Ratings based on 122 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Close to the beach and comfortable

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Pros: Location
Two buildings. One is close to the water and two is set back towards the street. You definitely want to stay in building one with an ocean view. The property is not an eye soar but definitely not inviting from the street. Rooms are clean and the property is maintained well. Some units are owned while others are operated by the company. We stayed for 9 days and never got new towels. Not to big of a deal when you have a washer/dryer but still. Central location and great if you have a family.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice condo, just hot

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Cons: If they would put air conditioners in the condo that would give it a 5 star
It was a very nice condo, the only real issue we had is that it was extremely hot. There are no air conditioners in the condo, so trying to relax and enjoy the condo was difficult because of the heat. Maybe in the future they should put in air conditioners especially with the heat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Vacationing

Posted Jul 9, 2017
It was really good here, the only weird thing is the front desk is a part of another hotel & we were searching for the front desk for about 30 minutes... It was no joke pretty funny but it's not Castle Kauai Kailani, the sign says Kauai Kailani & the front desk is about 2&1/2 blocks from the hotel. LOL, talk about searching for someplace. Front desk was nice & you don't have to go back to check out, they said just be out of the room by 11:00am they said. So we had a blast & will come back for sure, now that we know where the check in is.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was good.

Posted Jul 6, 2017
The one thing when you arrive late, its hard to find the check in office. We suggest to put some information so its easy to know where to check in.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2017 by KauaiGM, Hotel Management
Aloha and mahalo for your review. We appreciate your comments and we hope to see you again on your next visit. We apologize for any inconvenience as it pertains to the check in process. Typically, Expedia does indicate at the bottom of each confirmation letter that checkin is at another property. I will follow up with them to see what happened in this particular case.
1 out of 5
by Denise

Deceitful Price, Noisy, Old

Posted May 19, 2017 on Hotels
Property was listed at $103/nt, however in the fine print there "other fees", making it $195/nt. Deceitful! Check in is 1 mile from property- however there is no sign that tells you so. Property remodeled but old. Bathtub floor was stained brown. No a/c - just on noisy portable unit in one room. Also, garden view was a mossy brick wall in a small back alley. Unit was noisy - both to street noise and people walking by unit since bedroom faces the front walkway.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 8, 2017
Aloha and mahalo for your review. Please accept our apology for the issues that you encountered during your stay. All of our travel partners are aware that Kauai Kailani does not have an on site office. I will be following up with Expedia to ensure that they are communicating the proper information to future guests. We hope that you were otherwise able to enjoy your time on Kauai. Mahalo, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice

Posted May 9, 2017
The facility was nice the only thing I had trouble with was the hotel check in since it's not in the same hotel but a different one.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 8, 2017 by KauaiGM, Hotel Management
Aloha and mahalo for your review. We appreciate your comments and we hope to see you again on your next visit. All of our travel partners are aware that we do not have an on site office on property thus I will be following up with Expedia to ensure that the proper information is being communicated to future guests. Mahalo, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from e.g.O. North Fork,Ca

Better direction with a address took us one hour.

Posted Apr 9, 2017
No statement of a address on the text to where your located at was our only problem we had.......Enjoy our stay there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 8, 2017 by KauaiGM, Hotel Management
Aloha and mahalo for your review. Please accept our apology for the inconvenience upon arrival. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Kauai. Mahalo, General Manager
4 out of 5
by Tracy

Posted Mar 25, 2017 on Hotels
Clean recently refurbished rooms. Nice use of space. Location makes for a noisy area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from British Columbia

A good inexpensive choice, but could be improved

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Pros: We liked it's good proximity to the airport, reliable wifi, large lanai, new washer and dryer in the unit, and how comfortable the bed was.
Cons: The grounds weren't very nice. Also, the beach was in terrible repair/washed out and had lots of ugly plastic fencing and hazard tape up all over.
Location: Great location near Kapaa town and airport. Great path just down the way which stretched for miles on the oceanfront. We walked this every day.
To begin, the condo we rented was pretty comfortable and newly renovated with most of what we required to make meals in. The check-in experience is less than ideal for those arriving late at night; a first for us having to go to a different hotel down the road, look for a security guard to get us our access info, and then having to return to that same hotel down the road the next morning to go through the check-in process when proper staff are there. The beach was really pretty terrible at our resort with "plastic fencing" and "hazard" tape up around the sitting area overlooking the ocean. It was a real eye-sore with no evidence anyone was trying to build up the area/washed-out shoreline. We saw other resorts working on beautifying their beach areas, but not this one. We used the beach at the resort next door and it was great though, so all in all, it didn't affect the quality of our stay. The pools were nice and warm, and the small one by our condo was very quiet when we used it. We only saw four people use the it the entire time we were there actually, so that was a nice treat. The plants around the resort are suffering some. When you go to other neighbouring resorts the landscaping is noticeably nicer. The groundsman worked hard every day but I think the resort's budget is low for this and it can only look so nice if he hasn't got the plants to make it lusher. Overall, it was a really cheap option for us; about 1/3 the price we've paid in the past, so that's pretty decent.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

More like apartment living, No Condo Resort feel

Posted Mar 8, 2017 on Orbitz
Stayed for 8 days at Kauai Kailani. We come to find was more like apartment living than resort condo due to having check in occur at another place, 2 resorts down, balconies are open to other tenants, no privacy at all due to the "U-shape of the building. We like to cook and eat on balcony, looking and listening to ocean, but lack of privacy for us prevented that. There were tenants who live there and vacation rentals mixed together so the choice of room somewhat limited. There happened to be construction going on in the property which made some views from some rooms very undesirable, especially if you are looking for a nice ocean view. We asked for a room near ocean, corner Unit and they gave us Room 213. Went to room and room was nicely appointed except for the claustrophobic feel of the room. There was a small window, cruise ship like where the balcony should be and the balcony faced other tenants and a slanted ocean view with looking at ugly construction on beach area. We got our room changed and got Room 309, which was a front facing balcony with ocean views. Could hear waves and much better. Can't swim from beach as there is much exposed coral/rock and would have to take a walk to another area to swim, still far from a beautiful beach. There is a pool, very clean and nicely kept up, and 2 barbecue grills located on side of building next to a common room to play ping pong, work, etc... Our place didn't have washer/dryer at all, even though they had ready to g