Ratings based on 602 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Interesting, historic building

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: Interesting, historic building
Pleasant stay; nice buffet breakfast and very helpful staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2016
It's and old historic hotel. It wasn't luxury, but neat place and excellent location.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Good location when visiting Walla Walla.

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: Location.
Cons: The Marcus Whitman hotel has a lot of history and could be an excellent place to stay if it would be updated.
Location: Wine tasting and shops.
After two disappointing hotels in Walla Walla, we hoped that the Marcus Whitman would not disappoint us. Unfortunately, it did. The room was okay and the bed was confortable. However, the bed linens were paperthin and needed to be replaced. The lighting in the room was dismal, the carpet dark, dated and needed cleaning and the room needed a new coat of paint. In the bathroom the towels were rather small and the new granite countertop clashed with the dated wallpaper and pink tiles in the shower/tub. While we enjoyed the ambiance of the hotel and the breakfast room, we were surprised to find that the blinds were drawn and the room was very dark at breakfast time. With the exception of an excellent fresh fruit bowl the selection was really disappointing. The steam table eggs tasted like rubber and there were too many overly sweet tasting items plus greasy bacon and sausages. The homemade yoghurt was too runny and it seemed few enjoyed the biscuits and gravy. Biscuits were good with jam. Overall too much grey, sweet and greasy stuff. This definitely is not a HOT and HEALTHY breakfast as advertised.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

classic old hotel

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Wonderful property close to many tasting rooms restaurants. Many nice touches that make you feel welcome like the iced tea, delicious breakfast, and very nice and helpful staff. The beds and room was very nice, BUT the adjoining rooms toilets were very noisy, resulting in being awoken several times during the night when the neighbor was doing his thing....It was truly disappointing that a great hotel would have the stay tarnished by a couple hundred dollar toilet and very little sound insulation. Other then that I would stay again, but with ear plugs,,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Lovely stay. Quiet and clean hotel. Breakfast was GREAT! Would stay there again
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: AMAZING breakfast included.... much more than others offer with eggs, bacon, and much much more!
Love the location walkable to Downtown and the breakfast included was amazing!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Upgraded, fantastic!

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Once we upgraded, it was fantastic! Alex at the front desk was very kind and gave us a great deal because it was our anniversary.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Lovely comfortable lobby for relaxation. Great coffee and tasting rooms on site too. A fabulous buffet breakfast is included in their beautiful restaurant.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Spokane

Nice hotel for wine tasting

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Downtown, helpful and friendly staff. Good restaurant and lounge. Walking distance to many wine tasting rooms. Not a big shopping or nightlife area though.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Historic hotel in a convenient location

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: Location, historical ambience
Cons: Add safes to the room. Change the music selection during the breakfast hours--the elevator music/easy listening orchestral Muzak was hard to take!
Location: Wine tasting, Whitman College
Although our visit to Walla Walla was brief, we enjoyed our two night stay at this lovely hotel. Its central location means that all the downtown attractions, as well as Whitman College are within easy walking distance. The staff was courteous and attentive, and the suite we had in the tower was spacious and well appointed. Although there were several other guests, we were never aware of their presence while in our room, so good internal soundproofing. When we next visit, we will probably select this hotel again, although we will request either a higher floor (we were on 4) or a room with a different exposure as ours overlooked 2nd and Rose streets and we were disturbed by street sweepers in the night, etc. Although we didn't have dinner at the hotel, opting instead for Saffron and Whitehouse Crawford, we did enjoy both breakfast on site as well as an evening trip to the hotel bar.