Ratings based on 158 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Only worth about $50 a night... and only maybe

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Pros: quiet
Cons: see above detail
The hot water in shower went from hot to cold fast. Coffee maker didn't work. Ordered food from the restaurant and they couldn't call for the pick- up due to the room phone not working. If you have low expectations its probably ok. It is not worth more than about $50 a night for a one night stop over stay only. I was on a fishing trip one the Alsea so I wasn't looking for the Hilton, but they should at least do maintenance checks to the rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2017 by Mike, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. I am very sorry to hear that you had a less than perfect stay with us. The hot water issue has been resolved and we have an electrician here to check all the phones. Unfortunately, sometimes guests will unplug the room phone and we do not always catch this right away. All our coffee makers are brand new and I feel bad that yours did not work. A quick call to the front desk would have taken care of this issue though, we are always here to help. Guest satisfaction is our primary goal. Please visit us again and I will personally make sure, that we make up for this frustration you experienced.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 16, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 5, 2016
loved the location and the view from the rear facing room we had.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2016 by Mike, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, thank you for staying with us. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and the beautiful view on the bay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vernonia Pregpn

Things are looking better at Alsi Hotel

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Pros: Its alot of things . I really feel just the appearance of the building was a good start .
Cons: New doors and molding and flat screen tv's would be a good start
Location: Its a good location with food and spirits and friendly staff . Go across the bridge and you have more places to eat and Rays grocery
The resort looks alot better then it use to . The rooms ,hallways and lobby are alot cleaner and the staff alot more friendly and wanting to assist you then afew years back . My wifes parents live afew blocks over from the Alsi so now when we come we don't have to go all the way to Yahats to stay . Keep up the good work and keep fixing things little by little cause the guest will see your trying to make our stay enjoyable .
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 29, 2016 by Mike, Hotel Management
Thank you Terry for taking the time to give us a review and thank you for staying with us. We are doing a lot inside and outside and we look forward to your next visit.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Rooms dated, however it does appear they are making an effort at renovation. Restaurant is good, staff is friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 29, 2016 by Mike, Hotel Management
Dear Jeffrey, thank you for staying with us. We are working on some updates and hope you will visit us again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from newport, oregon

Moldy ceiling was just the beginning

Posted Oct 12, 2016 on CheapTickets
Shower ceiling was covered in mold, chipped shower tiles, small holes all over the door, hairs in tub and on bathroom floor, stains all over the carpeting and lampshades. Appeared sheets had been slept in, hair on sheets and on pillows. Very limited continental breakfast. I can't believe they think it's okay to offer these rooms to unsuspecting folks like us. When I complained the next day, they said we should have asked for a different room (at least they didn't deny how bad our room was, I guess). Doors slamming all day and night. If I had any other last minute hotel option I would have taken it. It was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in and would never recommend it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 14, 2016 by Mike, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for sharing your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you had a unpleasant experience. While we make sure that all our rooms are clean and cozy, we always encourage people to tell us if there is any dissatisfaction whatsoever. In your case, if you had talked to us, we would have been glad to move you to another room. After-all, guest satisfaction is our main goal and we want to see you leave with a smile. After reading your words, we went to every room in the building and to my relief, we could not find any mold anywhere. We did notice 2 rooms though that need some extra attention and have closed those until we can get them brought up to standard.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Pleasantly Suprised Great Value

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Location: Don't miss a meal on the Harbour at the Salty Dawg. Classic Old (clean) locals Beach/Harbor Bar/Grill. Loved server Nancy, Great generous portions
Advised locally to reconsider. Room prepaid. Checkin smooth. Very pleasant reception staff. Definitely 3starplus. water view ground floor room with sliding doors to take the dogs out. Apparently relatively recently refurbished. Good amenities, Fast WiFi FREE. easy parking. Lovely restaurant. Only minus is free breakfast is simple continental only. No fruit offered. Totally satisfied particularly with price for a Saturday on Columbus Day Holiday weekend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 14, 2016 by Mike, Hotel Management
Dear Terry, we appreciate the feedback and you taking the time to share your experience and I am glad you had an enjoyable stay. We are always eager to listen to suggestions as well. There is usually fruit sitting on another table in the lobby and I will make sure that we put some next to the toast and muffins to make sure it gets noticed. We hope to see you again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location for us!

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Second stay in a month, great service. Friendly helpful staff. Not a 5 star hotel but has a great location to the beach!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2016 by Mike, Hotel Management
Hello dear Anonymous, thank you for taking the time to give a review. We hope to see you again soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

It's a resort and we went very late season...

Posted Oct 7, 2016
It is probably buzzing in summer but it had a real 'we're winding down' feel. Pretty comfortable, though. It's worth it for a stomp around the peninsular watching seals and finding mature Dungerness crabs was great!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 8, 2016 by Mike, Hotel Management
Dear Sal, I am glad you had an enjoyable stay and were able to enjoy the peace and quite and the abundance of beaches and nature. We hope you will visit again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Waldport, OR

Awesome value for the location

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Location: You can actually catch crabs right from the shore behind the resort!
I'm thrilled to be able to get a room on the water for under $100. I live close to the Alsi Resort and love to have it for friends and family that come to Waldport. I've read mixed reviews on it and you have to take a look at what you get for what your paying. Sure, if you don't mind spending triple the money theres some great options on the coast. But, I am really impressed with what you get at the Alsi for the cost.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 7, 2016 by Mike, Hotel Management
Dear Joe, thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback and share your opinion. The crabbing has been a lot of fun this year and we hope to see you again.