Ratings based on 1,649 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, AU

Clean modern hotel in the heart of Waikiki

Posted Dec 27, 2017
Pros: Clean rooms, comfortable beds, good location and friendly staff.
Cons: Could include minibar amenities, suitcase stand, in-house room service & Netflix on the TV. More hot breakfast buffet options - i.e. hot eggs & bacon.
Location: Close to the beach, shopping district and main tourist areas of Waikiki
Stayed here for 4 nights as a solo traveller. The beds were amazingly comfortable and the room was very clean and modern (a little on the small side but acceptable - people with a lot of luggage may need to play a little tetris). Super light sleepers may find the window mounted A/C a little noisy (its not bad though - I slept great). Hotel is close walking distance to the beach, main street and shopping areas. Staff were friendly and available but not imposing. Buffet breakfast was included (and appreciated!). The hot towel and juice on arrival was a nice surprise! Overall happy with my stay and would stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2017 by Adam, Hotel Management
Hi Lee, We appreciate you taking time out of your schedule to leave us with your comments. Your kind words about the staff and property are appreciated. We know you have many choices when deciding where to stay in Waikiki, and we are very grateful that you gave us a chance. With gratitude, -Vive Hotel Management
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fairly good hotel close to beach and the bus

Posted Dec 13, 2017
Pleasantly received by a young attendant at the reception late at night. Efficient check in and was given information about the facility and amenities sufficient to my needs without further enquirers. Although I was unable to extend my check out time to allow me to participate in post Honolulu Marathon activities they stored the luggage until well after the checkout time. All in all it is a good facility and I will not mind staying here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 14, 2017 by Adam, Hotel Management
Greetings, Thank you for your Expedia review. Your kind words about our staff and check-in process are truly appreciated. We hope for the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Vive Hotel Waikiki again someday. Best Regards, -Vive Hotel Management
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Long Island, NY

Be prepared for a typical boutique hotel.

Posted Dec 12, 2017
Pros: Very nice staff and lobby. Room was clean and bed was comfortable. Free WiFi, breakfast and no resort fees.OK for a one night stay but no longer.
Cons: Room was very small and cramped for 2 people and multiple suitcases. No area for shuttle pickup. Had to bring all the luggage across the street.
Location: close to restaurants and shops. 3 blocks from beach.
Check in was quick, efficient and pleasant. Booked two rooms for 4 people for one night before flying back to the mainland. Was told we were upgraded to an oceanview but there really wasn't a view due to the location of the hotel and surrounding buildings. Check out was also easy and they held our bags til our shuttle arrived hours later. The only reason I wouldn't recommend this place for an extended stay was the lack of fitness room, pool and size of the rooms. Even the elevators are small and couldn't accommodate all of us with luggage.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 14, 2017 by Adam, Hotel Management
Hi MommaG, We'd like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us at Vive Hotel Waikiki. We are saddened to learn that your stay with us was less than exceptional. We appreciate your comments as it allows us to review and make improvements for the future. We hope that you were able to enjoy some other aspects of your stay with us while you were here. Sincerely, -Vive Hotel Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Decent hotel, friendly staff, close to beach

Posted Dec 10, 2017
Pros: Close to beach, friendly staff, beach gear
Cons: Smell of smoke in the room. Small room. Blocked view of the ocean. Breakfast could be better.
Location: It's in a very good location close to the beach and international market and stores.
It's a decent hotel and very close to the beach. They also give beach gear which is quite helpful. The rooms are pretty small and most of the "ocean view" is blocked by a tall apartment building. By far the biggest issue was the smell of smoke in our room at night. The staff was nice enough to offer us to change the room. They also sent out a letter to remind the guests not to smoke. But the smell didn't go away. So we couldn't realize if someone was smoking in a room or the smoke was from an equipment in the building. Breakfast is minimal but good. They need to refill things faster when it's busy and add more diversity to what they serve.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2017 by Adam, Hotel Management
Hi Amir, It was a pleasure to read the review of your stay with us. Your compliments about our location, staff, and complimentary amenities are truly appreciated. However, we are saddened to hear about the unwanted smell of smoke during your stay. We always to do routine walkthroughs of the building and may have just missed the culprit in action. There shouldn't have been any smoking on our property, and we apologize if we failed to prevent this from happening. Despite this setback, I hope you were able to enjoy the other aspects of your stay with us. Sincerely, -Vive Hotel Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Great location

