Ratings based on 3,977 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: Great location - right across from the beach and close to lots of shops and restaurants,zoo,bus stop. Flo water dispenser in the lobby. Pool has amazing view of Diamond Head. Friendly staff. Cons: Pepper packet and napkins found in pool. Shower knob adjustment was inconsistent and bathroom faucet dripped the whole time.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 14, 2017
Rooms not cleaned, smell bad, we have change room 3 times due problems
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2017 by Queen Kapiolani Hotel, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to give your feedback. I'm sorry to hear the rooms weren't up to the standard you've come to expect from us. I have personally addressed this with our housekeeping staff to ensure this won't happen again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Great location

Posted Aug 12, 2017
We went to Hawaii to celebrate my husband's 50th birthday. We were upgraded to a junior suite and they've provided two beds as we requested. We had a balcony so it was a stunning view. The room also has a kitchenette with a sink. The cupboard is stalked with spoon, fork, glass plates. There is coffee brewer, toaster, microwave oven, and small refrigerator. The bathroom had small toiletries and a bathtub. I had a bit difficulty sleeping because of the strong winds. This hotel is near the Waikiki Beach, Diamond Head, Honolulu Zoo and Aquarium and Queen Kapiolani Regional Park. We were able to walk from the hotel to Ala Moana Center. But not recommended for people who are not into distance walking. The housekeeping was polite. She greeted us when we were waiting by the elevator. And thank you Jocelyn for checking us in early. There's a Hula Show on the 3rd floor pool area happening every Friday at 6pm and admission is free. It was a pleasant experience!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from hawaii

Well located, poorly maintained, disorganized

Posted Aug 12, 2017
The rooms are small and not maintained well. A pervasive moldy odor came from the carpeting that desperately needed a clean and the shower didn't drain well, meaning you showered in ankle deep water. Beds are very very hard. I would've rated three stars for the price and location of the hotel -- but the final thing that ruined it....we paid for late Checkout. Just a couple extra hours was 75$ but we were willing to pay. That was not the issue...the issue was arguing with housekeeping who told us it was time to go, not understanding we had extended our time- returning to our room later to find they'd changed our keycards so we couldn't access the room (they were supposed to issue new keys when we extended the stay but failed to do that). most of the staff was pretty nice but by the end we were really fed up. oh, and the four nights were were there they never gave us new soap/shampoo - we ran out. And we tipped housekeeping daily and left a tidy room so it's not like they were overwhelmed by our room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to beach

Posted Aug 12, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: Air was very noisy and ineffective
Location: Beach
Friendly staff with handy location to food and shopping
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

The hotel was okay but not great.

Posted Aug 11, 2017
The hotel was next to some hostels and it wasn't a good area to walk in at night. A lot of unsavory characters frequented the area. We never felt safe walking near the hotel, even during the day. The room was very small. Parking was $30 a night which I thought was a bit excessive, especially since it didn't feel safe to walk in the area. We had a nice view of the beach without paying extra for it so that was nice. It was close to the Waikiki Aquarium and right across the street from the Honolulu Zoo.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

nice room

Posted Aug 10, 2017
Pros: room, staff, breakfast buffet.
Cons: ice machines on the floor
Location: Waikiki beach, zoo
wonderful view of the ocean from my room. awesome.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A bit misleading

Posted Aug 8, 2017
The room was very small, not like the picture and the hot water scorched us. The cold faucet in the sink and the shower produced too much hot water and took time to even out to a comfortable spray. Parking was only valet and it was $30/day which was not stated initially when I booked and there was also hotel fees. But the best experience was the valet attendant name Kwai who was awesome at his job and very cheerful!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great spot

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Hotel was awesome in a great location. The staff was very friendly and quick. I would stay here again. Located in a quieter part of town.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2017 by Queen Kapiolani Hotel, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback! We are currently doing a full renovation to improve our hotel. We welcome you to stay with us again once its completed mid 2018
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Antonio, Texas

Descent hotel close to beach

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Hotel is outdated and could use some upgrades. They should start with the mattresses and pillows. We were hardly ever there except to sleep and that wasn't comfortable at all for the 8 days we were there. Didn't seem to bother the kids. The view was very nice from our room. We had a view of Diamond Head and the beach. If I had to do it again and not on a budget, I would not stay here again. But if you are on a budget and need a clean place to stay then stay here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2017 by Queen Kapiolani Hotel, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback! We are currently doing a full renovation to improve our hotel. We welcome you to stay with us again once its completed mid 2018