Ratings based on 389 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location,

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Pros: Style of cottage
Cons: Move the roosters out and update tv system.
Location: Waimea Canyon is fantastic
Fabulous authentic cottages. Early morning rooster noise can't be avoided unfortunately.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Great place to get away

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Beautiful, clean, friendly, well kept! Great fir traveling with teenagers. Just a bit far away from where the action is- or maybe that's just Kauai. Two thumbs way up!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017 by Jasmine, Hotel Management
Aloha Aparka, Thank you for taking a few minutes to let us know of your stay at Waimea Plantation Cottages. Yes, we are farthest west on the island, we are away from all the hustle and bustle. Serenity and relaxation is what we offer. Thank you for choosing to stay with us! Mahalo!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Quiet retreat on the beach

Posted Aug 14, 2017
Pros: It felt like a Hawaii, not like a hi-rise with abeach
Cons: It would be nice if they found someone to reopen the restaurant.
Location: It is very close to Waimea canyon. Activities like sailing and ziplining are 20-30 minutes away. The town with food and restaurants is close.
This is not a valet parking, swim-up bar, seaweed-wrap spa kind of place. It is a charming idyllic getaway of converted plantation cottages amid a coconut grove. The cottages are freestanding. There are no rowdy neighbors on the other side of the wall. While not gleaming new, the cottages are well kept and clean, with comfortable beds and well equipped kitchens.There are hammocks and chairs along the beach, a small fenced pool, and a free laundry as well. The staff is genuinely friendly and helpful. The office contains a small gift shop where you can book activities. They also have a dispenser for free tropical fruit juice that I hit up on a daily basis. There is currently no restaurant on the property itself but this was not a major issue since Waimea is close by. My wife and I have been to Kauai twice, and stayed here both times. If we visited again, I am sure we would return to the cottages.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2017 by Jasmine, Hotel Management
Aloha John! Thank you for taking a few minutes to share with us your experience of Waimea Plantation Cottages. Yes, we are not a high-rise, and we're away from the hustle and bustle. We appreciate you appreciating what we're about, and what we offer here at the Cottages. We too hope the owners will find a Restauranteur in there soon, as we all know it will be a great additional amenity to our guest and the community. Thank you for sharing, and we look forward to your next stay with us! Mahalo!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Wonderful cottages on the dryer side of the island

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Pros: Quiet, comfortable and affordable. Friendly staff.
Location: Waimea Canyon, great beaches minutes away by car, Kauai coffee plantation
We really loved our stay at Waimea plantation cottages. We chose the beachfront cottage (I would recommend this as it is worth the extra cost to be able to stare at the sea from you porch or bedroom. The cottages are fairly basic (one small air conditioner in the main bedroom of the one we stayed in, but still have everything you need without the glitz of an expensive resort. The beach is not good for swimming, but we spent most of the time using it as a base to travel to snorkeling, hiking, kayaking and other activities. There is a great pool on site to cool off when you get back. It is great for families, as it has a full kitchen so that you can prepare your own food and avoid the exorbitant Hawaiian restaurant prices. Overall we had a great time and I would strongly recommend it for the budget conscious who are looking for a nice quiet place to stay. Great value for the money.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2017 by Jasmine, Hotel Management
Aloha Steve, Mahalo for taking a few minutes to share of your experience at the Waimea Plantation Cottages. We appreciate you getting what we offer and are on point. We're not selling the glitz and glamour, but an experience of the life on a sugar plantation, simple with the necessities. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope you will return again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