Posted Dec 10, 2017
Pros: Bathroom in the junior suite offer a huge shower room
Cons: Breakfast item choices at the buffet
Location: Close to beach and restaurants
Standard room is very small so we ungraded to a junior suite, Breakfast Spread as most people comment on is ok . Variety is slim. It's a continental breakfast . No entrees but it's free. Get there by 7:30am. That's when it gets packed with people It's a boutique hotel experience . good for budget minded
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2017 by Adam, Hotel Management
Hi beach dude, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate you highlighting the enormous bathroom in our Junior Suites and that you found great value with staying with us. We hope for the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future. Best, -Vive Hotel Management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great location, staff, and breakfast

Posted Dec 8, 2017
This was my first stay at Vive. Staff was very friendly and helpful. They have beach towels and small chairs available for guests. Very tasty breakfast buffet with fresh fruit and pastries. Hotel is only two blocks from Kuhio Beach and my room had a decent partial ocean view. The room was small but well-designed for optimal use of the space
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 9, 2017 by Adam, Hotel Management
Hi Ben, Thank you so much for your very nice review! I am thrilled to hear what a fantastic time you had due to our location, staff, well-designed rooms, and many complimentary amenities. From all of us at the Vive Hotel Waikiki, it was a pleasure being of service to you and we wish you safe travels! Best, -Vive Hotel Management
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with nice staff close to the beach

Posted Dec 1, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, close to beach and no resort fees
Cons: Cant make the rooms bigger so nothing really
Location: Beach, shopping, restaurants Its in waikiki the tourist mecca of Hawaii
Nice hotel with nice staff close to the beach. Those are the positives. Room is very very small as well as the bathroom. Continental breakfast was kinda disappointing. Old hotel that has been renovated to look modern and hip but I feel like it doesn't quite hit the right notes.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2017 by Adam, Hotel Management
Greetings, Thank you for your Expedia review. We appreciate the lovely comments about our staff and location, and for pointing out that we don't charge any resort fees. We look forward to a return stay should you come back to Waikiki. Best, -Vive Hotel Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Affordable hotel in great location

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Booked a Cosmopolitan Queen room at a very affordable price compared to other hotels in Waikiki. No resort fee. Only additional fee was $25 per day for parking but the valet service was great. The room is noticeably small (we struggled a little with our big suitcase and all our shopping) but the shared guest area lounge with free coffee and tea was a great place to relax! The best thing about this place is location - 5 mins or less walk to Waikiki Beach and the Duke statue then easily walkable along the main road to all the shops etc. Staff were helpful and polite and the place feels quite modern and clean. I would stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2017 by Adam, Hotel Management
Hi Fiona, Many thanks for your kind words and great review. We are glad to find that you enjoyed our location, guest services, and living room with unlimited coffee throughout the day. We are also happy to know that you found value in staying with us which was the result of no resort fees! Thank you for your review and your valued business, we hope to see you soon. Best, -Vive Hotel Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

not recommended for a good night's sleep

Posted Nov 26, 2017
Pros: Hotel position is good. Recent renovations and decor. Had a nice 'vibe' in the common areas. Staff were great.
Cons: Need to improve the delivery of fresh air into the rooms
Location: Good position in the middle of Waikiki and only a couple of blocks back from the main part of the beach. Lots of things to do in Waikiki.
The hotel is in a fairly good position in Waikiki as you can walk to most things. It has been recently upgraded. The rooms are very small, clean and with new tiny bathrooms, furnishings etc. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. We were only staying overnight and it was disappointing that the rooms were very stuffy, even though it was cool outside which prevented us from sleeping well. The air conditioner was noisy. We spent most of our time downstairs and out of the hotel. I scored the room as uncomfortable due to the stuffiness, the small double bed was fairly comfortable but this did not compensate for lack of air.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2017 by Adam, Hotel Management
Hi Liz, Thank you for taking the time out of your day to write a review. We appreciate the comments about our location, staff, and cleanliness. However, I am very sorry to hear that you were bothered by noise during your stay. Our windows do open to provide you with fresh air if needed. I hope that you will give us another chance to provide you with a better experience in the future. Best Regards, -Vive Hotel Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

Nice clean hotel close to beach

Posted Nov 24, 2017
2 minute walk to beach. Room was clean. Comfortable beds. Breakfast included (fruit and pastries). Staff were always helpful. Use of beach towels and mats. Coffee, tea, filtered water available in lobby 24/7. Courtesy room available to shower in if you are leaving for the airport in the evening. Would definitely stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2017 by Adam, Hotel Management
Hi Ivy, We'd like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us at Vive Hotel Waikiki. We are glad to see that you make the most of our complimentary amenities. We hope for the opportunity to welcome you back one day. Until next time, a hui hou! Mahalo, -Vive Hotel Management