Ratings based on 317 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

So peaceful and quite.

Posted Sep 29, 2016
The plantation was just beautiful. So quiet and peaceful. The staff was excellent and kind. Pool was so wonderful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Wonderful quaint coastal cottage getaway

Posted Sep 25, 2016
We stayed in a wonderful quaint coastal one bed cottage. We had partial ocean views and a small lanai overlooking the fabulous green grounds. Easy access to all the hikes of Waimea Canyon and Kokee State Park as well as sunsets at the pier and Kekaha Beach. We mostly self catered as we wanted to chill out but town has plenty of good relaxed eateries.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Grand Blanc, MI

Wanted a no stress getaway

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: Quite, clean and comfy.
Cons: Sleep Number bed like mine at home but probably not possible. :-)
Location: Sleepy little town of Waimea is perfect with a small grocery store, a couple of quaint resteraunts and some great shaved ice.
Our cottage was right on the water. Sounds of the ocean and an occasional rooster were all we ever heard. Best stress less vacation ever.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Life at the Plantation

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Pros: The historical aspects, private setting, slower pace, cottage life, beautiful quiet beach, amazing views, well maintained outdoor space.
Location: Great small towns near by with art walks, bookstores, good food and a tremendous sense of community. Amazing parks with outdoor activity options.
This is a one of a kind walk into a historic plantation setting. Absolutely beautiful, traditional old Hawaii feel with comfortable modern accommodations.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Disappointed on 20th Anniversary

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: We liked the location on the West side of the island. Secluded and low-key.
Cons: Better cottage descriptions online and actual views from all cottages so customers know exactly what they are booking.
Location: Hike the Waimea Canyon and spend time in the local shops and eateries. Island Taco is fabulous!
My husband and I booked an "ocean view" cottage for our 20th anniversary. Upon arrival, we were grossly disappointed in Cottage 64. The "ocean view" was at best "partial ocean view". You could see the ocean from the bedroom -- if you were laying down on the bed -- and when you walked out the front door. All other views were of the air conditioning unit and next door cottage. After I complained, we were moved to a two bedroom, "ocean front" cottage - wonderful! However, we were told after three nights we would have to move (due to a previous booking) but just across the street to Cottage 74. Fine. However, after three nights we were moved to Cottage D - the very last cabin on the plantation that felt as though it hadn't been used in decades. The cottage was a plywood box that smelled like mildew and body odor. There was only one air conditioning unit (in the very back of the cottage) which likely explains the foul odor. Overall, terrible experience and we just can't recommend it. The hassle of moving cottages was not relaxing and the staff didn't seem to mind the inconvenience caused by their misrepresentation of the "ocean view" cottage, even after I explained our very special occasion. If you do end up booking here, I would definitely call in advance to ensure you get what you pay for and not a "partial" result.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale, AZ

Cottage Stay in Kauai

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: Privacy and close to the beach. The grocery store is a few blocks away.
Cons: AC in the living room would help.
Location: The beach is next to the cottages and the island is small enough that you can quickly access anything on the island.
The hotel was clean and comfortable. The property has direct access to the beach and the grounds are well kept. The staff was easy to work with and we enjoyed the stay. The room has AC in the bedroom and it is important to run the fan from the bedroom to the living room to cool the house. The cottages were placed far enough apart for privacy, unlike hotel rooms and condos. We would stay again when we return the Kauai. We saw reviews on the internet about the cottages and our experience was better than expected. We did not have any issues with bugs, flying or grounded and no mosquitoes seen while at the cottage.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2016 by Kuulei, Hotel Management
Mahalo for staying with us at the Waimea Plantation Cottages. We appreciate the feedback you provided as well and your recommendations to other travelers. We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back to our island in the future. Me ke ha'aha'a (with humble regards) The Waimea Plantation Cottages Ohana
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arvada Colorado

Your beach home away from the rat race

Posted Sep 7, 2016
We had a completely wonderful experience. If you want the comfort of the Grand Wailua then you should go there and not complain. That said, the cabins are a welcome step back in time. Coming from the mountains of Colorado they are a glimps of life 50 years ago or older. Ours was built in 1905, kitchen seems around '60's and dearly reminds me of my grandmothers and how nice it was to do simple things like hand wash the dishes after the meal. A short walk to the black sand beach is a peaceful way to de-stress and forget about the mainland. We have stayed in 5 star hotels around the country, and would not have had this stay any different. Thank you so much!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2016 by Kuulei, Hotel Management
Mahalo for staying with us at the Waimea Plantation Cottages. We love hearing how much our guests enjoy and have a connection with our property. Plantation living definitely has its charm and I, too, love the nostalgia that is offered here. We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to welcome you back to our island in the future. Me ke ha'aha'a (with humble regards) The Waimea Plantation Cottages Ohana
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful setting and adoreable cottages

Posted Sep 7, 2016
These cottages were so cute and quaint. We loved them. The staff had all the amenities we needed. We borrowed shuffle board equipment. They have free DVD's. It was so nice to leave the sliding screen doors open and listen to the waves all night. Very clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2016 by Kuulei, Hotel Management
Mahalo for staying with us at the Waimea Plantation Cottages. We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and enjoyed the amenities that we offer. It is a great way to wind down and relax while on Kauai. We hope to welcome you back to Kauai soon! Me ke ha'aha'a (with humble regards) The Waimea Plantation Cottages Ohana
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san diego

Week spent in old Hawaii

Posted Aug 20, 2016
This place is great. Be warned that if you go in the summer it can be incredibly warm in the main area of the cottage during the day but if you turn on every window AC in each bedroom and close all the windows and doors, run every fan, and leave for the day and come back at night you should be pretty comfortable. Make no mistake, these cottages are old. The bathrooms are old, the kitchen is old, all of it is old. But it is so charming. And if you want to comfort and convenience of a cottage or house rental and aren't super fancy, this is the place for you.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from canada

Nice and private close to the beach

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Would like to see the cottages cleaner and something to rid the musty smell in the room