You will pay $25 per day extra

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Pros: It was cozy, the grounds are super cute. You can walk along the beach to the town. Loved the hammocks :)
Cons: It would be useful to know there's a $25.00 per day charge upfront.
Location: Waimei is on the dry side of the island, sounds great right, except EVERYTHING else is on the other side, we drove 45 minutes each way everyday.
I was disappointed not to have been made aware that there is a $25. per day charge by the hotel that is separate from your Expedia booking. We stayed nine days so it was an additional $225.00 - the plantation building is spectacular, but it isn't running/open, possibly it is the time of year, IDK. The units are cute, but know what you're getting, this is more like camping, they are little cabins, ours had an A/C in 2 of the rooms yet 2 of the rooms had none and it is hot and muggy. The $25.00 per day is so you can use the hammocks (which are everywhere and quite spectacular) the bbq grills which we also used, and the laundry facility, it is free but you need your own soap. We stayed 9 days and they provided housekeeping service two times, meaning the other 7 days you clean your own room, we washed our towels but I suppose you could walk up and turn them in for new ones. They give you two free movies per day which is nice, they have a little kiosk of movies in the lobby. The sand is black, so no snorkeling, I never saw anyone swim at the beach in Waimea, they have a pool but we never used it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2017 by Jasmine, Hotel Management
Aloha Lisa, Thank you for sharing with us about your stay at our Waimea Plantation Cottages. I'm sorry to hear you were not aware of the daily Resort Fees. If you were the person booking this reservation, it clearly states on the website of the $25 daily resort fees. We will work with EXPEDIA to ensure transparency on these items. Yes, what we offer at the Waimea Plantation Cottages are sugar plantation homes from the late 1800 to early 1900 era which shares a lot of history and uniqueness. We hope you were able to enjoy what we offer in this special place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ocean Front Cottage

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Pros: Quiet and uncrowded.
Cons: Some of the equipment could be updated (TV mainly), but we loved the cabin and the environment. Would stay again.
Location: Waimea Canyon, Blue Dolphin boat charters.
The perfect environment for us, quiet, beautiful, and uncrowded.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by jasmine, Hotel Management
Aloha! Thank you for taking a few minutes to share of your experience at the Waimea Plantation Cottages. We are continually working on improvements, without moving away from our special place and what we have to offer. Mahalo for Sharing, we look forward to your next visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice.

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Could have been cooler. No central air. Rooms were cozy. Watch for hidden fees.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2017 by Jasmine, Hotel Management
Aloha, Thank you for your feedback on your experience here at the Waimea Plantation Cottages. Yes, it has been much warmer than usual, while we have Air conditioners, in the cottages, it may not be as cool as you'd prefer. We continue to look at ways to improve our product. I am not sure what hidden fees you are referring to, the only additional fees we collect direct for is our Resort Fees, which should be listed on the booking site.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

Posted Jul 9, 2017
It was a wonderful experience like a little paradise in fact, picture perfect. The beach is nice to walk on but we had to drive about 10 min to get to one we could lay out on.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by Jasmine, Hotel Management
Aloha Jason, Thank you for sharing of your experience here at the Waimea Plantation Cottages. Our beach is quiet unique, the only black sand beach on Kauai. Being close to the Waimea river which flows into the ocean, making visibility poor and water brownish. Yes, 5 to 10 minutes to the nearest white sand beach. Mahalo for your feedback.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice cottage near the beach

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: See the above.
Cons: The people who run the cottages seemed to have thought about everything. I can't add anything.
Location: Waimea Canyon, well worth the trip.
Proximity of beach. Quiet tranquil part of the island, away from most of the people. The cottage was supplied with all the conveniences you could think of, especially in the kitchen. The cottage was very roomy, like a small house including a very large, nice outside back porch area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by Jasmine, Hotel Management
Aloha, Thank you for taking time and sharing of your experience of the Waimea Plantation Cottages. We are always looking for ways to improve while keeping the ambience and authenticity of what we have to offer. Mahalo for your feedback.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, Colorado

Original charm with great feel near the beach!

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: It is just big enough for four people to stay comfortably. Love the charm of the home!
Cons: The bathroom could be updated, but keep the character of the cottage!
Location: Loved having the ocean right here for walks. It's near by the town for meals and the grocery store and some local shopping.
We loved staying here! Could use a little updating, but we love the character and would definitely stay here again. The vibe is relaxed and so charming. Love the history of the cottages. Loved the roosters. Love the flowers and the trees. Have already told people to plan a vacation stay here!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2017 by Jasmine, Hotel Management
Aloha Ron and Melissa, Thank you for sharing of your experience here at the Waimea Plantation Cottages. Your feedback is very important to the success of our operations, and will work with our team on ever improving and enhancing our guest experience.