Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

2.5 out of 5
38% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Good location looking over the Thames. Friendly staff. Clean comfy bed dated decor. Very few people eating in dining room in evening menu limited but very good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Really horribly decorated.

Posted Mar 14, 2017
The hotel is in a lovely position overlooking the river and the bedroom was spotless but the decor in the corridors leading to the rooms was the worst I've ever seen. Huge and spectacularly ugly prints of paintings, bright turquoise walls and a big patch of damp on the ceiling. Everything looked old and shoddy and my heart sank when I saw it. The room was without a glimmer of charm but the bed was comfortable and the cleaners had done an excellent job. There wasn't a spec of dirt or dust anywhere. Breakfast was fine and the staff were nice. The hotel was convenightly placed for what I needed but it needs a total revamp or better still build something in it's place that does justice to the great setting. I wouldn't consider going there again.
4 out of 5
by robert

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 23, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Spider kingdom but good area

Posted Dec 27, 2016 on Hotels
Spider kingdom - My room was right next to a light on the outside wall. As such, there were hundreds of flies outside, which wouldnt be a problem as they didnt get inside but there were also dozens of spiders hunting these flies. Now the spiders did come into the room. In my bathroom I had around 10 spiders on the ceiling so I didnt even bother killing them all as there were too many - I only killed the ones that moved. The area is very nice though. Perhaps I got unlucky with the room but I would not stay again, I think if my GF was there she would get a heart attack at the amount of spiders.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Not as bad as the reviews

Posted Nov 21, 2016
It's an old hotel in need of updating. The carpets are thread bare, my shower didn't work and the wallpaper is peeling off the walls. Having said all that, the rooms were clean, the bed comfy, the breakfast was great and the price was cheap. All in all I felt it was pretty good value for money.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not a good stay

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed at the Shillingford Bridge hotel for business and sorry to say not a good experience. i arrived and checked in and was given my key on getting to my room it smelt strongly of damp, the room was very dated and looking worn desk missing leather in strips carpet very worn and marked and on going into the bathroom was not good the sink had soap all around it hairs on the toilet bath soap marks around the bath. the ceiling was covered with mould and lots of mould around the tiles. on going to make a cup of tea old mouldy tea bags in the tpot. complained and was moved room 2 did have secondary glazing so a lot quieter but the bathroom again was not good again lots of mould around the bath and on the ceiling. The bed was comfortable and the sheets were clean. Corridors very unkept and windows filthy. breakfast was ok but staff not particularly friendly struggled to find staff to check out. lovely location would struggle to find better but unfortunately the hotel needs lots of TLC to bring it up to date.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bedfordshire

What a fraud !

Posted Oct 12, 2016 on Ebookers
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
Location: not sure as i was on business
having looked at this hotel on the internet, it OK - the reality is completely different. i checked in at reception and was given the key to my room and no staff were available to carry my luggage. on opening the door to my room it was literally a building site - the side was off the bath, floorboards were up, and the bedroom furniture was stacked in the middle of the room. i was then given another room which was just about OK. i went down to the bar for a drink to calm down, and again no staff. i had to search the ground floor of the building to find someone. dinner in their dining room was just about OK apart from a completely blunt steak knife. It was during my meal that i talked to what was probably the most senior member of staff who told me that completely run down condition of the hotel was due to the fact that the owners were selling and didnt want to spend anything prior to a sale. the final straw was being disturbed very noisily from about 21.00 to 22.00 as i was trying to get to sleep from banging beneath my room. i went to complain and was told it was noise from the kitchen - washhing up etc and the staff were most unapologetic. this is a tired overpriced hotel which should be avoided at all costs .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Very good Thames side location

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Pros: Very friendly staff
Cons: The furniture in the dining/lounge area of our suite needs updating
Location: Good location to visit the market town of Wallingford with its position by the Tahmes. Also close to Oxford and a number of pretty villages
The hotel is a bit dated in terms of the decor and fittings, particularly the suite that we stayed in. However the staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was of a very good quality.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In need of refurbishment but nice position

Posted Aug 21, 2016
This hotel is in a beautiful position and the receptionist was good. Breakfast, bar the staff, the lack of, was good and our room well appointed, clean and comfortable but the corridors and bar furniture were shoddy, carpets with ingrained dirt, paint work in need of renewal and the corridor to our sons room was musty and smelt horrid. Such a pity because it could be really lovely. As it was it felt over priced and was disappointing
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Not dog friendly

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Position by the river
Cons: Swimming pool working and dog friendly policy review
Dogs are only allowed in the grounds or your room, not in the hotel, so be prepared to sit outside for meals or pay £3 for room service. This is not dog friendly. Also the Waiver you sign says they only accept dogs under 30kg.