Ratings based on 1,929 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Perfect spot and great hotel!

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: The Beach and conveniently located in the middle of the downtown
Cons: Have a nice, quality restaurant where dinner can be served
Checking was a bit bumpy since Expedia reservation isn't assuring to have your selections (apparently if you reserved and requested KING bed it isn't guaranteed by the hotel to provide it.. not good). Further conversation with the check-in team and stating that really don't want to celebrate the anniversary in two twin beds got us to a room w/king bed. For the trouble, the crew also sent us a champagne which was really nice gesture. Every single staff member did their best to make sure that we have a pleasant stay while in Royal Hawaian, True luxurious hotel, the only thing is missing a formal dinning place where you can actually enjoy a quality meal not fast food that the bar provides.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Nice older style hotel on the beach.

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Had a very pleasant stay at the Royal. Nice, slightly older style hotel which is in contrast to the modern towers all around it. Very nice bar is a great place to sit in the evenings.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Can't reserve an umbrella on the beach.

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Unable to get a beach umbrella. Excessive prices for everything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hilton Head, SC

Venerable Waikiki landmark hotel on the beach.

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: Room with ocean view; the quality of service.
Cons: the price was high for our budget.
Location: There are many things to do near this down-town location. Roof terrace of the Business Center across the street. Shopping mall next door. Art Museum
We really enjoyed our stay here. LOVED the ocean view - with beach and the hotel's dark pink sun umbrellas and Diamond Head in the background - from our room. For us it was pricey but well worth it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Beautiful hotel and friendly staff

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: I really liked the decor and the friendly staff.
Location: The hotel is in a prime location near shops, beach and restaurants.
This hotel exceeded my expectations! Every hotel staff member we saw was so friendly and made us feel welcomed. There was a lady at the concierge desk that helped us map out our drive and places to stop. She was incredibly friendly and helpful. The map and her suggestions were perfect for us!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal Canada

Nice hotel too expensive

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: Clean , personnal are nice
Cons: The accessibility to chair at the beach and at the pool
Location: Nice location. Close to restaurant , shopping beach
They ask 4 dollars us for renting a chair and a umbrella for the beach. Only a few are available at the pool. You have to rent the other.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Was here 30 yrs ago. Was able to afford to stay again at a wonderful iconic hotel. Beach front and close to all transportation and restaurants
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from dallas texas

Way over priced for the aminities offered

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Not a facility I'd recommend xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxccccccc
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Classic luxury and in best location of Waikiki

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Loved our suite, hotel staff are amazing! My wife and I along with our two boys will definitely be back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Beautiful Historic Beachfront Hotel

Posted Sep 4, 2017
The Royal Hawaiian is now one of my favorite properties! We stayed in the historic wing, where the doors have been chiseled to create Hawaiian artwork. The room was comfortable, but not very large (probably from it being built in th 1920s). It has been updated and the hotel itself is grand and spacious. Cons? The housekeeping was inconsistent; many days our dirty towels were left on the floor, and when we requested our linens to be changed, they weren't. When we asked for some recommendations from the concierge (for a different hike, and a ride back to the airport), she did not provide us with any information, saying that the hotel could only recommend the Diamond Head Hike, and we should get a taxi back to the airport, ourselves. Otherwise, I would love to come back again; it is located directly on the beach, and this stretch seems less crowded than other areas. I highly recommend The Royal Hawaiian!