Ratings based on 1,498 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet, secluded, right on the beach

Posted Jun 13, 2016
We enjoyed our stay at Makena Beach and Resort. The staff were nice, helpful and they seem to enjoy what they were doing. We enjoyed the free cabanas, free parking and the other amenities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MS

Serene location for a wonderful stay

Posted Jun 12, 2016
Enjoyed my stay! If you like peace and quiet, this is the place for you. The staff was excellent and the views breathless.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Im so sad this hotel will close in a few weeks

Posted Jun 7, 2016
I have stayed at the Makena hotel many times. I was sad to learn upon arriving last week that it will be closing for good July 1 and is being turned into Condos. I wish I could afford to buy one. Until then, I guess I will try the Makena Surf next door. The staff are the best! Im so glad I was able to stay there one last time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

Beautiful

Posted Jun 5, 2016
The resort was comfortable, beautiful and affordable. The staff was beyond friendly and considerate. Location was great! Sad to see this place go but fortunate to have been a part of it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from J

Nice hotel with beautiful views

Posted Jun 4, 2016
I had a very enjoyable stay. Cleaning services came by everyday to change the trash and clean up the room, the staff was very friendly, the surroundings were beautiful. The only downfall to my stay was that everything was so expensive I wasn't really able to enjoy my stay to the fullest extent. Most of the activities the staff recommended to us was $150+ per person. The food was very expensive too..luckily we stopped at a grocery store before hand and stocked up on food. The fridge that was in the room was okay but some of my good got warm while inside..besides that the hotel was nice. The views were beautiful and the staff was extremely friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

you can snorkel right in front of the hotel

Posted May 31, 2016
Pros: large comfortable room
Location: very secluded. stay here is you want peace and quiet.
best decision i have made when we vaca in maui. Their rooms are the same size as four seasons and grand waliea, but 1/3 of the cost. there are no bad rooms. all rooms with ocean view. Too bad the hotel is closing in June 2016. I would have vaca there every year.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 29, 2016
It basically shut down by 10 pm. We got in a bit late and all that was left was 1 desk clerk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin

Excellent hotel

Posted May 29, 2016
The beach area is awesome for swimming, snorkeling and turtle spotting. The staff is awesome, very helpful and friendly. Overall, I will definitely come here again when I come back to Maui!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice staff right on beach great breakfast

Posted May 29, 2016
We swam and relaxed , beautiful friendly staff clean beach and quiet
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great experience, lived up to the hotel rating

Posted May 27, 2016
Pros: Staff was wonderful. Great location
Cons: Bathrooms were dated
Unfortunately the hotel is closing permanently on July 1, 2016 to be converted into condos. But we had a great time at Makena Beach, it was a great find.