Ratings based on 408 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from georgia

Quiet and quaint

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Old fashioned cottages offer peace. Beautiful setting, steps from private beach which offer hammocks and grills; not elegant but comfortable and a real getaway. Perfect beginning spot after long haul flight and good location to see Canyon and West side. Main plantation building lovely; staff were extremely kind and friendly. A rustic, compact cottage experience that was clean and comfortable. Great towels for bath and beach. I and my 4 adult children would stay there again. Good family time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2017 by Jasmine, Hotel Management
Aloha Susan, Thank for taking a few minutes to share your Waimea Plantation experience. It is definitely a great getaway from all the hustle and bustle, and provides a time for reconnecting and relaxing. Thank you for choosing to stay with us! Mahalo!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 28, 2017
The cottage was great. It had a full kitchen. We arrived early and it was already available. The ocean views were amazing. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The beach wasn't crowded at all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2017 by Jasmine, Hotel Management
Aloha! Thank you for sharing your Waimea Plantation experience with us, and for enjoying your stay at our quaint and relaxing getaway! We hope you will return soon! Mahalo!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Beautiful grounds and secluded beach

Posted Nov 8, 2017
The large well-maintained plantation property has beautiful trees, cozy cottages, and a secluded black sand beach. Charming Waimea village is a short walk.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2017 by Jasmine, Hotel Management
Aloha Nick, Thank you for taking a few minutes to share your Waimea Plantation experience. We appreciate you appreciating our property and what it has to offer. We hope you will visit us again! Mahalo
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Pros: Location, quiet and the natural surroundings
Cons: There was no longer a restaurant at the hotel. Upgrade the cottages they were getting pretty run down.
Location: Kind of far from everything. Waimea town was sort of quiet which is good and a little run down looking as well.
The initial cottage they had us in was in really bad condition number 62. I went and complained at they put us in the Bull Pen cottage and that was very nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2017 by Jasmine, Hotel Management
Aloha, Thank you for taking a few minutes to share with us your experience of Waimea Plantation Cottages. You are right we are away from everything, and what we offer are sugar plantation workers homes. We don't offer the glitz and glamour of resort destinations, far from it. We are happy to hear we were able to make your stay right while you were with us. Yes, we are not for everyone, this is for those who wants to get away from it all, and want just serenity, and relaxation. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and hope you enjoyed your visit to the island! Mahalo!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Very friendly staff and amazing view

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Pros: Nice view, very friendly and helpful staff
Cons: Bathroom faucet. Hot and cold water faucets are separate so it is impossible to use mixed temp water to wash your face.
Location: Na Pali Experience for Napali Coast boat tour( Highly recommend). Waimea Canyon look out.
We absolutely loved out 3 bdr cottage. It was perfect for our family. We were very impressed with super friendly staff, great service and super nice ocean view. Cottage and rooms are more like rustic style. We loved sitting on the porch to see sun set. You can hear ocean wave sounds all night. This hotel is very peaceful and quiet. We had to check out very early around 6:30am (before the staff comes in for work at 7am) for Napali Coast Boat tour but the hotel staff were so nice to keep our luggages overnight till we came back around 1pm. We really appreciated it. If you are looking for something to do near by, I highly recommend boat tour with the company called "Na Pali Experience". Only 5 min away form this hotel. This company uses small boats so only 6ppl on boat and the captain went further than other companies' boats to check out all the great spots on Napali Coast. This tour was definitely the hight light of our trip in Kauai or in any other Hawaiian islands we've been to. Highly recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2017 by Jasmine, Hotel Management
Aloha! Thank you for taking a few minutes to share your Waimea Plantation experience! and enjoying what it has to offer, the peace and quiet, and beautiful sunsets, and star filled nights! We hope you will visit again! Thank you for choosing to stay with us! Mahalo!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Carlsbad

Plantation Cottages on the Beach

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Pros: Grounds are beautiful and a throwback to the old Hawaiian days. Staff is super friendly. Very relaxing and old school Hawaiian experience.
Cons: Needs a restaurant/bar and some kind of food service.Unless you bring in your own food, there is really no place to eat close by.
Location: Dry side of Kauai. On the beach. Out in the country. Horse ranch next door. 30 minute drive to Waimea Canyon and Kokee Parks. Lots of hiking and views
Restored Plantation Cottages on an amazing property on the beach. A one of a kind experience in Hawaii. These cottages are all unique. We had a one bedroom with living/dining area and a kitchen. There is a porch for relaxing on. And the grounds are out of a movie. 20 foot high old Plumeria trees, coco palms waving in the breeze.Very old school and charming. BBQs, shuffle board, and other amenities are available. No restaurant or food facilities so you need to bring your own food in with you. The town of Waimea is pretty small with only a couple of places to eat, so that can be an issue. Nothing to do but relax at the resort or go up to Waimea Canyon and Kokee Park, about a 30 minute drive uphill from the resort. If you looking for something different, this is the place for you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2017 by Jasmine, Hotel Management
Aloha Jim! Thank you for taking a few minutes to capture your experience of Waimea Plantation Cottages. You hit the nail on the head, we're all about relaxation, serenity and quiet. Thank you for appreciating what we have to offer. Good News a restaurant may be opening soon! we do not manage that space. We hope to see you again! Mahalo for choosing to stay with us!
5 out of 5
by Beverley J

Posted Sep 16, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2017
Aloha Beverly! Thank you for choosing to stay with us! Appreciate the 5 Star rating! Mahalo!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 14, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2017
Aloha! Mahalo for choosing to stay with us! and appreciate the 4 Star rating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location,

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Pros: Style of cottage
Cons: Move the roosters out and update tv system.
Location: Waimea Canyon is fantastic
Fabulous authentic cottages. Early morning rooster noise can't be avoided unfortunately.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2017 by Jasmine, Hotel Management
Aloha! Thank you for taking a few minutes to share your Waimea Plantation experience. The roosters are an ongoing project, and thank you for your comments about the TV system, we will pass this on to our management team. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we appreciate the 5 star rating! Mahalo!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 11, 2017 on Hotels