Ratings based on 346 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Des Moines, IA

Great place to relax, slow down and enjoy Kauai

Posted Feb 17, 2017
This was our second time staying at the Plantation Cottages. Both times we told ourselves we should have stayed longer. I received men's paying a little more to get an ocean view. You feel like you are the only ones there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: Location, grounds, and view.
Cons: Could provide minimum spices for cooking. The cottage could have used a good dusting and the kitchen was greasy.
Beautiful grounds and great ocean view. The day front desk staff was helpful and friendly. The evening staff, not so much. The cottage was nicely furnished but they could also have provided salt, pepper, and sugar. The cottage could have used a good dusting and the kitchen was greasy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Classic Plantation Cottages

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: You are taken back in time and thereby better appreciate the cultural richness of Hawaii.l
Incredible restoration of plantation worker's and owner's homes assembled in an inviting park-like setting. Some homes beachfront and many more with ocean view. A very comfortable relaxing experience. We stayed for seven days and hated to leave.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Not very quiet or clean

Posted Dec 22, 2016
The first cottage (SS14) seemed to be the last one standing among the ruins of old cottages with terrible views out of windows and next to animal shed of the adjacent neighborhood. Roosters were crowing all the time. We were able to move to a different cottage which was in a nicer location but the dining table was so sticky and filthy. It took scrubbing with soap many times before you see no more film of sticky filth on the paper towel... Their kitchen is not well-equipped either but the ground and location are quite nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Alameda, CA

Loved staying here and wish I stayed longer.

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Pros: Close to Waimea Canyon and Polihale beach.
Location: Polihale beach is one of the best beaches on the entire island. Kind of a long drive and it is a rough road (recommend 4x4) but well worth it.
I stayed in the studio with my girlfriend and this was perfect for us. Small kitchen with refrigerator, walking distance to the beach and hammocks to watch the sunset. Will definitely be staying here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CALIFORNIA

WONDERFUL!!!!!!

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Pros: WE LIKE EVERYTHING!!! GREAT COTTAGES COMPLETE WITH KITCHEN. QUIET. WISH THE RESTAURANT WAS OPEN.
Cons: wE ASKED TO RETURN TO A CERTAIN COTTAGE. WISH THEY COULD HAVE ACCOMIDATED US.
Location: GREAT LOCATION. qUIET OUT OF THE WAY.
THIS IS OUR 7TH TIME TO THE COTTAGES AND EACH TIME GETS BETTER. WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND TO THOSE WHO LOVE QUIET. WE TAKE MORNING WALKS ON THE BEACH. BEAUTIFUL SUN RISE AND SUN SET.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2016 on Hotels
Quaint authenticate and laid back Staying in a historical plantation setting close to hiking and local flavor Will try to make it back here again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great experience!

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Pros: Your own cottage!
Cons: The coffee shop. Really needs work.
Location: Lots of shops and museums.
The cottages are wonderful! The beach is right there. The grounds are spectacular! I would love an extended stay at this spot!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Great location, view, amenities. The real Kauai, like the Hawaiians.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Very nice. Perfect for our large group.

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Our three bedroom cottage was perfect for our large group. Each couple had their own bedroom. There were two full bathrooms. The kitchen was fully stocked with cookware and dishes. Every-other-day housekeeping service was not too intrusive. We had an ocean view from our comfortable porch, and a short walk to the beach and pool. We would definitely stay here again.