Ratings based on 5,810 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Middleboro, Massachusetts

Hotel in Paradise

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Hotel was clean and comfortable. Many excellent places to eat and the beach right across the street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

Close to the beach

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Staff is great, place is older but close to the beach, so that’s good. They charge $35 extra per night + $40 per night for parking. So expect to add $75 per night to your budget.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbia, MD

Great Location, Exceptional Staff

Posted Nov 19, 2017
My husband and I stayed here for a week to celebrate our 10th anniversary- it was our first time in Hawaii. This hotel is located directly across the street from Waikiki Beach. We were upgraded to a premium Ocean View Room which was perfect. The view from our balcony was gorgeous with 1/2 ocean, 1/2 city/mountains and even a view of Diamond Head. The room itself was clean, comfortable and large, although a tad tired. The rooms could use some updating overall as the carpet could be strretchd or replaced, the bathtub and tile reglazed, the bathroom door had some chips and nicks in the wood and paint. But these are minor issues that we noticed, but could overlook due to the overwhelming number of positives. The biggest plus about the Marriott Waikiki Resort and Spa was the staff. Every single person we encountered was friendly, helpful and seemed genuinely happy to help and provide great service. The best of them all was Ron, the Concierge. Absolutely amazing!! He helped us book everything we wanted to do while keeping costs in mind. Plus he was fun, funny and personable to talk to. We even walked by his desk a couple days after booking and he greeted us by name- even though I’m sure he worked with tons of people after us. Exceptional vacation! Probably the best vacation we’ve even had
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Beautiful

Posted Nov 19, 2017
This hotel is amazing. Hotel staff is very helpful and the hotel itself is just beautiful. When I chose to extend my stay, the rate at the front desk was substantially cheaper than Expedia.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mesquite, TX

Love my view

Posted Nov 16, 2017
This hotel made my trip. Beautiful lobby, soft sheets. Friendly staff. 5 minute check-in. Painless check out. Hospitality suite accommodation was great. Love my room view and hotel accomodations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beaumont, TX

Perfect for our last minute Honeymoon plans!

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Pros: The bed was comfortable. The room was clean. The restaurant, Kuhio Grill, had the best buffet in Waikiki! The location of the hotel was perfect!
Cons: The parking fee was pricey! If guests are already paying a daily resort fee, the parking fee should definitely be discounted substantially.
Location: The location of the hotel was very close to everything that Waikiki has to offer. The zoo is close by, beach across the street, and shops blocks away.
We're from Southeast Texas and our plans for our wedding was affected by Hurricane Harvey. Our honeymoon plans were suppose to be in the Virgin Islands, but that got affected by Hurricane Irma. Fortunately, we were able to book last minute to Honolulu and stay at this wonderful Marriott Hotel! Needless to say, we had an incredible time in Hawaii and had a good night's rest every day. The staff was great! From the front desk, bell desk, the concierge, the housekeeping, and the restaurant staff were all terrific! Thank you for an enjoyable Honeymoon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ocean View vs. Full Ocean View

Posted Nov 8, 2017
Pros: The pool area, pool area bar and pool area restaurant was nice but hard to find a table as sunset neared. The lesson, I guess, is get there early.
We booked a "Deluxe Ocean View" room through Expedia which was the highest priced class of room available. Upon check-in we were told that our room had a "partial" ocean view in the Paoakalani tower, on the back side of the resort away from beach. In order to get "full" ocean view room we needed to upgrade to the other tower, the Kealohilani tower at $25 more per night. We paid it up front for the whole stay but felt tricked. Still it was our choice I suppose. When we got to our room we looked out the sliding door and saw a building. Huh? Yes, the room faced north. If you wanted a view of the ocean you had to stand on the balcony and look west. So much for the full ocean view room. Neither tower is on the beach. The resort is separated from the beach by the busy boulevard. The street is buzzing with cars, trucks, buses, motorcycles, etc. all day and night. Seemed pretty typical throughout Waikiki. Do not go to Waikiki if you want a quiet beach setting. On different note, the Kealohilani tower had low flow toilets. Good for them. But all day and night we heard the "boom-woosh" of these toilets. No kidding. From above, from below, from either side, they can be heard. I was not shocked but I was surprised. It got to be funny at some point.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not worth the money

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Much nicer hotels to choose from for a little bit more money Outdated decor Horrible service - Only the reception staff were the exception and were good at their job. All others were arrogant. No ambience compared to other hotels around the area
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 5, 2017
Excellent location, hotel older but awesome staff...fun all the way around
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from las vegas

Posted Oct 29, 2017
This hotel had everything we needed when I do come back I will stay here again