Ratings based on 234 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Bathroom like an apt in a rundown building,

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Pros: Location
I paid for a renovated room but the bathroom was not renovated at all. It was like a bathroom from 1950's apt. Water liked from the room next to us . Concierge had to come in, etc. Disappointed, The upper floors where I stayed where in renovations. All dusty and noisy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2017 by Kainua Hopkins: Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha Valery, Thank you for choosing the Waikiki Gateway Hotel. I truly apologize that you did not enjoy your experience at our hotel. I am sorry that you did not receive a room that had a renovated bathroom. We are working hard to improve our hotel and feedback like yours is extremely valuable. While we have done many bathrooms, the project is not quite complete. Renovations on our bathrooms will be completed by Spring 2018 which is very exciting. Mahalo for taking the time to share your experience. We hope that we will see you again in the future. Love & Aloha, Kai
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gold Coast Australia

Everything we need

Posted Nov 12, 2017
The Waikik Gateway Hotel is close to everything. Transport at the door to anywhere you want to go. The staff are always pleasant and informative. The only place I stay in Waikiki.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Good value

Posted Nov 8, 2017
Good value with short walk to beach, close to shops and on route for bus pick up which was great : )
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Honolulu Waikiki

Convenient location

Posted Oct 30, 2017
We spent 11 days at the hotel and our sheets were never changed despite leaving a tip for the cleaners!!! We had to ask for clean towels! The facilities were very dated and uninviting! The only positive was the location!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bay Area

The best, most helpful staff!

Posted Oct 26, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, modern updates
Location: It's a quiet end of waikiki- worth it to me to be away from the maddening crowds
From the check in, to the breakfast staff and maintenance guys-even the phone reservationist, they are so cheerful and helpful, often waving or greeting when walking in the hotel from the day. The design of the hotel has been updated and pleasing to the eye. You cannot beat the value for what you are getting here and I love how quiet this section of Waikiki is. They had umbrellas to borrow when it rained as well. Yes it's $20 extra per room for resort fee, but that includes wifi and a huge breakfast for everyone in your room (including hot items, that rotate every day). We really enjoy this hotel and the updates and customer service is what really makes it!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2017 by Kai - Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha ajc, Mahalo for sharing your great experience. Our friendly staff and fantastic location are just 2 things that make the Waikiki Gateway the place to stay in Waikiki. We have completed many upgrades in our hotel including American walnut hardwood flooring, designer Embassy brand carpets, premium Fujitsu split A/C systems, 48 inch LED televisions, and Speakman Anystream shower heads just to name a few. Our amenity fee of $20 per night is among the lowest in Waikiki and includes super fast Wifi, incredible breakfast discounts, access to our new Fitness Centre, beach towels, beach chairs, bicycles, in-room safe and much, much more. We pride ourselves on our customer service and are dedicated to lining aloha everyday while sharing our unique brand of Love & Aloha. Thank you very much; we hope to see you again. L'Aloha!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bermuda

No Compliants

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Pros: I had an excellent stay even though it was short. The room was very comfortable and it was clean. The bed was very comfortable and the view was good
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Beach is nearby and there are many tourist attractions in the area or are accessible by bus. Hotel can advise you about activities.
I had an excellent stay at the hotel. Check-in and check-out were very good. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The hotel gave me an upgrade, which was a surprise but one that was well worth it. The view during the day and night was great! The location was good as well and the bus collects you from this hotel, if you want to get a Luau show in while there. It is within walking distance of the beach the convention center and downtown areas, etc. The hotel also has parking, which is around the cost of most hotels in the area. Speak with either Leah or Pearl who were most helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2017 by Kai - Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
L'Aloha April, Mahalo for recognizing Pearl & Leah, 2 outstanding members of our world class team. Our dedication to sharing Love & Aloha along with our unbeatable location are just 2 of the reasons that the Waikiki Gateway is the place to stay in Waikiki. Add in our spacious rooms, comfortable beds, and fantastic breakfast buffet and you can see why our goal is to Live Aloha everyday in order to create wonderful memories. Thank you for choosing the Waikiki Gateway; I hope that we get to see you again. L'Aloha!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Woy Woy, NSW, Australia

Nice hotel close to everything

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Had a small hiccup when given room. Thought the duty manager would know his place. Eventually sorted out and got the room I paid for. Quite spacious and great bed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Close to town and beach

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Generally the staff, especially cleaners and most reception staff were friendly and used Hawaiian greetings and thanks. That was great. Disappointing to hear English only when checking out. Location for us was great. Very tired hotel. Clean but needing a serious up date. Not just an average paint job. The skirting boards should meet the ground and the old furniture in reception and rooms need updating. Great view from room and two balconies both excellent. Curtains beautiful. Bathroom fine. No iron limited clothing options. Coffee machine fancy but produces unnecessary waste, sustainability should matter. This hotel could be a real gem with a little updating. Price was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney

close to transport, walk to the beach

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: friendly staff, nice breakfast,
Cons: room service should provide new coffee or tea tub everyday if charge $20.00 everyday for facility fee
nice hotel, close to transport , walk to beach, reasonable price
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Comfortable room - budget price

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: Handy location, friendly, helpful staff.
Location: Bus stop at the door for transport to Ala Moana and other shopping districts.
We only stayed one night but were pleased with the room, despite being very basic. Beds were very comfortable. Some traffic noise due to the busy location. Our housekeeper, Mihra, was super friendly and helpful.