Ratings based on 147 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from norfolk

very nice hotel in attractive riverside village

Posted Dec 1, 2017
Pros: surroundings, great breakfast.
Cons: please see above
Location: V.nice riverside village. Location for Midsomer Murders. Nice Abbey. Nearby Didcot Railway Centre, Cholsey and Wallingford Railway and Pendon Museum
Enjoyed my stay - room comfort was OK and breakfast very nice. I don't think anything can be done because this is an old coaching inn, but people should be aware that rooms are accessed across the courtyard and therefore you need to go outdoors and negotiate doors and steps to get to reception, bar and breakfast from the room and vice-versa
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from leeds

Good hotel

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Nice hotel friendly staff great food definitely stay again 😀
4 out of 5
by Neville

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 21, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very enjoyable

Posted Aug 8, 2017 on Hotels
We really enjoyed our stay at the George Hotel in sleepy, picturesque Dorchester. Going to Dorchester is like stepping back in time. Whilst there was good wifi in the hotel, I could not get any mobile reception, there is no cashpoint anywhere in the village (the Co-op down the road offers cash back though) and I discovered the hard way that taxis need to be booked well in advance – say a couple of weeks! We stayed in one of the rooms off of the car park. It was very comfortable and we got a good night's sleep. The sheets and towels were lovely and clean, as was the basic bathroom. The bar staff were very friendly and the meal that we ordered in the bar, whilst slightly pricey, was delicious. The only thing that could have been a bit better was the breakfast. What was on the menu and what was actually available were different – neither vegetarian sausages nor black pudding were available as advertised. It was a good breakfast anyway in a lovely room but the service could have been faster and better. Still, overall we were very happy with our stay.
3 out of 5
by Chris

No more Bells please.

Posted Jul 27, 2017 on Hotels
The room was ok and I have stayed here before but in a room at the back of the building off the car park. I was put in room 2 on the front of the building facing the abbey. The Abbey bells are every hour all night so I hardly slept. Some people might like this but I certainly did not. They should make you aware when booking that you will be in a room at the front and be aware you will be woken up
4 out of 5
by NEIL

En-suite

Posted Jun 29, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was fine, apart from the shower in the bathroom. You had to sit in the bath to use it as there was no shower screen or curtain.
5 out of 5
by James marshall from wales

very pleasant surprise

Posted May 29, 2017 on Hotels
this Georgian hotel has been modernised very tastefully but has still maintained its antique furniture. The hotel also has some really nice views of the Abbey and the staff are always friendly .
4 out of 5
by Vicky

A lovely stay.

Posted May 12, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed in room 1. It is a good size room with a nice big bed, and had a very comfortable sleep. It is in a very old building and the floor slopes quite a bit. So much so that I couldn't put my watch on the bedside table as it kept sliding off! The bathroom was nice and clean, and had a bath with a shower attachment, ok if you want a sit down shower, but if you prefer a real shower I wouldn't recommend this room. The self-service breakfast selection was good, with crumpets and pancakes along side the bread for toasting, as well as cereal. We didn't have a cooked breakfast but it smelt great. The vegetarian option was standard cooked breakfast without any meat, i.e. No veggie sausage etc. Overall we had a lovely stay and Dorchester upon Thames is a very quaint little village, but beware despite what it might look like on the website, this is not the George hotel that is actually in Wallingford.
5 out of 5
by Alan

Quaint village and hotel

Posted May 10, 2017 on Hotels
Quaint little village with it's own Abbey, great architecture and pleasant surroundings. Hotel restaurant only had one vegetarian option but it was superb, thank you chef. Many photos of village an hotel but could not upload them due to site issue.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey

George Hotel - NOT in Wallingford!

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: See the review!
Cons: Make it crystal clear that it is not in Wallingford, please. Maybe a more varied selection of music - the loop got somewhat monotonous.
Location: Beautiful spot between the River Thame and the River Thames. Dorchester Abbey just across the road. The Thames Walk a short distance away.
This hotel is not in Wallingford - as it was advertised - but four miles away in Dorchester on Thames. There is another George Hotel, actually in Wallingford, and also in the relevant High Street. Confusing! Yep, we went to the wrong one first. That said, it seems to us that the DoT version is the nicer one: on a quiet road, easy parking in the courtyard, a nice bar, great restaurant. We were very impressed that when we said we couldn't make breakfast because of parkrun, we were immediately offered a pack lunch instead. We intended to have one dinner in the hotel, but were so impressed with the quality we decided to repeat the experience - equally happily - the next night. Good wines too, and not London prices. The breakfasts, included in the room rate, were top notch: prepared to order, with plenty of buffet choices too.