Ratings based on 2,418 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montana

Great location close to the beach

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Location is great. Very friendly and awesome staff. It is a very safe resort. They have security officers walking around the property 24 hours. Will definetely recommend this resort to all my friends
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern California

Beach Hotel

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Pros: It was located close to various stores, beach and activities. The bed was comfortable.
Cons: The hotel could use a refurbish but it isn’t bad.
Location: This hotel is close to shopping and activities.
Very nice. The hotel is dated but keep up. The beach is a narrow strip but close to others. The staff were excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Can't wait to return. Beautiful setting, on the ocean
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bozeman, MT

Posted Oct 13, 2017
The hotel is great. Awesome and helpful staff. Good location. Always clean inside and around the buildings. Would definetly stay there again and recommend it to my friends
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle area

in my opinion there is not a better place to stay.

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Pros: everything
Location: It is close to great places to eat, nightly entertainment, and shopping.
The islander on the beach is centrally located on the island and is close to everything. I stayed there 28 years ago and it is still the same place that I had visited before. They have a great staff and a security officer at the facility at all times. We had a very relaxed time there.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san jose calif

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Hot tub never worked the entire week! Not hot or working jets. Fridge outside was not clean. Coffee cups in cupboard not washed. Great to get coffee. No food services. Nice staff. For budget people
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2017 by Lori Morita, Hotel Management
Aloha Dennis, and thank you for sharing your review. We are happy to have provided you with a satisfactory vacation home, and are glad to hear that our staff took great care of you. However, we are disappointed to learn that there were other elements of your stay, such as cleanliness and amenity maintenance, that were less than satisfactory. Your feedback will help us to improve, and we hope to have the chance to better meet your needs in the future. Mahalo.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nebraska

Decent Hotel right on the beach

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Pros: Location was fantastic
Cons: Tile floors look dirty and out of date.
Location: Great location on the beach and in the middle of the island so going to activities and tours is easy. Good eating and drinking spots next door.
Small rooms could of had been a little cleaner. Good hot water and we didn't spend much time in the room anyway. Great location on the south shore for easy access to a lot of activities. Three good eating spots located close to the property. one on the property and the other two next door down the beach either side. Great coffee shop also. Staff was great and very helpful with activities.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2017 by Lori Morita, Hotel Management
Aloha Clint! We're pleased to know you enjoyed our ideal location here on the island of Kauai. It's great to hear that our staff was helpful and showed you some fun activities to do around the hotel. We're glad to know that you found some delicious restaurants right next door! Thank you for your feedback on the tile floors and room cleanliness—we'll be sure to share this information with our on-site and leadership team. Mahalo for your review and we hope you choose to vacation with us again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Easy access to beach clean. Friendly staff

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Only downside was hot tub wasn't working . Overall beautiful hotel friendly staff easy access to restaurants and hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2017 by Lori Morita, Hotel Management
Aloha, and thank you for your review. We are glad that our staff gave you a wonderful welcome, and that you enjoyed our ideal location and beautiful property. We also appreciate your valuable feedback, and hope to have another opportunity to better serve you in the future. Mahalo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago suburbs

Location, location, location.

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Pros: The location. On the beach means on the beach. It is also close to all of the other island attractions and shopping. Yet it still seems secluded.
Cons: If you life revolves around the bathroom, a bigger shower would be nice.
Location: The location is on the beach, next to restaurants and shopping, but secluded from them. It is centrally located to attractions throughout the island.
We had a really great experience at the Aston.While not luxurious, the room was clean and comfortable. In reality nobody would travel to Kauai to stay in the room. The pool was comfortable and perhaps a minute walk from our "garden" room, as was the beach. Even from a "garden room, we could see the ocean from our ground floor patio. Our beach was user friendly for both swimming and lounging. Much better than the "beach" and pool at the high end "resort" our friends stayed at. No golf cart rides almost to the beach for us, just a less than one minute walk. Our location was close to great shopping and a variety of activities, and 15 minutes from the airport. Having traveled throughout the island during our visit, I felt we had the best.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2017 by Lori Morita, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, Chuck! We are so happy to hear you had a wonderful stay and that you enjoyed our beach front property as well as our comfortable accommodations and ideal location. Your positive feedback is greatly appreciated. It was a pleasure having you with us, and we look forward to your return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, AL

Amazing hotel with amazing location

Posted Sep 21, 2017
This hotel, like all other hotels, is not perfect but it was the best for value. The staff, lobby and amenities are amazing. The room was clean, spacious, quiet with a spectacular view. The main advantage of this hotel is the location. The best restaurants on the island are within 5-10 minutes radius and all the main attractions are as well. Highly recommend this establishment. Thank you
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2017 by Lori Morita, Hotel Management
Mahalo for your review! It delights us to learn you enjoyed our convenient location, friendly service, and spacious rooms. We appreciate that you would recommend us to others, and hope we get another opportunity to welcome you back again! Aloha.