Ratings based on 2,025 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Wonderful Hotel

Posted Jan 22, 2018
Pros: Everything
Cons: Music can be heard from the bars downstairs on the 5th floor until 3am when it closes.
Location: Walking distance to waikiki beach and all the amenities. Super close to Ala Moana shopping centre which is awesome!
This hotel was absolutely perfect for us. Very boutique style so tons to look at artistically. From the hidden lounge, to the openness of the grove restaurant, there isn't anything we could complain about. The food was wonderful, the drinks were excellent and the staff were so friendly and approachable. The location is just slightly out of the way of all the hustle of the main beaches which makes it excellent for people who want a bit of privacy. But it was still close enough to enjoy plenty of swims in the ocean. Happy hour at various times of day made it really cost effective to enjoy ourselves all day. We would return to this hotel for sure.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney,Australia

Style comes first

Posted Jan 14, 2018
Pros: Original decor
Cons: Soundproofing and storage
Location: Near Ala Moana shops (not worth it - central Waikiki better in every way)
An original and stylish hotel. Would especially suit the young and attractive more than experienced travellers who want practicality. About a half hour walk from the main Waikiki area. Poor soundproofing of hallway and bathroom noise. Not a lot of storage space in room. But certainly stylish. Staff competent and usually extremely polite
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Return visit for sure

Posted Jan 10, 2018
First time in Honolulu and loved the location and smaller feel of this hotel. Staff were incredible, and great vibe to the place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, Oregon

Awesome hotel and the staff is amazing!

Posted Jan 8, 2018
Pros: Staff, accommodations and the hotel is not Hawaiian theme.
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Close to everything, we walk the entire strip to shop and eat.
We have been going to the Modern now for 5+ years and we keep coming back. The staff is amazing, they all work very hard to make sure your taken care of. From the pool staff, bar and restaurant the service exceeds our expectations. Scooby, Bryant, all the pool gals do a fabulous job. The staff is the reason why we keep coming back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2018 by THE MODERN HONOLULU, Hotel Management
Thank you Gayla! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

Decent hotel but falls down on details

Posted Jan 4, 2018
Hotel is fairly decent but falls down on details. No coffee bar, for example. Rooms have too much form over function - trendy low beds, shallow sink, no bathtub etc. Pool area is too small making it difficult to get a lounger. Ravish restaurant is below par; we waited for ages to be seated even though it wasn't busy, wine selection was poor, and decor was tired. On the plus side, the staff at the hotel are generally courteous and attentive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON, CAN

Christmas Vacation 2017

Posted Jan 3, 2018
Excellent location as you can walk to either Waikiki beach or Ala Moana center. Hotel wasn’t too busy, even over the holidays. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Room was nice and very clean. My only (small) complaint was that occasionally certain staff members weren’t 100% familiar with room service menu options. But overall we had a great stay and I would definitely stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2018 by THE MODERN HONOLULU, Hotel Management
Thank you, Michelle! Hope to see you again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Campbell River, BC

Fantastic location close to shopping and the beach

Posted Jan 3, 2018
Pros: The variety of amenities and location.
We had a fantastic holiday at this great hotel that really caters to the individual. A great location close to the beach and with fantastic pools. If you want to avoid the craziness of downtown this hotel is for you. Great restaurants and also a relaxing adult only pool. We will go back for sure!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2018 by THE MODERN HONOLULU, Hotel Management
Looking forward to seeing you again should your travels include Hawaii!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Friendly and happy staff which reflects good manag

Posted Dec 31, 2017
Stayed for six days in a very comfortable, sunny room. The staff were very warm and welcoming and went out of their way to accommodate my sister who is gluten free because of a medical condition. The hotel is well placed to walk or catch a taxi or bus anywhere. Would highly recommend the Modern
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2018 by THE MODERN HONOLULU, Hotel Management
Thank you! Hope to see you again in the future should your travels include Hawaii!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

convenient to and front other places from here.

Posted Dec 27, 2017
Pros: Nothing specific.
I have no bad experience with this place. The front desk staffs are nice and helpful. The room is reasonably clean and spacious. The hallway (outside the room) is a little bit dark. It needs to light up a bit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Great location, a little sanctuary.

Posted Dec 24, 2017
Lovely pool and outlook. Close to everything but a private hide away from the crowds. Had a great vibe.