Ratings based on 795 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Great location, clean rooms, updated, great , parking
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Practical for family with small kids

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Perfect, practical place for my family with small children, 3 and 7 yrs old. The place was clean, the staff was friendly and all basic necessities were met for our purpose. The kitchen had all basic essentials and if it's available, you can borrow their small rice cooker. It's very close to the market and Kapaa is centrally located between the north and south side of the island. The property has 3 small pools and a BBQ grill you can use. It's also very close to the playground at Lydgate beach which was a big hit with our 3 yr old son. We we're happy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2017 by Eric N., Hotel Management
Aloha, thank you for posting your review for Plantation Hale Suites. I was glad to see you enjoyed the cleanliness of your suite, the fully stocked kitchen, centralized location, and the friendly staff. We hope to see you again very soon. Mahalo, Eric N.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Posted Jul 29, 2017
The hotel is getting older and it needs to be upgraded. Our room was not cleaned on schedule. The AC was too loud. There is a fence along the ocean front that makes your stay not very pleasant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 6, 2017 by Eric N., Hotel Management
Aloha, thank you for posting your review for Plantation Hale Suites. All of the suites in our on-property rental program have been renovated. However, there are units that post their units for rent on their own that have not been renovated. Mahalo, Eric N.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles california

Long weekend stay

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Everything was nice. My only complaints are that there was trash left in the shower upon arrival, a cupboard was broken and I had to call to get it fixed. Additionally after we check out we asked if we could use towels for the day while we went on an outing and then return them. When we returned them different staff was at the front desk and they were VERY rude.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2017 by Eric N., Hotel Management
Aloha, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Sincerely, Eric N.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly, clean, close to everything!

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Perfect place to stay for people who don't drive. Clean condos, friendly staff, beach towels provided, full kitchen, coffee & coffee maker inside of condo.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2017 by Eric N., Hotel Management
Aloha, thank you for giving Plantation Hale Suites a 5 star rating. We are glad to see you enjoyed your clean one bedroom suite and the friendly staff. Look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Kauai. Mahalo, Eric N.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Moreno Valley, CA

Great venue

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Pros: Spaciousness
Cons: Need a work-out room
Location: Coconut Marketplace - great for shopping and eating.
Relaxing. Well situated to take advantage of all the good things that eastern Kauai has to offer.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2017 by Eric N., Hotel Management
Aloha, thank you for the review and the 4 star rating. I am glad you enjoyed the spaciousness of the one bedroom suite and the centralized location on the island. Mahalo, Eric N.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Very nice place to stay. We would definetly stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2017 by Eric N., Hotel Management
Aloha, thank you for posting your review and giving us a 4 star rating. I was glad to see you enjoyed your stay here at Plantation Hale Suites. We look forward to having you with us when you return to Kauai. Mahalo, Eric N.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from VB

Do not stay here!

Posted Jun 18, 2017
Worse experience ever. My family and I stayed for 2 weeks here. First, let me tell you that they only clean the room every 3 days!! As a mother and as a nurse that it's totally unacceptable. Can you imagine having your children around dirty floors even in the kitchen? Second, THIS HOTEL DO NOT RESPECT EXPEDIA RESERVATIONS. Third, because they do not respect the reservation, I was locked out of my room as we were criminals. I told them my I had my reservation until 9pm because I had an over night flight. I paid extra money to stay after 12 pm and even after that they sent someone to tell me to hurry up in leaving the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2017 by Eric N., Hotel Management
Aloha, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short, I will share your review with the management team here as this is not the norm for Plantation Hale Suites. Sincerely, Eric N.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Pros: Location, pools, lovely gardens
Cons: The rooms are dated and could be a little upgraded but overall very happy
Location: Very close to restaurants, supermarkets & other shops. Walks along the beach.
Great location- near restaurants, shops & supermarkets
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 13, 2017 by Eric N., Hotel Management
Aloha, thank you for posting your review for Plantation Hale Suites. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Kauai. Mahalo, Eric N.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Decent hotel, no frills wiyh nice staff

Posted Jun 5, 2017
My first room/ condo was a disaster. It was Smelly, the barhroom had not been cleaned and the ceiling fan did not work. After calling and complaining about the three problems, the staff was able to move me to another open room that supposedly opened up later after I check in. Which was good because I would've been very upset being in the smelly dirty room for six days. The new riom turned out to be pretty good. Even although this complex is pretty basic, honestly nothing stood out to distinguish it from any other condo complex that I've rented in the past. The best thing about this complex is a staff member named Crystal. She is outstanding, just makes you laugh and is super personable. I would go out of my way to speak to her because she was just the best and gave me such colorful information about the local spots it was just awesome if every member of the staff could've been exactly like Crystal this would've have been an amazing review of the complex. Unfortunately Crystal is one-of-a-kind and not every member of the staff has her personality or is it or is as friendly as her. For the most part the staff is nice but they don't really go out of their way to be super helpful. That's why I'm give me this complex just a three out of five.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 13, 2017 by Eric N., Hotel Management
Aloha, thank you for posting your review for Plantation Hale Suites. Thank you for the feedback as we take these reviews as learning tools for our staff to make a better experience for our guests. I was glad to see that you enjoyed working with Crystal, I am sure she will be pleased when she sees your review. We hope to see you again when you come to Kauai again in the future. Mahalo, Eric N.