Ratings based on 2,246 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Great experience! Helpful and kind staffs asdfadgagawegawegasga asdgasdgasdgasdg
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel and good location

Posted Jul 24, 2017
I would recommend this hotel. Great location far enough away from the crazy shopping but still within walking distance. About a block walk from the beach. Very classy place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Amazing place. It's our second time at Modern and they didn't disapoint.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, good facilities, great pool

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: great front of house and pool management
Cons: Pool service became poor in the afternoons and the barmen were a bit arrogant
Great location, food and excellent pool. Overall the staff were very good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Auckland, NZ

Funky hotel -let down by the pool

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Cons: The pool.- The adults only pool should be redeveloped to be a proper swimming pool.
Location: Close to Alamoana Centre, and Dukes Lagoon. ABC store, McDoanlds, sushi and Subway across the road.
This is a great hotel, lots of greenery, great food at the restaurants, good gym but....... there is really only one pool. There is a sunset pool upstairs (adults only) but you can't really call 1-2 feet of water a pool! This in turn puts a lot of pressure on the only swimable pool on the main level! At one time there was about 25 people crammed into the small pool! There is alo a fight for the loungers- with some guests putting their gear on loungers at breakfast time and then not returning until later in the day! This was incredibly frustrating- especially with two children in tow. This is the only bad point about this hotel. I would recommend this for a stopover of 1- 2 nights maximum.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Too far from everything but McDonalds for seniors

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness and friendliness
Cons: The beds. Maybe some senior rooms without the bed frames such as they are
Location: The location was at the far beginning of the strip of hotels and was a pretty good walk from the beach.
This was a nice clean hotel but not for seniors. It's located far to the end of the other hotels and a good walk to pretty much everything especially the beach. We pretty much used Uber to get around. Although we did walk to a few restaurants nearby. The beds in the room are dangerous as the mattress sits on a wood frame which sticks out about 2 inches all around the mattress and of course my husband (age 77) bumped into it on his way to the bathroom during the night and fell bruising himself pretty bad. The front desk staff is very gracious and friendly. No problems with extra blankets or pillows.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Nice staff, pool, service and breath-taking harbour view
Location: Close to Hilton Hawaiian village where you can tour the market, having luau buffet and watching shows, also near don quixote grocery.
It's an ideal place for someone who prefers tranquility but still keep the access to all the activities in Honolulu.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I was very well received. Great local

Posted Jul 7, 2017
I had an incredible experience starting with my arrival. Bags were taken immediately. It may have taken a little time for my bags to come to my room but that's okay. Had a great view of the balcony to look over the July 4th fireworks. Pools service the lounge's the environment all good. I'm not adding any photos task my hotel experience
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

One night stay

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: Stayed just one day/night thus didn't have time to exprience all amenities but the view and direct access to Waikiki beach was great.
Cons: Breakfast order was a bit slow so speed up a little on this will great.
Location: The location is fantastic, right front of the ocean and yacht harbor, the views is beautiful and direct access to Waikiki Beach is nice!
This hotel is very nice and the location is fantastic with beautiful ocean views!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, Or

Really disappointing

Posted Jul 3, 2017
5th time to Hawaii. First bad hotel. Adult pool is 12 inches deep! Kids were crazy at main pool. Staff was nice, but their attention was focused on cabana/bottle-service clients. No beach access. Minimal views, even from ocean view rooms. Beds in rooms are a foot off the floor. Windows were filthy, inside and out. Hotel restaurant was inconsistent meal to meal. Lots of better choices on Oahu.