Ratings based on 2,334 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tulare,. CA

Nice clean hotel, convenient to beach

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Cons: I would request another room away from the elevator. However it was a nice hotel, parking was excellent, staff was helpful, and I will return there..
Location: Beach is 2 minutes walk, great restaurants close by, of course ABC stores everywhere, easy to catch the bus if you don't have a car.
Hotel was nice, I had stayed there 40 years ago on my first trip to Hawaii. Location is good, I didn't have a good view like the last time, however the room was nice, clean, and the staff was great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2017 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Aloha Rich! Thank you for taking time to share your review. We're so happy that you chose to stay with us on your return trip after 40 years. We are truly grateful for all our guests and appreciate your great loyalty to OHANA Waikiki East by Outrigger.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Great hotel close to everything

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Pros: What was advertised is what you get.
Cons: The shower in our room was a little dated but was adequate and clean.
Location: Already stated above
From arrival with friendly and helpful reception we found Ohana East a great place to stay. Convenient to beach, shops, small supermarket, local markets and eateries. Very helpful tour desk and also bell help downstairs for taxis and directions. We loved the pool with guest towels provided. Being able to use hotel key card for Pink Trolley to get around a bonus feature.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Good location

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Had a bad start to our stay when we were given a room with one double bed and not two as we ordered . However the problem was solved and we had a lovely stay .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Average, overpriced

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Rooms were average, dated and ours was right next to the service elevator so was extremely noisy. Staff were pleasant, friendly. Pool was closed for maintenance 4 of the 6 days we stayed so disappointing considering the nightly rate.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2017 by OHANA Waikiki East by Outrigger Management, Hotel Management
Aloha Carolyn, Mahalo for taking the time to write your review it is greatly appreciated. We apologize the pool was not available during your stay, there was an emergency repair that needed to be done and so we hope you will accept our apologies and give us a second chance should you return to the islands. Island Regards,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

The location is fantastic.

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Rooms to be cleaned properly especially the bathrooms.
Location: Central to beach, shopping and restaurants. A safe area of Waikiki.
Great location close and safe to walk everywhere. The room was tired and I found lollies under the curtains, and black hair on the bathroom floor, so cleaning certainly needs to be improved. I was very annoyed having to pay the "resort fee" when the pool was closed for two days. I mentioned this at check out and the surly receptionist said - well write about it. Bad form.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2017 by OHANA Waikiki East by Outrigger Management, Hotel Management
Aloha and mahalo JD, for taking the time to rate and review our hotel. We value your feedback and thank you for bringing up your concerns about your recent stay with us. Please accept our apologies as we continue to improve our product and services.Rest assured your review has been shared with the departments and is being addressed. Island Regards
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Booked for 1 night through Expedia. Was given the smallest room tucked away right next to the lifts. If the volume on the TV wasn't up you could constantly hear the lifts. I either wouldn't stay at this hotel again or wouldn't book through Expedia as I can only assume paying a cheap price got me this horrible room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 14, 2017 by OHANA Waikiki East by Outrigger Management, Hotel Management
Mahalo Your review is very much appreciated. An honour to be your host. We all look forward to welcoming you back when next your visit Waikiki. Island Regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Better than expected

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Booked two rooms, one with king bed, other twin. All beds very good, slept well, great showers (though small in size). Rooms more spacious than expected. Close to beach and eateries. Would book again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2017 by OHANA Waikiki East by Outrigger Management, Hotel Management
Aloha and Mahalo Genevieve for your 4 star review! We are so pleased that you found our staff to be excellent, helpful and polite. And that our rooms were very clean. I will be sure to let our staff know of your satisfaction. Thank you for helping us to meet our goals. We look forward to welcoming you back one day. Island Regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Pleasant Hotel very well located to everything.

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: Location and cost.
Hotel staff where very helpful. We got in early and they had a room ready for us. We even had a choice of three types of rooms. Very handy location to Transport, Restaurants and beach.Only negative Bathroom was little small. Had a great stay . Thank you to the staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2017 by OHANA Waikiki East by Outrigger Management, Hotel Management
Thank you Mark for taking the time in providing such positive feedback about your recent stay with us. We are proud to be located in the absolute best spot in Waikiki. Your many compliments and 4-star rating will be shared with our entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Mahalo Nui Loa and A Hui Hou (until we meet again)! Island Regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cookeville TN

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Older hotel but in good location ...............hotel was clean and staff friendly
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2017 by OHANA Waikiki East by Outrigger Management, Hotel Management
Aloha Josh, Mahalo for your review and 4 out of 5 rating it is truly appreciated. We thank you for your kind words on our hosts as well as the cleanliness of the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Island Regards,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Always having the homeless people asking for money or food
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2017 by OHANA Waikiki East by Outrigger Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We truly appreciate knowing about our guest's experiences so we can celebrate our successes and are working hard to address our challenges to better serve you in the future. Homelessness is a problem and has nothing to do with the hotel, so will look at your rating based on your encounters off the property. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are in Honolulu again. Mahalo Nui Loa. Island Regards,