Ratings based on 126 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CALIFORNIA

Great private location that is on the beach.

Posted Sep 13, 2017
We loved our stay here and would definitely stay here again. The unit we stayed in was 10 steps from the water, absolutely lovely.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great hotel for the price

Posted Aug 24, 2017
We were pretty happy with our stay at Castle Kauai Kailani. The room was pretty spacious and very clean. Must have been renovated recently. Tile flooring throughout, updated and well equipped kitchen with 5 burner flat top stove, living area and two bedrooms. One bedroom was fully private and the second had sliding doors. There's no A.C. but ceiling fans and windows throughout which help. Check in is at the Mokihana two blocks down the road, which is unfortunate but if you know ahead of time it's not a big deal. No hotel amenities because it's more like staying in a condo unit. The complex does have two small pools but that's it. For the price, the quality and size of the room (plus full kitchen) was great. And we spent most of our days exploring the island so it worked out well.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too hot and noisy

Posted Aug 23, 2017
I really don't like writing a negative review but I truly don't have a choice. First the positives. The resort was very affordable and had a great oceanfront location. The room itself was roomy for a 1 bedroom. It was clean and the bed was comfortable. The difficult things were the location of the room itself. We were right next to the main road and it was too noisy to sleep. The biggest issue was the lack of air conditioning. It was really hot and the way the windows were positioned we didn't get any airflow through the unit. Sorry to write a bummer of a review. Mahalo.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Close to the beach and comfortable

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Pros: Location
Two buildings. One is close to the water and two is set back towards the street. You definitely want to stay in building one with an ocean view. The property is not an eye soar but definitely not inviting from the street. Rooms are clean and the property is maintained well. Some units are owned while others are operated by the company. We stayed for 9 days and never got new towels. Not to big of a deal when you have a washer/dryer but still. Central location and great if you have a family.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice condo, just hot

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Cons: If they would put air conditioners in the condo that would give it a 5 star
It was a very nice condo, the only real issue we had is that it was extremely hot. There are no air conditioners in the condo, so trying to relax and enjoy the condo was difficult because of the heat. Maybe in the future they should put in air conditioners especially with the heat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Vacationing

Posted Jul 9, 2017
It was really good here, the only weird thing is the front desk is a part of another hotel & we were searching for the front desk for about 30 minutes... It was no joke pretty funny but it's not Castle Kauai Kailani, the sign says Kauai Kailani & the front desk is about 2&1/2 blocks from the hotel. LOL, talk about searching for someplace. Front desk was nice & you don't have to go back to check out, they said just be out of the room by 11:00am they said. So we had a blast & will come back for sure, now that we know where the check in is.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was good.

Posted Jul 6, 2017
The one thing when you arrive late, its hard to find the check in office. We suggest to put some information so its easy to know where to check in.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2017 by KauaiGM, Hotel Management
Aloha and mahalo for your review. We appreciate your comments and we hope to see you again on your next visit. We apologize for any inconvenience as it pertains to the check in process. Typically, Expedia does indicate at the bottom of each confirmation letter that checkin is at another property. I will follow up with them to see what happened in this particular case.
1 out of 5
by Denise

Deceitful Price, Noisy, Old

Posted May 19, 2017 on Hotels
Property was listed at $103/nt, however in the fine print there "other fees", making it $195/nt. Deceitful! Check in is 1 mile from property- however there is no sign that tells you so. Property remodeled but old. Bathtub floor was stained brown. No a/c - just on noisy portable unit in one room. Also, garden view was a mossy brick wall in a small back alley. Unit was noisy - both to street noise and people walking by unit since bedroom faces the front walkway.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 8, 2017
Aloha and mahalo for your review. Please accept our apology for the issues that you encountered during your stay. All of our travel partners are aware that Kauai Kailani does not have an on site office. I will be following up with Expedia to ensure that they are communicating the proper information to future guests. We hope that you were otherwise able to enjoy your time on Kauai. Mahalo, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice

Posted May 9, 2017
The facility was nice the only thing I had trouble with was the hotel check in since it's not in the same hotel but a different one.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 8, 2017 by KauaiGM, Hotel Management
Aloha and mahalo for your review. We appreciate your comments and we hope to see you again on your next visit. All of our travel partners are aware that we do not have an on site office on property thus I will be following up with Expedia to ensure that the proper information is being communicated to future guests. Mahalo, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from e.g.O. North Fork,Ca

Better direction with a address took us one hour.

Posted Apr 9, 2017
No statement of a address on the text to where your located at was our only problem we had.......Enjoy our stay there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 8, 2017 by KauaiGM, Hotel Management
Aloha and mahalo for your review. Please accept our apology for the inconvenience upon arrival. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Kauai. Mahalo, General Manager