Ratings based on 1,709 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Lovely hotel & location on beach

Posted Jan 17, 2018
Pros: beautiful hotel & location
Cons: thought charge of $40 a day for a beach chair when only wanted to be on beach 1 hour, was excessve.
Location: nice
everything was great ,in general , valet parking was fast & friendly, but when we arrived late & hungry we asked for nearest fast food place. they would not tell us there was a shopping center food court next door, only tried to steer us to fancy sit down restaurants
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Love this hotel!

Posted Jan 13, 2018
Pros: I like it's size. We stayed in the Historic building and I felt its grandeur.
Location: You can walk to everything in Waikiki which gives you ample choices in dining and shopping. Couldn't be better or with more things to do.
Just wonderful. Everything was perfect. That said it probably not for everyone. If you want a lot of shiny modern stuff and expect glass this really isn't your place. But if you like a sense of history and permanence, this hotel is a monument of old Hawaii that is just as much fun today. It is ideally situated on the beach (but know you have to pay for beach chairs - that was new to me but well worth it) and the staff is friendly, helpful and extremely well trained.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Highly overrated

Posted Jan 11, 2018
Was never told where pool, parking, or other facilities are located upon checkin. Bathroom had lots of hair in shower and sink. Dirty towel. Front desk said sorry but never followed through on promised apology from manager or other manner of correction. Room was ok but bed sheets not that comfortable and musty bathroom. Front desk argued about double charge from mai tai bar despite us explaining multiple times that we had paid our drinks already and not charged to the room. Overall very disappointing and overrated hotel. Similar hotels have much better service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel next to beach

Posted Jan 8, 2018
When we arrived and went to check in the women at the front desk was really rude! I tried to explain that our stay came with breakfast that I had pre-paid when I made our reservations. She basically called me a liar. I told her I could show her my email confirming the stay with breakfast. Once I pulled up the email on my phone she grabbed my phone and disappeared with it for ten or more minutes. I did not appreciate her walking away with my phone since we all have personal info stored on them. When she came back she repeated at least three or more times “you are right! I bet that it feels good to be right! Go ahead and tell me you were right!” Anyways all other hotel staff were great. She would be better suited in another area of the hotel, just not at the check in desk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was magical.

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Pros: Everything.
We ended our trip to Hawaii at the Royal Hawaiian. Loved our room, the comfortable bed, the extremely friendly service, and the luau!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very disappointed with the level of service

Posted Dec 28, 2017
Pros: Rooms were clean.
Cons: Customer service
We have a toddler and stayed at the hotel a s a family of four the week before Christmas. Hotel had planned an unannounced (to us) renovation in front of the elevators for 3 days and we are staying at the 2nd floor. Staff did point us to the stairways with elevators out. Our toddler fell in the stairways when we were heading to the beach. I spoke to someone at the reception and told them what happened, he took notes. Never heard back from staff. Two days later I was waiting for my car at the hotel's valet park. After waiting for 10mins the staff wtold me it is on its way. Another 10mins passes I ask the same person if there is an update. He responds "I already told you it is on its way, there is no further update. Next time you should call down to prevent waiting". He then turns back and does a high five with a colleague, making me further upset. Not told b4 you can call down ahead. I ask for the manager. The manager comes down and they waive the day's valet charge and say they will better train their staff. I tell the manager about my son's accident and he takes a note. No one gets back. Finally during the check out I tell them again and that I have a doctor's report etc. and that no one ever got back to me. They tell me that the security director will follow up. Anyway long story short this is a hotel that lacks focus on customer experience. It is evident in all their actions of their staff. It is not part of the company's values. Will never stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

best in town

Posted Dec 18, 2017
Perfect location. Old school charm. Updated rooms. Fantastic service, food and ambiance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, Australia

Character, History, Location

Posted Dec 8, 2017
The Royal Hawaiian was great value for money. A great central location on Waikiki Beach. The hotel has great character and grandeur to stay at it. Whilst having the conveniences of the twenty first century, the hotel seems to be alive with the style and grace of the 1930-40’s. Certainly a place to stay if you get the chance to visit Oahu. I hope to have the chance to come back one day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kelowna BC

Posted Dec 6, 2017
Loved the Hotel. So great to be right on Waikiki Beach. Tales you back in time...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NEW JERSEY

CAMPARED TO PRIOR VISITS

Posted Dec 5, 2017
Pros: THE OLD BUILDING IS STILL AS CHARMING AS EVER. THE STAFF THAT HAS BEEN THERE FOR YEARS IS STILL WONDERFUL, WARM AND GRACIOUS AS EVER.
Cons: MANAGEMENT THINKING OF THE GUEST MORE THAN THE BOTTOM LINE. KEEPING THE HOTEL AS GRAND AS IN PAST YEARS.
Location: THE HOTEL IS LOCATED ON THE BEACH. OAHU IS FILLED WITH THINGS TO DO, PEARL HARBOR BEING ONE. MUSEUMS SHOPPING AND MORE.
FROM PRIOR VISITS TO THIS HOTEL IT HAS CHANGED DRAMATICAY. SINCE BEING TAKEN OVER BY MARRIOTT THEY SEEM TO THINK OF THE BOTTOM LINE. THE AIR CONDITIONING UNITS ON THE TOP OF THE RESTAURANT ROOF IS NOISY AND THERE IS NO PLANS OF CORRECTING THIS PROBLEM UNTIL THE NEW BUDGET YEAR. THE TOWER (NEWER SECTION) IS TREATED DIFFERENTLY THEN THE HISTORIC BUILDING. WHEN WE MADE OUR RESERVATIONS WE WERE TOLD THAT THE TOWER HAD A CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST, IT DID NOT. THEY ONLY SERVICE PASTRIES AND YOUGERT. IF YOU DIABETIC OR SENSITIVE TO MILK THERE IS NOTHING TO EAT AND MUST GO TO THE RESTAURANT. AT THE TOWER THEY ONLY SERVE COFFEE OR HOT DRINKS, IN THE EVENING THEY ONLY SERVE WINE, NO SODA. IN PRIOR YEARS RETURN GUESTS WERE TREATED TO A MANAGERS COCKTAIL PARTY, IT NO LONGER EXISTS. THERE ARE OTHER ITEMS THAT HAS BEEN REMOVED THAT MADE PRIOR STAYS MORE ENJOYABLE. IN PRIOR YEARS, THE DAY AFTER THANKSGIVING THE CHRISTMAS TREE IN THE MAIN ENTRY WAS PUT UP AND DECORATED. THIS YEAR THEY DECORATED THE TOWER FIRST AND ALL OTHER AREAS AND THE MAIN LOBBY TREE LAST. THE MOST IMPRESSIVE DECORATION WAS LEFT FOR LAST. THERE ARE OTHER THOUGHTS THAT HAVE ESCAPED MY MIND SINCE OUR RETURN.