Ratings based on 2,400 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, AL

Amazing hotel with amazing location

Posted Sep 21, 2017
This hotel, like all other hotels, is not perfect but it was the best for value. The staff, lobby and amenities are amazing. The room was clean, spacious, quiet with a spectacular view. The main advantage of this hotel is the location. The best restaurants on the island are within 5-10 minutes radius and all the main attractions are as well. Highly recommend this establishment. Thank you
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lexington, ky

Posted Sep 19, 2017
The hotel is close to many activities with a car. It is very clean and the staff were super nice and accommodating. It does not have a gym which was disappointing. The beach area is small and the water is rough but very close to many other beaches. They provide free coffee tickets daily to a nearby shop which was great. All shuttles are on time and reliable. The views from the 3rd floor is the best as you can see over the landscape but is cumbersome with luggage. We had an ocean front room on 3rd floor and I highly recommend it! We will definitely go back !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Nice place on the east side of the Island

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: It was central to where we wanted to visit.
Location: A small shopping center that includes an ABC store. A Mcdonalds,Burger King as well as a few local places to eat were nearby
We enjoyed our stay and would stay at this place again. The room was cleaned daily and my children enjoyed the DVD/Game kiosk as well as the pool. My wife was able to capture some great photos of the beach that was easily accessible from our room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017 by Reservation Dept, Hotel Management
Aloha, We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and looking forward in seeing you again in the future. Have a great day!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from utah

Nice hotel, few amenities.

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Overall we had a great experience in a wonderful part of the island. Room was always very clean although it could have used a dehumidifier in the room, the sheets were always a bit damp.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee

Nice hotel, great location

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Location: Eat at Sam's!
This hotel is nice, but not spectacular. The towels dry you off, but they aren't super soft (and they only gave us 2). The bed is okay, but my sister's back hurt each morning (I was fine). The shower was good, but not the kind you'd linger in. We just wanted somewhere to lay our heads and it was perfect, but if I were on my honeymoon or something I would opt for a bit more luxury somewhere else. The other negative was the $20 amenities fee, which is simply a way for them to charge you more on the back end than you agreed to pay when you made the reservation. It's a small amount, but is clearly a way for them to scam a bit more cash out of you (if it's obligatory and not a tax, why not just make it part of the room cost?). That being said, the hotel staff let us check in at 9:30 AM, about 5.5 hours early, and gave us an extra hour to check out as well. They were very accommodating. The concierge was also very nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Nice ,but was charged $20.00 hotel fee ,after it was waived upon booking online ! I'm kamiana,& was charged the going rate At hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017 by Lori Morita, Hotel Management
Mahalo for your review. We are disappointed to hear that your experience was not as satisfactory as you would have hoped, and apologize for any inconvenience. Our kamaaina guests are close to our hearts, and we hope to have another opportunity to better meet your staycation needs in the future. Aloha.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ridgefield wa

Unexpected room

Posted Sep 4, 2017
I got to the hotel too early so my friend and I sat at the pool which has a full service bar. Great atmosphere and staff. When the room was ready we were ocean front on the main level. It was unexpected and just made my friends stay better. Thanks!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2017 by Lori Morita, Hotel Management
Mahalo for your 5-star review, K! We are thrilled to hear you kicked off your vacation right and took full advantage of our pool and bar upon arrival, and that our staff and accommodations helped you to feel at home while you were with us. It would be fantastic to welcome you again! Aloha and a hui hou.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Great location

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Great location in the middle of most attractions. Good pool area and bar. We had an ocean front room. Great to hear the ocean at night. Good upgraded parking lot.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Mahalo for your review Peta! Glad you enjoyed your stay with us at The Aston Islander on the Beach! We are very excited about our upgraded parking lot being completed, thank you for mentioning. Come back and see us soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Encino Ca

Ocean Front Sweetness

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: The Location, the staff, the grounds and its surrounding beauty! Beach front
Cons: Nothing. The few would be cosmetic due to weather. Maybe a lighter exterior paint color but whatever is the trend.
Location: It's central. ABC store is just behind the hotel, LMUA coffee and eateries. Need more, there are markets just up the street. Beaches all over
Loved our stay at Aston Islander! We were close to town, places to eat and shop. Being on the east end of the island was great, it had us visiting both the north and south end rather than just hanging out on one end of Kauai. Our room was quaint and comfy and clean, loved that we booked ocean front! The ocean view was beautiful and the sound of the surf was absolutely wonderful! It's breezy on this end of the coast, loved it! Those that appreciated the early morning sunrise were out there before 6am to watch it from beginning to end! (that was me) What we didn't get in sunsets, the sunrises made up for it! The staff were truly friendly. If you needed something, they would work it. Though there is no restaurant on the premises, there are restaurants in the vicinity. We ate at the Sleeping Giant Grill-, Bobby V's -Italian-yummines Should I come back again, we will stay at Aston again. I'm already missing the early morning Sunrises, the sound of the surf and just being there! Thank you Lord for the opportunity to come back again...until me meet again Kauai-Aloha and Mahalo!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Mahalo for staying with us at The Aston Islander on the Beach and for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us! A hui hou.... until we meet again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorba Linda, California

great hotel right on the ocean

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Location: Next to shops, food and fun! Just down the street from downtown Kapaa
Great location, next to shops and beach front restaurants with bar and fun day lounge. Also has a great place within walking distance to listen to live music and great happy hours! Staff was very friendly. We only stayed the first night there, then into our time share. In the future, we will stay here instead of renting a time share!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Mahalo for staying with us at The Aston Islander on the Beach. Come back again!