Ratings based on 1,188 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia.

Right in the centre of Honolulu

Posted Nov 2, 2017
Pros: Sure, the Hotel is a few years old and some of the fittings are a bit dated. Interior however, was clean and the room was freshened up each day.
Cons: The bed was a bit "iffy", in future I would suggest twin beds for more individual comfort.
Location: Position is great, close to transport, beach, IHOP right underneath, with plenty of activity happening.
This is a well positioned Hotel, right in the centre of activity. Plenty of quality "eateries" close by and the beach is only a short stroll two blocks away. Hotel is easy to access, has bus stops right outside the front door to Pearl Harbour and the major shopping centre.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2017 by so'o, Hotel Management
Aloha Tony, Thank you so much for the awesome review and fabulous 4 stars. You are absolutely correct, the hotel is centrally located in the heart of Waikiki, just few minutes away from everything. We continue to do our best to provide clean comfortable room. It has been our pleasure having you as our guest and we thank you for allowing us to host you. We look forward to your next visit. Mahalo, So'o Tana Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg

I SHALL RETURN!

Posted Oct 8, 2017
The luana wing was outdated. Parking was very difficult. But otherwise the staff were very friendly and very helpful. The hotel was close to the bus and trolley stop. Close to the stores and to the restaurants. The best part is only walking distance to the Waikiki beach. I shall return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2017 by so'o, Hotel Management
Aloha Mirlam, Thank you for submitting your review and for giving us 4 stars. We value every feedback we receive and we are delighted to see that you will return. Your comment truly is an honor for us. Mahalo, So'o Tana Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Staff are fantastic.. so lovely and helpful

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Pros: everything
Cons: the hot water issue as mentioned above
Location: location was great.. one block way from the main strip
From the lady who gave me my room key to the lady who worked for Expedia and booked all my tours... just perfect.. warm and friendly and helpful. Great stay, I would stay again The only negative thing I would say is twice during my stay the water temperature was burning hot.. no cold water came through so really hard to have a shower. but after about 10 mins it cooled slightly, enough to have a comfortable shower... I would still stay again though..thank you
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 5, 2017 by So'o, Hotel Management
Aloha Shaz, Appreciate the feedback and thank you for the 5 star rating. Will share the great comments with the staff. Mahalo, So'o Tana Front Office Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Delaware

Hotel view bad

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Pros: Nothing, well bed was comfortable
Cons: Everything
Location: Location was good, parking ramp was hard to find
Hotel balcony had no chairs and the view was terrible over trash stored generator and other stuff, I was not happy with this hotel and will never stay there again if I go to Oahu, the parking ramp was terrible if you have a full size car could not make it around corners in parking ramp as well as having to go around block four times before finding it. Was spinning wheels just trying to get up and around corners in parking ramp just a really bad experience never again will I stay at this hotel.....
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 5, 2017 by so'o, Hotel Management
Aloha Diane, We appreciate your feedback. We are working very hard to maintain and improve our facility. Glad the know the hotel bed was comfortable and we hope you give us another chance to host you on your next vacation. Mahalo, So'o Tana Front Office Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, Australia

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Nice hotel - good location, close to shopping, beach, and trolley buses
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 5, 2017 by So'o, Hotel Management
Aloha Jordan, Thank you for the awesome review. We hope to see you again. Mahalo, So'o Tana Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice middle-class hotel

Posted Sep 27, 2017
Pros: please see above
Cons: please see above
Location: please see above
nice middle-class hotel friendly, helpful staff convenient location very clean, functional room on negative side: crowded lobby, particularly with tour groups minuscule pool
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2017 by So'o, Hotel Management
Aloha, Thank you for your feedback and the awesome rating. We will share them with the staff. We hope to host you again on your next visit. Mahalo, So'o Tana Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ewa Beach, HI

Nice hotel on bus line

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Hotel located on kuhio ave right on bus line making it very convenient. Parking available but entrance is on one way street and ramp. I was pleasantly surprised with a discount on fees for local residents.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2017 by So'o, Hotel Management
Aloha Anna, It has been our pleasure having you as our guest. We thank you for allowing us to host you and are looking forward to your return. Mahalo, So'o Tana Front Office Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern California

Hotel is very convenient to stay

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Friendly staff at the front desk Very close to beach having a nice walking place Restaurants are all over the place every where We go we'll be back again to visit & stay @Ohana malia outrigger hawaii
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2017 by So'o, Hotel Management
Aloha Jb, Awesome, thank you very much and we would love to host you again. Mahalo, So'o Tana Front Office Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from australia

Great location but not as it seems

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Staff were amazing but that's where it ends. Room configuration was not as requested and further more was very dated. Cracked tiles in bathroom, insufficient lighting, pool was smaller than the spa and needed to pay a daily resort fee! not sure why as clearly not a resort. Air conditioner worked very well but was very noisy. From a location perspective it was great but that's about it. Would prefer to stay somewhere else next time
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2017 by So'o, Hotel Management
Aloha J, Thank you for the amazing review for the staff. Unfortunately, other areas in the facility did not meet your expectations. We will work hard to improve on issues you experienced. Mahalo, So'o Tana Front Office Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Good staff in noisy area and older building

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: * Located close to dining and tourism options. * Good staff - in particular housekeeping * Convenient bus routes on Kuhio Avenue
Cons: * Exterior noise (parkade, street, late night bar crowds) * Bathrooms need updating
Location: * Numerous dining options with 1-3 blocks * International Market 3 blocks away
Located several blocks away from the beach, this hotel is still close enough to walk anywhere and is close to shopping and tourism options. Our room (#705) was rather noisy due to (1) a multi-story car parkade out our front door and (2) a motorcycle rental place outside our balcony/lanai. On weekend nights, bar crowds can get noisy. The staff were friendly and attentive. In particular, the housekeeping staff were definitely on the ball, and we appreciated the care they put into keeping the room orderly. The building itself is rather old and could do with some updating - in particular the bathroom (untidy caulking, lifting wallpaper). Overall, this is a decent choice for a younger couple on a budget
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2017 by So'o, Hotel Management
Aloha Craig, you gave us great feedback in areas where we needed to improve on in the hotel facility. Unfortunately we have no control over the noise from the street. The hotel is centrally located in the middle of Waikiki. However, we thank you for allowing us to host you and giving us great reviews. We hope to see you again. Mahalo Nui Loa, So'o Tana Front Office Manager