Ratings based on 1,278 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Beach front resort, beautiful landscaping

Posted Dec 14, 2017
This is was my third visit to Maui, my first stay with the Grand Wailea Waldorf Astoria Resort. This property is first class, beautiful ground, retail stores, restaurants, clean beach front, large well kept property with nine swimming pools and access to other amenities in the area, shopping mall, golf course, tennis club, local metro transit, very exclusive area, the staff is very nice, friendly and helpful.. The room was very spacious nicely decorated , bathrooms are large with full vanity, separate shower and tubs, .balcony had garden view and also provide a ocean view as well. Completely satisfied with my accommodations and the services my wife and I received during our visit.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington State

Nice but aging and expensive

Posted Dec 3, 2017
The hotel is grand in appearance but both the interior and exterior are beginning to show their age. The hotel staff is kind and helpful. The parking situation was incredibly frustrating. There is no self park option and valet is $30 per day (plus tip every time you get it out). Considering the airport is 30 minutes away and a lot of the stuff you might want to do is not within walking distance I found this a bit ridiculous. $300 for the week to park / retrieve my car. I’ve never experienced anything like that at any other hotel I’ve ever stayed at. The food is good but overpriced at every eatery but the little cafe. Our first meal there (dinner) for my family of three with basic entree selections, two drinks, one appetizer and one dessert was $200 with tip. Needless to say we ate offsite (more reasons to have to retrieve the car) a lot!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Resort

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Pros: Location and amenities
Cons: Hotel staff could be more pleasant.
Location: Great location, restaurants and shopping!!
Our time was amazing, we found so much for the family to do. Food was delish and drinks were great. Cant ask for a better resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 24, 2017
Nice and clean room, very quiet location near the beach
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Wonderful very attentive staff a little over priced but that’s Maui
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria, BC

Beautiful Hotel in Wailea

Posted Nov 11, 2017
Pros: This is truly a 5/5 star hotel, and we will return to this destination if at all possible.
Cons: Cannot improve on perfection.
Location: Very convenient location, one of the nicest beaches on Maui, with great snorkeling (south end of the beach). Easy 5 min walk to Wailea Mall and ABC.
An outstanding hotel, on the water front, with beautiful grounds, great beach, excellent facilities, fun pools, and friendly staff. Front desk, pool, restaurant, beach, and housekeeping staff all very friendly and receptive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Trip to Maui Hawaii

Posted Nov 5, 2017
The experience was amazing! Hawaii is beautiful. Grand Waliei is a magnificent resort. I would recommend renting a car if you stay as the resort has no shuttle. They have one driver but he is never available and only takes you places around the resort or to the airport. The resort itself is great, nice pools, beach and a definite place to relax.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

Wow!!! Excellent!

Posted Nov 5, 2017
Pros: Loacation on the island. Loacated near the souther part of Maui with great beaches. The gym is very nice equipped wIth cardio machines & free weights.
Location: Four Season restaurants, Gannon’s restaurant, shopping mall within 5min.
My wife & I decided on this hotel for our honeymoon in Maui. This hotel is expensive but worth the money if you can afford it. They know how to go above & beyond to make your stay accommodating. First it is a great location. The weather on this part of the island in usually better than on the west side. We had great weather all 5 days of our stay. The hotel is very impressive itself! Each morning you can eat a delicious breakfast on the open air patio that over looks the pools & ocean. They also have several restaurants located on site & several more at the Four Season Hotel next door. (3 minute walk) Two beautiful golf courses are right across the street. Beach access with towels, chairs & umbrellas are included in you daily resort fee of $30. (Totally worth it). If you have kids they will enjoy the pools, lazy river, & water slides. Off site shopping is less than 5 minutes away. Overall, we were very pleased with the hotel & staff!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 1, 2017
Very well kept beaituful hotel at a great location. Very accomadating and helpful staff. We had the best time!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Adequate

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Pros: Location, grand entry, bistro/brunch (even though overpriced), swimming pools for kids
Cons: Better daily room cleaning service (simple expectation of replenishing coffee/sugar, bath robes), safer valets, room updates (doors get stuck...)
Location: Shops at Wailea, with some eating options. Aquarium, Mama's fish house, Front Street,
Grand Wailea is average. It does not fit with the tradition of higher service at other Waldorf Astoria hotels I have visited. The entry way and the gardens are grand. The restaurants are nice but unnecessarily over priced. When drinks are more expensive that Savoy or Ritz of London, there is reason for concern. The rooms, are certainly not worthy of a Waldorf Astoria. The quality of rooms and furnishings is comparable to a Best Western or a three star hotel. As another guest mentioned, there was failure of simple daily services such as replenishing the sugar, or the bath robe despite specifically asking for them. The in-room coffee was so bad, that I had to buy my own coffee pods (something I have never done at any hotel, and something once certainly does not expect at a Waldorf Astoria). The staff was generally adequately polite. One evening as I was walking with my 7 and 5 year old passed the parking garage and across a clearly marked pedestrian area, one of valets sped towards us and despite making eye contact with me, drove passed us, as I had to pull my kids back. I am filing an independent complaint with the hotel regarding this, as my kids were placed at risk of serious injury. Again, this is something I have never had happen at any hotel. Not that it would make any difference, but once we arrived at the hotel entrance, this was the only car that was waiting. In summary, I would say that this hotel, in terms of its service and amenities is equivalent to a 3-3.5 sta