Ratings based on 2,087 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

3 Minutes walk to Waikiki Beach

Posted Jan 22, 2018
Pros: Near Everything
Cons: Better menu choices for breakfast buffet.
Location: Invest in a 7-day pass for the trolley and tours. The cost was less than $70.00 for unlimited use. From there you can go to the marketplace, etc.
For a three star hotel, it was great! I would recommend for someone who will be out all day touring the island. The only thing I did not like was the hardwood floors in my room. An added bonus was the bidet in the bathroom. It was nice to sit on a heated toilet every morning. This hotel is located in the heart of Waikiki, next to public transportation and I had a chance to walk to the local coffee shop every morning and have breakfast. However, a majority of their guest are Japanese and many pamphlets and notices cater to that culture. If your gonna go on tours please do your research somethings were way too expensive. What I paid for I could have done myself and saved some money. In particular the Lua, and Polynesian Cultural Center. If possible rent a car or take public transportation. It was too overpriced. I had a great time all in all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Good hotel close to beach and bus services.

Posted Jan 21, 2018
Helpful staff and close to everything you need in waikiki
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location Location

Posted Jan 20, 2018
Pros: the location
Cons: cleaner window drapery
Location: It's close to Waikiki Beach , Diamond Head, Ala Wai Canal shopping and surfing, golf, bike trail
This hotel is conveniently located to everything (beaches, restaurants, shopping, bike trail, etc.). My room was clean and it was over looking the gorgeous Koolau Mountains and the Waikiki skyline. The customer service was exceptional, and the people are friendly. The thing I liked most about the bathroom was the heated toilet seat. The onsite restaurant leaves a lot to be desired (from a food flavor perspective). Overall, I enjoyed my stay at Sand Villa.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great canal view

Posted Jan 18, 2018
Pros: location
staff is very friendly and helpful. Great restaurant/pub in lobby
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from japan

いろいろ気になった

Posted Jan 17, 2018
Pros: 日本語で気軽に話せる。ウォシュレットがついている。
Cons: 全体的に建物が古すぎる。
Location: ロケーションは非常によかった。
隣室(上階)の音が響いたり、シャワーの水圧が弱かったり、ベッドの照明器具が壊れたり、サッシの鍵が壊れたりしていた。
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hawaii

Posted Jan 14, 2018
Not too far from the Waikiki strip, rooms are great, hotel looks abit ghetto.. staff friendliness could be better
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aurora, Ontario

Good location, friendly helpful staff

Posted Jan 12, 2018
We were very happy with the hotel and staff. I found the cost of parking very expensive. The location is very close to the main area and the beaches. I would stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Not a Great Hotel

Posted Jan 8, 2018
Pros: Close to the beach and shopping areas
Cons: Everything. The hotel is badly in need of an update.
Location: Close to Wakiki Beach and International Market
We arrived very early and our room wasn't ready; understood that. They offered us use of the hospitality room. It was barely adequate. It was on the floor that the housekeeping and maintenance staff and supplies were on. It was an awful first impression. A couple of wicker couches which weren't very comfortable to lie on. We had an overnight flight in, so we really could have used a place to sleep for a couple of hours. The breakfast buffet was mediocre at best and cold. One day during our 3 day stay, the room wasn't cleaned at all. For the price we paid, the only thing going for it was the location; a short walk to Wakiki Beach. Wouldn't recommend this hotel at all
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

A Good Place to Sleep

Posted Jan 6, 2018
When i go on a trip to a place like Hawaii, all I want is a comfortable, clean place to sleep and shower. Otherwise, I want to be out and about. I don't plan to hang around a hotel. Waikiki Sands met those expectations. When I had questions or needed something, the COURTEOUS staff were helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Nice hotel, with great restaurant, bar, and pool.

Posted Jan 5, 2018
Pros: The location, the restaurant/bar, and the staff.
This place is a gem. The downstairs is filled with an open air restaurant and bar area, which is a very pleasant place to hang out. The pool area is also very comfortable. It's close to the Waikiki beaches, but a little off the beaten path, and therefore not so crowded. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful.