved. We had to call a couple times for more towels and to refill things like shampoo. The Beach Club was great and the nightly entertainment was wonderful. Prices were a bit high, but expected in Waikiki.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Excellent location, friendly and welcoming staff, and comfortable rooms. Only down side is calling valet for car pick up 15-20mins before heading out. Hotel is beachfront and very convenient to stores, restaurants, and other hotels. Overall great stay! Will definitely be coming back
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Outdated but close to the beach

Posted Sep 17, 2017
The place needs a serious upgrade and is tight on space. This was our third visit to Hawaii having previously stayed at the Royal Hawaiian and The Modern Honolulu which both surpassed the standard of the Moana Surfrider. The bathroom was not particularly clean when we arrived and the room set up (2 x double beds) was not particularly accommodating for my husband and I and our 2 year old daughter. The location of this resort is the selling point for this place. The facilities e.g. the pool is outdated and not properly managed. Guests would leave there belongings on the pool chairs for hours and this wasn't managed by the hotel at all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha, Mahalo for staying with us at the Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort & Spa. Please accept my apologies on behalf of our company for the inconveniences and disappointments you shared regarding your stay with us. It is our goal to provide outstanding service, and I am truly sorry to hear that we did not accomplish this with you. Please know that your feedback has been received, and will be address appropriately. We take our guest feedback seriously, and we will be ensuring that our service levels increase so that our team can provide the care and aloha that is expected when traveling to Hawaii. We truly hope that we will be given another opportunity to host you and your Ohana in the future, we would surely welcome the opportunity to regain your trust. Me Ke Aloha Pumehana (with warm aloha), Karen W. Moana Surfrider, Guest Experience Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from So CA

Beautiful Hotel, steps to beach,

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Pros: Charm and history
Cons: Not in our experience
Location: It's Waikiki, It has it all!
Very much enjoyed our stay at the elegant Moana Surfrider , love the history and charm of this lovely hotel. Staff friendly and helpful, always pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego

Amazing hotel

Posted Sep 16, 2017
This is one of my favorite hotels! Great atmosphere, centrally located, AMAZING STAFF! Love this place and will def keep coming back!