Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

nice quiet location with a good swimming beach

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Location and comfort level of our room
Cons: Not much I can think of
Location: Location is nice. Quieter than Kaanapali. There are nearby restaurants and high end malls. The beach is really nice with good snorkeling
Snorkeling, turtles, relaxation and great views. Very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

How could you not love staying here.

Posted May 29, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Incredible location with a quiet setting.
If south Maui is your destination and your not looking for a high end resort hotel with all the crowds of people then this is the answer. Oceanfront view with a beach just steps away. Swim to a destination for snorkel tours and just take in all the beauty.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle, wa

good beach

Posted Apr 25, 2017
The location is great. The unit we stayed in was awful. It is in serious need of repair and updating. While the daily room service staff was very cheerful, the room was not cleaned very well. It should have been vacuumed and wiped down every day. We were in E105 and it is not even close to what we stayed in before. It smelled when we arrived, and there was still hair on the bathroom floor from the previous renter.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Des Moines, IA

Great location for a great vacation

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: One thing we really like about Makena Surf is the beautiful and well maintained landscaping of the complex. Great location near Wailea.
Cons: Unit could use a little more TLC.
Location: Great location, near Wailea, near golf, on beach, etc. etc.
This is our 5th time staying at Makena Surf and, like our previous visit, we were not disappointed. Our unit (302B) was clean and comfortable with a great view of the beach and ocean. Although the unit was clean and well maintain, you could tell it was getting a little worn around the edges (carpet needed to be replaced, unit could use a fresh coat of paint). Outside of this, I would have given an overall rating of 5. However, this was all pretty minor. We like the residential feel (i.e. ability to cook our own meals, sit on our private lanai and read, etc.).
5 out of 5
by Martine

peace and beauty at Makena Surf

Posted Mar 15, 2017 on Hotels
Check in process could be streamlined. You have to pick up the keys at a different location than the resort which is a bit of a hassle. Unit was fantastic with great view of the beach.The resort is very quiet and feels secluded. Overall a great experience
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, United States of America

We expected more.

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: Very quiet and great view of the ocean and neighboring islands
Cons: Million dollar oceanfront view. However, the furnitures and appliances need some updating. There is even rust inside of the refrig.
Location: Location is quiet. Golfing nearby. Restaurants 5-10 minute drive.
Just ok for the price. Very basic amenities. Furnitures are dated. Beds are too soft.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Simi Valley, CA

Vacation in Paradise

Posted Sep 15, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: All of the amenities including pool, tennis, beach and golf. The grounds are well kept
Cons: The unit's carpeting can be updated. Security can be improved. People not staying at the resort were using the showers and trespassing
Location: Everything including location the beach the snorkeling, swimming
We stayed at Makena Surf in unit 204A and the condo exceeded our expectations. The location was perfect the view was like a post card. The unit is fully equipped right down to the beach towels. We had a couple of minor issues when the with ac stopped working and the propane tank running empty however the maintenance staff quickly resolved the problems. The cleaning staff did a great job as well. I have stayed at the Ritz and the Fairmont in the past and prefer the Makena Surf hands down. I will be definitely be back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 29, 2016 by matt, Hotel Management
Aloha...We appreciate you posting your review and for sharing your feedback. I am so glad that you enjoyed residence 204A and your comments about the carpet have been passed on to the Property Manager. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit. Mahalo, Matt Smith
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We looked out onto the small beach

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Makena Surf is a great place to stay and relax. We looked out onto the small beach, and it was less than 5 minutes to walk to. It also had better snorkeling than my trip out to Molokini crater. We saw around 20+ sea turtles who swim right next to you and countless fish. Tip: Makena Surf is about 4 miles from the nearest grocery store ( gourmet market) and 9 miles to a Safeway. But each place has a nice kitchen so buy groceries and lessen your restaurant visit. Also get a rental car.
5 out of 5
by ALEXANDER

Posted Jul 15, 2016 on Hotels
Luxury condo in quiet development with stunning views and great spot for stargazing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vegas

Vacation

Posted May 22, 2016
very nice,was everything I hoped for.We had a great trip
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2016 by Matt, Hotel Management
Aloha...I am so glad to read that you enjoyed your recent visit to Makena Surf. Please come back and visit us again soon. Mahalo, Matt Smith