Ratings based on 2,324 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alabama

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Great room with a view and excellent staff! We will definitely stay with them again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from alaska

Nice accommodating staff

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Fast easy check-in. Very clean comfortable hotel. Very quiet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2017 by Carolyn, Hotel Management
Aloha Deb, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your overall experience, and I hope that we have the opportunity to host you again in the very near future. Mahalo nui loa, Carolyn Pinho General Manager Stay Hotel Waikiki
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton Canada

Very convenient location and great staff

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Hotel is only 2 minutes walk from the beach and is very close to food and shopping. Hotel staff is very friendly and is very keen to help you. They helped us arrange the transportation. Hotel is also very reasonably priced for the budget traveler.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2017 by Carolyn, Hotel Management
Aloha Parmnder, Thank you for taking the time to share your review and for rating your overall experience a five out of five stars! I'll be sure to share your wonderful words of encouragement to our warm and diligent team, who go consistently above and beyond to ensure that our guests leave the islands with happy memories. I hope that we have the pleasure of hosting you again soon. Mahalo nui loa, Carolyn Pinho General Manager Stay Hotel Waikiki
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Convenient location, good price, tiny room

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Pros: location
The location was perfect. There are good restaurants, shopping, and the beach just steps away. The staff was always pleasant and helpful, but the room was beyond small. Good thing we weren't there to hang out in the room! However it was super quiet and we weren't bothered by hallway noise, next door noise, or street noise.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

More Hostel Than Hotel

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Pros: The staff were friendly.
Cons: Almost every element needs improving - proper windows, beds, and modern AC would go a long way.
Location: Great location but so are most hotels in and around Waikiki.
Unfortunately we were very disappointed with our stay. The staff were helpful and friendly but that's about the only positive. The room conditions were horrible. The AC hardly worked, was extremely noise and there were no proper windows to block outside noise/heat. The room and beds were tiny, even for a single and frankly I was very concerned about the presence of bed bugs. I have seen the hostel where friends were staying and I would rate that significantly higher - plus it was a lot cheaper - I would expect a lot more from a "hotel" charging a premium.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2017 by Carolyn, Hotel Management
Aloha! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I am sorry to hear that you were underwhelmed with the size and layout of your room, I am happy to relay that our bi-monthly pest control service reports have indicated zero presence of bed bugs or other pests in any of our rooms. One thing that travelers should be mindful of while staying in the islands is the possibility of sand mites, which are prevalent on the beaches, and can sometimes hitch rides with unwitting hosts. I do want to encourage all guests if they find themselves less-than-thrilled with their initial room assignment, to always check with the Front Desk of any hotel to see if there is availability to room switch to a more desirable option within the property. Thank you again for your valuable insight, which is greatly appreciated. Mahalo nui loa, Carolyn Pinho General Manager Stay Hotel Waikiki
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Staff Nice

Posted Nov 15, 2017
The staff was wonderful but the outside street noise is terrible. We only stayed two days but that was enough. It was clean though and relatively comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2017 by Carolyn, Hotel Management
Aloha! Thank you for taking the time to share your review. You'll be happy to know that we're looking forward to modernizing our windows, which will help to curtail the city noise of our amazing central location. I will be sure to share your kind words of celebration for our diligent and hospitable team. Thank you again for providing your feedback. Happy and safe travels to you and yours. Mahalo nui loa, Carolyn Pinho General Manager Stay Hotel Waikiki
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Nov 14, 2017
An older hotel but was very comfortable. Great location, 1 street back from the beach. A great choice for those wanting to spend more money on the shopping!! Will stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2017 by Carolyn, Hotel Management
Aloha! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am happy to hear that you found value in your overall stay and that you were able to enjoy the sights, shops, and restaurants that are within close proximity to our hotel. I hope that we have the pleasure of hosting you again very soon. Mahalo nui loa, Carolyn Pinho General Manager Stay Hotel Waikiki
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Central and fun!

Posted Nov 11, 2017
1.5 blocks from the beach. 2.5 blocks from Maui Brewing and the Blue Note. Comfy bed. Popular kareoke bar on first floor. Excellent hospitality.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by Carolyn, Hotel Management
Aloha Harold, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and to offer tips on fun things to see and do in our neighborhood. I am glad that you enjoyed our hospitality and the overall value of your stay. I hope that we have the pleasure of seeing you again soon. Mahalo nui loa, Carolyn Pinho General Manager Stay Hotel Waikiki
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oakland, CA

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Nov 11, 2017
It’s like 2-3 blocks from the beach and close to The Bus stop, that takes you to and fro the airport within an hours time. Nice patio view. Room includes mini fridge, microwave. Direct tv and WiFi. Free coffee and tea in the lobby and there’s a bar downstairs as well. Room was adequate for me since I was spending most of my time sightseeing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by Carolyn, Hotel Management
Aloha Mark, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I am glad that like most of our valued guests, you found our hotel to be a cool, clean, and comfortable respite for your day's adventures. I hope that we have the pleasure of being your "go to" option for your next trip to the islands. Mahalo nui loa, Carolyn Pinho General Manager Stay Hotel Waikiki
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 10, 2017
Pros: Excellent location in the heart of Waikiki!
Location: A block from the beach, restaurants, music, etc.
I was attending a 4 day conference at one of the larger hotels nearby and enjoyed being able to walk along Waikiki and not have to have a car. Great neighborhood restaurants, shopping, etc.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2017 by Carolyn, Hotel Management
Aloha! Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and to rate our hotel a four out of five stars. I am always happy to hear when visitors realize that renting a car while staying in Waikiki is completely unnecessary when many shops and restaurants are within walking distance and we have an award-winning public transportation system for those who would rather ride in air condition comfort. Recently, Biki bike share added over a hundred stations in around Waikiki and Honolulu metro, which provides yet another great option for visitors to get around. I hope that we have the pleasure of hosting you again in the near future so that you can explore our big little city even more. Until then, happy and safe travels to you and yours. Mahalo nui loa, Carolyn Pinho General Manager Stay Hotel Waikiki