Ratings based on 127 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Churchdown

Nice place and convenient for our weekend away vis

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Situation
Cons: Maybe a freshen up in some areas new bedroom carpet.
Location: Lovely Abbey and gardens
We enjoyed ourselves liked location enjoyed food and service in dining room and found rooms to be comfotable
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North West UK

Great place to stay for a few days

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: Clean, well equipped room. Friendly, helpful service. Lovely location
Location: Dorchester is very quiet but Didcot is close by, as is Oxford .
The hotel is in a quiet location with the exception of the Dorchester Abbey directly across the road. Upon arrival the receptionist was extremely helpful in arranging rooms for us and throughout our stay was always happy, friendly and willing to chat. The rooms were very comfortable and well equipped, including an excellent shower. The room was made up to perfection every day and bathroom supplies provided without request. The Manager was very chatty and showed a high degree of attention to detail when ensuring customer needs were addressed. Also, despite it being a very busy weekend at the hotel, he made time to get to know customers and was very interesting to talk to. Finally. a big thank you has to go to the Spanish couple who ran the bar in the evenings. They were so friendly and full of fun it made a visit for a quick drink into an enjoyable evening. Once again, they went well beyond what would normally be expected for service.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

weekend break in nice village

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Cons: cleaning
Basically all ok but dust and some cobwebs in room. Grouting in shower needed cleaning. Staff were fine. A few days later their head office took payment off my debit card for a room already paid in the hotel. Hope to hear back today re my refund.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cirencester

Further out of Wallingford than we thought.

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Checked in at 230,room was still waiting to be cleaned was told to wait in another room but waited in the bar.no real welcome.should be advertised as George at Dorchester rather than high street but Wallingford,bit misleading as we thought it was closer and ended up having to get expensive taxi.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from farnborough

country hotel

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Parking was good. Nice old pub
Cons: Be a bit more friendly to there hotel guests.
Location: Was there for a birthday party so didn't really get to look around much, although we drove through some beautiful villages.
I had to wait till they stopped serving at the bar to get checked in. Room was ok. Sink tap was broken. Was a tear in the duvet cover. I had forgotten my phone charger plugged into the bed side table socket - in know it was my fault! But when I called that afternoon they said it was not there, I called again the next day and again the manager said they had not found it. Now I know I left it there...it was a USA phone lead so now I have to figure out finding another one in the UK. Also, there are 2 George hotels...one in Dorchester and one in Wallingford, within 5 miles of each, my friends booked the one in Wallingford thinking it was the same as mine!
4 out of 5
by Ilse from Stavanger

Sjarmerende men varierende service

Posted Jul 17, 2016 on Hotels
Dorchester er et flott sted. Hotellet har sjel og restauranten har god mat. Servicen var imidlertid meget varierende, fra meget vennlig til rett og slett dårlig, alt etter hvem en traff på. Hotellet kunngjør på et skilt på badet at de er miljøbevisste, men uansett hva jeg gjorde med håndklærne fikk jeg 2 nye sett med håndklær hver eneste dag (jeg bodde alene på et dobbeltrom). Sengen var forholdsvis hard. Hotellet kunne med fordel investert i nye madrasser, som de andre hotellene i Dorchester har gjort.
3 out of 5
by FERGUS from Nottingham

Oxfordshire Norm

Posted Jul 8, 2016 on Hotels
Another over priced room in Oxfordshire with service from people who just couldn't be bothered!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not in Wallingford

Posted Jun 20, 2016
Apart from the fact that this hotel is in fact in Dorchester on Thames, not Wallingford as advertised, it was very shabby, dirty and smelt bad/stale. Would not recommend.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cheshire,UK

The hotel is not in Wallingford

Posted Jun 6, 2016
Cons: see above
Location: It is well located for visiting Dorchester Abbey, which is opposite the hotel. This is very interesting and has a cafe attached selling tea and cakes
The booking was described by Expedia as Relaxinnz George Hotel, High Street, Wallingford. It is not in Wallingford but in Dorchester, 2/3 miles away. There is also another George Hotel,High Street, Wallingford which is actually in Wallingford. This causes some confusion. The room we had at Relaxinnz George Hotel was in the courtyard area and quite small.Although it was well decorated it had some negatives.The passageway outside the room looked as though it hadn't been swept for some time and the general driveway could be cleaner. In the room the toilet seat hinge was broken and needed attention. The vanity mirror light over the wash basin didn't work. To operate the hair dryer you have to press a switch in the bedroom which is not apparent and there are no instructions to point this out.There is no phone in the room so you need your mobile with you to contact reception.