Ratings based on 405 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Location

Posted Sep 10, 2017
The positives from the hotel was that the air conditioning was very good, the front desk staff was helpful and nice, the valet was awesome (we never had to wait), and the hotel is in a very convenient location. The negatives of this hotel is that there were ants in my bathroom and near the coffee maker which was really gross. Housekeeping never changed our bed linens during our stay. The card in the room states they change the linens after every 3 nights, but we stayed 7 nights with no changes, and they still didn't change it even after we asked. Lastly, the hotel is very close to the highway and is not insulated from outside noises well. We stayed on the 4th floor and you can hear everything, so ask to stay on a higher floor if you plan to stay at this hotel. My husband had to wear ear plugs at night to sleep.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit, Mi

Nice but....

Posted Sep 2, 2017
The staff in this hotel is excellent. However, rooms need upgrading big time. Carpets are stain prone and show old stain marks. Some rooms are dusty and have ants and baby cockroaches in them. Luckily staff moved us to a better room next day. Shower is only good for a slim person. Windows don't seal well and thanks to traffic it is extremely noisy even on 9th floor. Elevator only goes down to lobby and not to the valet parking area which is 1 floor below. So you have to ask valet or hotel staffs help to drag your bags up or down the stairs. Location is great though...within walking distance from mall and abc store and marina. A few tweaks by hotel management in its plysical conditions would make this hotel really great. Hope they think seriously about it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Nice close to places

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Swimming pool was close room looks bigger in the picture than in person .Beds are very comfortable .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hot

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Hot room, my girlfriend woke up twice with nightmares. Low energy. Bad!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Great Location, Wonderful Staff

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Pros: Staff MAKES the hotel. Lobby is beautiful old-school Hawaii- I wish I could have spent more time there. Location is perfect to get anywhere on Oahu.
Cons: Handicap access, but I don't see how that is possible. Small tables near the chairs in the rooms would be a big improvement.
Location: Chart House, Red Lobster, 12 or so other restaurant, Harbor, Magic Island, Ala Moana Center, ABC, easy exit from Waikiki to anywhere else on Oahu.
I was back on Oahu for two weeks for my son's wedding and stayed here for 6 nights. The rooms here are pretty much average hotel, but the staff is amazing! I had a problem with the first room I was given and within 15 minutes they had me in a new room. It turned out the first room had new carpet and I absolutely can't stand to be around that smell, which was really my issue, but they had no problem in moving me ASAP. Jackie, Izabell, the concierge, and the local gentleman at the front desk, the valets in the parking garage were all incredibly helpful and friendly. The beds were very comfortable. The lobby is beautifully decorated as in Old School Hawaii. This location is not beachfront, but was perfect for my needs-on the edge of Waikiki so I could head for the North Shore easily, but within walking distance of everything I wanted to see. The harbor is a 3 minute walk for the boat attractions, many restaurants, including the Chart House (my favorite) and Red Lobster were within a 2 minute walk, Ala Moana Center is a block away. The yacht harbor & Magic Island are 3 minutes away. Several beaches are within a 5 minute walk. The Bus had stops nearby going in both directions. The stairs to the lobby are beautifully done in brass, and are kept gleaming. I would happily return to the Equus. As far as I could tell there was no handicap access which would be the only con for some people in staying there. Mahalo again to the staff for making my stay so easy and comfortable!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 27, 2017 by Rachel Balzan/Guest Services , Hotel Management
Mahalo for the kind review and positive feedback. As the last family owned and operated boutique hotel in Waikiki, your business means the world to us. Our team strives to welcome our guests with aloha, making each stay a memorable one. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our guest rooms, staff, and location. I have shared your comments with our staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. It was a pleasure to host you, and we encourage you to stay with us again the next time you are in town. Please contact us directly. With aloha from the Equus 'Ohana, Rachel Balzan Guest Services
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Ac doesn't work, hotel is so old, everything needs upgrade, we got stuck in the elevator, no access to ice machine. Not enough staffing for service.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location

Posted Jun 30, 2017
If you are looking for aloha spirit, this staff has it. Scott our concierge was very kind and very helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by Rachel Balzan/Guest Services , Hotel Management
Mahalo for the kind review! Our team strives to welcome our guests with aloha, making each stay a memorable one. We are pleased to hear Scott was able to assist you. It was a pleasure to host you, and we hope to see you again soon! With aloha from the Equus 'Ohana, Rachel Balzan Guest Services
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Hotel Stay

Posted Jun 29, 2017
This was a 1 night stop over before heading home to New Zealand Location was great, friendly helpful staff. Rooms were clean and had everything we needed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by Rachel Balzan/Guest Services , Hotel Management
Mahalo for your positive feedback! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our team, guest rooms, and location. It was a pleasure to host you, and encourage you to stay with us the next time you are in town! With aloha from the Equus 'Ohana, Rachel Balzan Guest Services
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Home Away from Home

Posted Jun 20, 2017 on Hotels
I love the location around Ala Moana Marina and the beginning of Waikiki boardwalk strip, also across from Rockpiles and Ala Moana Bowls surf sport. The Equus hotel provided me with all the comforts of home, soft pillows, tea and coffee as well as clean and safe environment that's near the shopping stores and restaurants. I highly recommend this hotel , great price and value too
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati Ohio

Staff is the BEST!! Nice Hotel

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros: Staff is the BEST!! Nice Hotel, comfortable bed and pillows. Rooms clean and nice. The only thing I would say negative is if you are a light sleeper
Cons: Change the shower head. The large up to date one is too big when you are short. The water sprays in your face and you can't get away from it
Location: Located in walking distance to the beach, food, bars etc...good location you can walk for anything you need other than site seeing you will need drive
Staff is the BEST!! Nice Hotel, comfortable bed and pillows. Rooms clean and nice. The only thing I would say negative is if you are a light sleeper you can hear the morning traffic. Other than that is was a very pleasant stay. We felt welcomed everytime we came back. The vale was excellent although you do pay $25 night for your car. There is a small pool if you need to keep the kids entertained for a min.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 17, 2017 by Kika , Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. We're glad you experienced our Aloha Hospitality and look forward to seeing you again.