Ratings based on 695 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland OR

Hotel centrally located

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Beautiful hotel, very clean. Close to small downtown area, walkable, tasting rooms, restaurants, coffee, shops close by. Nice weekend getaway .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing !

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Jonathan, Therese, Sarah, EJ, Andrea and James were such amazing and helpful. Thanks for you hospitality !
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Massive Disappointment

Posted Jun 30, 2017
I grew up in Walla Walla and was really looking forward to our stay. Check in was quick and we were given accommodations in the 4 floor addition. The room was great, then it started falling apart. The A/C unit was very loud and struggled constantly. We got the room temperature down to 70 and opted to turn it off in order to get some sleep. Then we realized how thin the walls were, with ordinary neighboring room noises easily heard through the walls. We wrre awske again at 3:30 AM due to the room heat, turned the a/c back on and ttied to get some additional sleep. Finally surrendering to the inevitable. We were up at 5:30 AM only to find we could not get the morning news since no channels were functioning on the TV. Thankfully, the morning breakfast was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great historical hotel downtown

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Nice hotel and the breakfast is the best comp breakfast ever.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boise, ID

This is a great hotel

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Beautiful lobby with great staff. The Continental breakfast is a big step up from a typical hotel. The restaurant and bar are great. We had a fun bar tender who made a mean drink. Room and bed we're both really comfortable. Just all around a great hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Nice hotel in good location

Posted Jun 8, 2017
The Marcus Whitman hotel in Walla Walla has a great location - with good walking access to the main part of downtown, and good access to the roads and backroads in the area. The staff were consistently friendly and helpful - with a special shout out for the front desk manager Jonathan and the breakfast buffet manager Lucy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Spokane washington

Very close to everything we wanted to see.

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Staff were so helpful and nice. Warm cookies in the afternoon. The full breakfast was awesome
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Make sure your room is in the main tower.

Posted Jun 4, 2017
We've stayed here before a few times. It's been great. The breakfast is excellent and the main building is historic and very cool. This time we were stuck in the lower extension, which is pretty lousy for the price. The rooms were tired and I won't go back unless we are guaranteed a room in the main tower.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Nice staff, tired facilities

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: Staff and breakfast.
Cons: Room decor, updating of hotel (too dark and dreary), change out the creepy music (remixed elevator music to make it less appealing).
Location: A+ location, within close proximity to the countless wine tasting rooms downtown.
Staff was nice but our room was very tired, with a super loud AC and fan that wouldn't stay "on" to mitigate the noise, bathroom fan sounded like a freight train and didn't work well, the carpet and walls appeared to have been updated 15-20 years ago. We stayed in the newer wing of the hotel; perhaps the rooms in the older building are nicer. The lobby has lovely period details and a grand appearance but the colors and lighting make it seem very tired and dark. Staff was consistently professional and attentive. Breakfast was surprisingly good for a straight-forward buffet, with well-prepared scrambled eggs and crisp bacon, amongst other options. Location is prime, which is why we stayed here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay at the Marcus Whitman

Posted May 21, 2017
Great overnight stay. Excellent property and close to shops and stores.