Ratings based on 2,351 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bay Area, Ca.

fabulous room great pool area and bar.

Posted Nov 22, 2017
Pros: the decor and location
Cons: nothing
Location: just far enough away but a pleasant walk to the tourist center and beaches of Waikiki.
just a two night stopover in Honolulu on the way to Kauai. the Modern was perfect. I recommend the ocean view suite. Great room and view. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Beckum

Honeymoon at its best

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Pros: Pools, beds, location, restaurants and shopping mall close by, rooms are equipped with complementary water and coffee.
Cons: rooms are bit too noisy room haven't been cleaned between 12 and 3 pm (maybe we just missed the window) No complementary air port shuttle
Location: good restaurant selection and just a short walk to Waikiki Beach but also to the Shopping mall
Very nice hotel at a good location. Just over a footbridge to the Waikiki Beach. Everything was very good just the rooms were a little bit noisy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gillette, WY

Sunset over the Harbor

Posted Nov 19, 2017
It was awesome! For us it definitely was Cosmopolitan Lifestyle living! The evening we had to leave for the airport the sunset while having Happy Hour at the Ravish was spectacular to us! We were kind of bummed heading back to 20 degree weather so it was a perfect end to our trip !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beclabito, NM

Clean, partial view, nice

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Pros: There was a few hangout places within the hotel that I did enjoy for evening/night time fun.
Location: The Ala Moana mall is near by, and Red Lobster is across the street. Good stores within walking distance.
Our stay was great and comforting! Very clean and the staff was so nice! Would definitely recommend the hotel to others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, Western Australia

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Hotel is fantastic. Very roomy rooms, clean, great shower products, great amenities and staff are extremely lovely and helpful. ABC store (convenience) located a 2min walk away, bus stop into the Waikiki strip is 2mins away. It's close enough to the strip to walk without being super noisy. Highly recommended.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Good facilities but terrible service

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Staff were rude, rooms weren’t serviced, 20 percent charge for charging to your room, warm champagne, terrible rood, room service left in room for FOUR days. Paid cash to avoid room service charge and attendant pocketed the cash and charged the room anyway. Had our credit cards and cash lifted out of our cross body bags in the hotel bar. Atrocious. Don’t waste the money, we spent $6000 on 3 rooms for a week. You can use the pool and restaurants without being a guest, stay somewhere else and visit for the day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tucson, Az

It would have been better, but ...

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Pros: It was great. Good ambiance, location, and restaurants. Nice staff.
Cons: Don't gouge us on room service. If you offer it, don't charge me a 20% service fee. And don't do delivery charges. smh.
Location: Good location. Honolulu Zoo; Waikiki Beach; Waikiki Aquarium; Cinnamon's; ABC Store; Aloha Sushi; and lots of other local eateries to walk to.
Desk Staff: Wonderful. Very helpful and check-in was a breeze. They were absolutely wonderful and when we arrived we got a complimentary lemonade. At one point they made change for us, and they even offered to send my postcards for me. This was great and they went above and beyond during check out. Check-out is at 3pm and we weren't getting picked up until 7pm so they held our baggage and even booked us a last minute shower at the spa before we left for the airplane. Great service. Room: Very clean, modern, and easy to use. I enjoyed the city view and the balcony. They were very good about cleaning daily and stocked us up on small things we had used (like shampoo and conditioner). At one point, a nice cleaning lady even organized the mess I'd made on the bathroom counter while rushing to leave. How nice! Extras: Nice pools. Did not use the fitness room but it is very nice. The Spa is wonderful, took a shower there that was very helpful. Hotel Food: All of the food they have is great, both the restaurants and the room service. Negatives: Room Service has all kinds of fees that suck. You pay $5 for a delivery fee, then an additional 20% service charge, and the staff expects a tip on top of the $5 fee. The food itself is not cheap. I ordered desserts on two nights and it ended up costing $82 at checkout for 4 desserts which are good but very small, small portions. Would not recommend room service ever again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oafu

Very quiet and nice location , service!!!!

Posted Nov 12, 2017
Price is good!!!!! I need more picture about hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

great pool and bar

Posted Nov 11, 2017
Lovely views, great location. Nice walk to Magic Island and the mall.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

The Modern is Modern

Posted Nov 11, 2017
This hotel came highly suggested to us by frequent HI traveler. It’s right in the thick of Waikiki so very walkable, very touristy. I love a stiff mattress but this was a little extreme. They have an adult pool which I was looking forward to using but it’s really like an adult puddle, it’s ankle deep and there were no chairs so we ended up at the bigger pool with all the kids (yay). Also I would check ahead to make sure they aren’t having any special events. One of the days the pool was closed because they were setting up for a food and wine fest. The person at the front desk supposedly called the Hilton next door and we were supposed to have chairs at their pool so if course we go to the Hilton and they have no idea what we’re talking about. The guy let us hang out at their man-made beach area anyway. I did like that it was very minimalist and, well, modern.