Ratings based on 4,056 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wyoming

Walking distance to beach and clean.

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Good place to stay but no free parking 90% of places in Hawaii, disappointing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Nice hotel and CLOSE to the beach!

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Pros: Staff, 100% the staff!
Cons: Carpets can use a deep clean.
The staff at Queen Kapiolani are second to none! They are all 100% about making your stay in Oahu the best it can be - helpful and, most importantly, really KNOW the island and where you should go for the best experiences on the island, on top of that, all smiles, all the time :) As most have said, the place does need a remodel and the carpets could use some deep suds'n, and maybe there are side of the hotel where it is louder than not, but I was on the 2nd floor - on Friday and Saturday night - and any 'noise' settled down right around 10ish...I slept like a baby! For the price, location and especially the staff, I say it's very worth it :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Pleasant experience

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Pros: Very close to the sea...is located right on the waikiki beach.
Location: Dukes a restaurant on the beach side for authentic food. The beach of course :D Diamond crater hike..is little more than a mile away
Is technically not sea facing..none of the rooms are..and we were promised a sea facing view..but its less than 5 min walk to the beach and i loved tht...comes with all the convenience of being centrally located. It was way more than my expectation. We got a good deal..was cheaper than most of the other hotels and based on that i would say i got worth my money. Its a no frills hotel in the sense tht u need to go to lobby to get ur bottle filled, but hey u get clean water. Apart from that, the hotel did provide us with lotion body wash , and other toiletries which is not so common these days. The hotel staff was smiling and friendly (there was 1 exception) but out of 10 nice ppl tht i met..it can be easily forgotten. The room is just decent, but if u plan to spend a bigger part of the holdiay in the hotel, then give this a miss. IMP: There is an extra hospitality charge tht is levied and is fine print when u book the hotel through expedia..do read tht
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great location

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Pros: Helpful staff and excellent restaurant with great happy hour specials! Room always freshly made up daily.
Cons: New carpet and blinds, wallpaper would improve this hotel immensely. Beds are very comfortable though!
Location: Easy stroll to zoo, beaches and shopping. Swimming with the turtles at north shore with Kevin and Casey from express turtle tours was amazing!
Directly opposite the zoo and less than 100 meters to the beach and swimming lagoons what more could you ask for? The hotel itself is looking good as you walk through foyer but the rooms are very dated and need a good facelift which I believe is underway. Staff super friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from greensboro, nc

Royal atmosphere with convenience

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Easy and friendly check-in and out, helpful staff, cool bonuses, short walk down to the beautiful Waikiki beach, aquarium, zoo, shopping, and nightlife...Not to mention cozy bed
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from iowa

Close to beach

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Hotel needs room upgrades badly! At checkin Had one room that had different problems that made it difficult to stay in, staff got us another room which was no better. Finally had to talk with the manager who then got us the third room that was a halfway decent room. We will never stay at this hotel again!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san francisco

Being close to beach is the only good thing

Posted Sep 21, 2017
I don't recommend this hotel because of following reasons: 1 it is very outdated. I saw two rooms both of them had crack wall paper. One room has ugly stains on bathroom floor. The whole room smells like it has a lot of mold. Carpet was very dirty. Last time they changed carpet maybe 10 years ago. Small bugs running around bathroom. 2 very noisy at night you can hear your neighbor talking very clearly
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san jose, ca

Steps to Waikiki beach

Posted Sep 20, 2017
My boyfriend and I stayed there from 9/14 - 9/19. This was my first time visiting Waikiki and I have to say the experience with the island was awesome however, the accommodation not so much. I was very disappointed in the hotel. The first night we checked in, we got a dingy room. The hotel is very outdated. I woke up with bites all over my body so we asked the housekeeping to change the sheets. We came back from an adventure that night and the same sheets were still on the bed. How did I know it's the same sheet? There were two marks on the sheets that was still there. The only thing they did was make the bed. We confronted the front desk and they said they don't change the sheets every day because of a conservative program. Uhhhh... I specifically asked for clean sheets! Now I'm questioning if the sheets were changed before I checked in. It was nicely tucked in but it doesn't mean that it's clean. To top off the horrific experience with the dirty sheets, the bell desk asked to see my boyfriend's "green card"! How rude!!!! Do they make it a practice to ask everyone for our status? I noticed a lot of visitors from all over the world who were not a part of the United States citizens. I find it highly unacceptable!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san jose, ca

Steps from Waikiki beach

Posted Sep 20, 2017
My boyfriend and I stayed there from 9/14 - 9/19. This was my first time visiting Waikiki and I have to say the experience with the island was awesome however, the accommodation not so much. I was bee disappointed in the hotel. The first night we checked in, we got a dingy room. The hotel is very outdated. I woke up with bites all over my body so we asked the housekeeping to change the sheets. We came back from an adventure that night and the same sheets were still on the bed. How did I know it's the same sheet? There were two marks on the sheets that was still there. The only thing they did was make the bed. We confronted the front desk and they said they don't change the sheets every day because of a conservative program. Uhhhh... I specially asked for clean sheets! Now I'm questioning if the sheets were changed before I checked in. It was nicely tucked in but it doesn't mean that it's clean. To top off the horrific experience with the dirty sheets, the bell desk asked to see my boyfriend's "green card"! How rude!!!! Do they make it a practice to ask everyone for our status? I noticed a lot of visitors from all over the world who were not a part of the United States citizens. I find it highly unacceptable!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Good location, just at the end of Waikiki Beach. Pool area is a bit 'tired' and carpets on the room look like they need a good clean but otherwise a very satisfactory hotel. Both times we stayed, they were very generous in giving us a room upgrade without asking. It was perhaps the low season, but even so....