Ratings based on 878 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Beach CA

Feels like Kauai

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Stayed here for the first time and will stay here everytime from now on. The price is unbeatable. The hotel staff and bar staff were all so nice and welcoming. Make sure to order the Sizzling Shrimp! The live music on the beach every night was fantastic. Everything about this hotel gives you all of the feels of being in Hawaii, unlike other more expensive hotels that are too corporate and try too hard.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Kauai Shores

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Just what I've said before
Cons: I would REALLY appreciate if they deal with 2 things: 1. WiFi works here and there, they could really do with a better server. 2. Parking spots narrow
Location: Also described in the first box. Also, to mention Wailua river nearby where you can find quite few attractions.
Over all it's a good hotel. Clean room, also look like they are doing improvements, fresh clean towels every day, nice view whether is ocean or garden, 2 pools, Jacuzzi, restaurant on the beach, close to downtown Kapa'a and the best beach park on the island (Lydgate) in my opinion, all those little things that make you want to return there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Madisonville, La

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Absolutely loved being on the beach and enjoying the restaurant there! It was right in Kapa'a and that had wonderful shops and restaurants as well. Centrally located, it was easy to explore the whole island and the perfect spot to stay if you plan on enjoying the island and not your hotel room. It was clean and comfortable, and cheerful; but not what I'd call "luxury" accommodations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice hotel,on the beach great room great price

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Pros: right on the beach. price was right
Cons: more hooks to hang things in the bathroom
Location: Lava Lava was super! Beach was beautiful! Pool was nice! just all around great!
Very enjoyable! great place for the price. We even extended our stay. Hotel staff was always nice. Pool and spa were nice and clean. The AC worked great, (our other hotel it didn't) Just an all around good time. Beach towels at the ready, lounge chairs on the beach!!!! Fantastic!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Refused a room due to my mother's dementia and need to call an ambulance. The owner claimed they don't allow calls for an ambulance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel located right on the beach.

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Free parking, bar right on the beach with live music. Room was large -2beds- and was complete with microwave, full size fridge, sink and plates and utensils. Will stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 10, 2017
It looked much better on the pictures. Hotel installation needs some updates.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kona, HI

Great value!

Posted Sep 9, 2017
This place is the best value in Kauai after a beautiful remodel and new restaurant with two pools and beachfront. Great grassy area with lawn games made this perfect for our family. The only big downside is the parking. Very limited and tight, especially on weekend nights when restaurant is busy too. They says free valet but valet was full too. We had to park in an overflow area far from our room and walk with baby and luggage. Other than that, great stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Right on the beach

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Great restaurant with great view of the restaurant
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

On the beach

Posted Sep 7, 2017
The hotel grounds and gardens are beautiful and it is located right on the beach The restaurant on site is gorgeous and serves good food. Rooms are slightly dated but were very clean. Hotel staff couldn't have been nicer. Would highly recommend this hotel.