Ratings based on 359 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice little cabins by the beach

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: It's great having your own cabin. The place is nice and peaceful, with lotsa greenery. Very nice and clean beach with beautiful sunset.
Cons: better house cleaning. It's not too bad but can be improved :) Also better maintenance of the beach bbqs.
Location: would recommend renting a car to drive around the island, there are many activities. The waimea canyon is really near by and it's beautiful.
Very lovely place, we really liked having our own little cabin to stay in. I read people complaining about the roosters before going, but it didn't bother us at all, and they are everywhere on the island (we went for a hike and there were roosters on the trail)! Also really nice having full size bbqs on the beach, we used them almost every night and then had dinner on the beach at the sunset :D The stuff is always there and if needed you can find them at the reception for any problems, but I liked that they were not intrusive. I also liked that it didn't feel busy with people.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beaverton, Oregon.

Out of a dream

Posted Apr 2, 2017
This plantation is well situated on the beach on the south side of the island. It is away from the more touristy and trafficked parts of the island, but still close to restaurants and grocery stores. Having this as home base for our vacation totally made it as wonderful as it was. Do not expect flash and tech. It is as a cottage should be: comfortable, functional and perfectly placed on a stunning island in the Pacific.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BC, Canada

Historic Old Hawaiian Setting

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Pros: Small laid back.
Cons: Better wording of cost for room cleaning. Build resort fee into overall cost as it is not an option.
Location: Beautiful Waimea Canyon is close bbq.
Wonderfully situated cottages with a rustic feeling. Great for families.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

Not what we expecting- low class & low quality

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: The front desk & activities desk staff is very nice and super helpful. The plantation also provided unlimited DVD rentals of current movies, nice.
Cons: The cottages were built as early as the late 1800's, so you go in expecting old... but they are old and run down, and very dirty.
Location: The location is right in the middle of Wimea, which doesn't have a ton to do. However Wimea Canyon is a great/close drive that has some great views.
The plantation cottages were extremely disappointing. My now-wife and I spent a couple days in Wimea to finish up our week-long honeymoon on the island. The cottages were disappointingly terrible- disgusting/moldy/dirty bathroom, you could see the ground through the floor in some parts of the cottages, there were bugs flying around inside all day/night because there is absolutely no seal around any of the doors and/or windows, and we woke up with ants crawling in the bed. it's was also never mentioned that there is no AC in the cottages, only small window units that struggle to keep up with the tropical heat. The pool was lackluster as well, very dirty and mildewy as well. The beach that the plantation is situated on is a black sand beach, which makes the water extremely murky and dis-satisfying (I now notice the only beach picture they include is of the beach at night, so you can't tell it's black sand). The pictures found on their site show the central building and some of their nicest large cottages. For the price-per-night that we paid, it was an extremely disappointing stay. For almost the same rate, were were in a 5-star villa on the other side of the island for the days leading up to our stay. We knew this would be a different experience, but we were definitely unhappy with the results of our stay. The way that the plantation is advertised and marketed is, in my opinion, is not an accurate representation of what they are providing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

It's like a quiet relaxing place from the 1950's

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Pros: The setting and the beautifully grounds.
Cons: The pool area needs updated. The hammocks also seemed stretched out and hang to low. I would look at replacing them.
Location: There are things to do near. Just not what we were looking for while on vacation. We spent most of our time driving to beaches like Poipu.
Truly enjoyed this resort. My husband loved how much it reminded of his grandparents house from his childhood. The grounds are beautiful and the views just take your breath away. The breezes from the ocean make for the perfect sleeping weather. They had areas set up for fires on the beach and we enjoyed it! The sky was so clear you could see millions of stars while sitting next to the fire on the beach!! Enjoyed eating breakfast on the porch every morning in the rocking chair. This place just takes you back to time where things seemed simpler and relaxed. My 10yr old son enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere as well. His only compliant was he wished the pool would be more updated. We would definitely stay again if we get the opportunity.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montana

Ocean View

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Quiet, rustic, rough around the edges, beautiful grounds, chocolate sand beaches, no one swimming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Peaceful cottages steps away from the water!

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Pros: Staff was very friendly!
Location: Kauai coffee company is a short drive away (maybe 2 miles) and the perfect stop for gifts, a touristy picture or two,and of course, great coffee!
I almost don't want to write a good review because I don't want this little gem to be overrun with tourists. The cottages are clean and comfortable with all of the little amenities you need. The kitchen is well stocked with tools for cooking and the BBQ is right in the backyard. My favorite part of the stay was sitting on the porch watching the ocean while the chickens walked the grounds, pecking and crying. It was perfect!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

Awesome!

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Felt like I walked onto the set of Dirty Dancing. Authentic and conveniently located to beaches, canyon, and cliffs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2017 by Waimea Plantation Cottages, Hotel Management
Aloha Stephanie, We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Waimea Plantation Cottages. Thank you for sharing your experience!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ocean view

Posted Feb 25, 2017
I booked a cottage with an ocean view and i was given a cottage with no view, except a tiny one if you stood and binded on the side of the terrace... The hotel staff partially admitted and offered the resort fee, which was not acceptable...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Des Moines, IA

Great place to relax, slow down and enjoy Kauai

Posted Feb 17, 2017
This was our second time staying at the Plantation Cottages. Both times we told ourselves we should have stayed longer. I received men's paying a little more to get an ocean view. You feel like you are the only ones there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2017 by Waimea Plantation Cottages, Hotel Management
Aloha Steve! Thank you for sharing of your experience at the Waimea Plantation Cottages. Yes, oceanview or ocean front is the way to go. Mahalo for returning!