Ratings based on 1,588 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, On

Good value for money

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Location: 20 mins drive to DC. Visit Surratts House nearby.
Ok Hotel. Good value for money. Lots of parking. 20 min drive to DC.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Sep 26, 2016
Hotel was nice and clean. Staff was very helpful and I will book again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Strong odor and bad plumbing.

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: Beds were okay.
Cons: Replace the carpets or at least give them a regular and thorough steam cleaning. Find the odor and get rid of it.
Location: Stayed in the area to tour D.C. At the time of our stay road crews were paving Route 5 at night. Missed the turn due to poor signage.
2 rooms were reserved. Both rooms had strange odor but the first was terrible. They moved us to another room but the shower control did not work so they moved us to a third room which was okay. The 2nd room even though it had a strange odor was not as strong as the 1st but the shower control also did not work (could have been scalded) so we were given another room where the shower control was difficult to work but after some finagling got it to work. Both rooms had dirty carpet. My white socks quickly got black so after that I just kept my shoes on. One of the bathroom's tile floor felt greasy like there was a wax coating--a slip hazard. I would not recommend this hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Sep 19, 2016
Cons: The cleanliness of the carpet and the rooms could stand some type of air freshner. The bathroom had little to no extra toilet paper.
I was upgraded to a suite however I heard the guest next to our heads. Their children sounded like they were in a bowling alley. I could hear them jumping and running. The guest to our right - well - I could hear their loudness thru the walls. It's becoming that I will not be staying any more.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Norfolk, VA

Horrible service

Posted Sep 18, 2016
We are active duty military and so finding somewhere to test isn't that hard for us but this place was pretty bad. I was in the area for surgery and after my surgery we decided to stay at Colony South and the first thing they did was put us in a room with the AC unit completely removed to where you could see the outside, the girl at the front desk had a terrible attitude when we requested a different room, so she put us in a different room that was dirty and smelled horrible, we ended up speaking to a different person and we got put in a decent room where I could at least rest being that I was on meds from my surgery. The amenities seem nice but it's not worth it for the service we received.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Omar and the entire staff at Colony South are very accommodating and service oriented. I would recommend this Hotel and will return again when in the area.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Great hotel, nice room, made me think of the shinning
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Nice hotel great environment

Posted Sep 12, 2016
It's always a pleasure when I stay @ colony south... I also love the convenience of the night club... It's great
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Roanoke, VA

Nice exterior hides a disgusting interior!

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Pros: nothing
Cons: Total scrub down of all the rooms. Carpets and furnishings replaced.
Location: Noisey hospital next door that was included in the location description
The exterior of this hotel was very nice but very deceiving. Staff was friendly, but the room was nasty! Carpets were stained, nightstand had sticky residue, and the when I pulled the bedspread back there were body hairs in the sheets. We complained and the did move us to another room. This room was a "little" better but still not very clean. The bed sheets were clean, so since it was so late at night we decided to stick it out. It was all I could do to stay the night in that room. I would not recommend anyone staying here!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Every thing was nice people was friendly the club was very nice an the bar i would do it again