Ratings based on 188 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 13, 2017 on Hotels
the resort is even prettier than on the pics. super good staff, food ok, nice environment, nice rooms, super recommend if you mind driving a bit
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average but has character

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
I like the hotel but it has a certain character. It is spread over several buildings with underground tunnels between them. Service is average, it's remote and yet has a rustic charm. The pool is great, the beds are uncomfortable
3 out of 5
by Peter from Burnham, Berks.

I can't understand the bad reviews

Posted Sep 2, 2016 on Hotels
Booked Club room thinking this was like Club Class. It isn't - they're actually the cheapest! Check in was quick, easy and friendly. The room was fine. Not flashy enough to rave about but comfortable despite showing its age. The air con worked well and after coming from a hotel which didn't have it, it was MUCH appreciated. I'm not used to standing in a bath to take a shower, but that's my only real criticism of our room (although the view wasn't up to much either) The garden was a bit overgrown in parts and finding the (dilapidated) tennis court was quite an expedition but the whole had a charming "shabby chic" air of tiring splendour. The high point was dinner. True gourmet quality food but priced accordingly. (Dinner without wine cost significantly more than the room). Breakfast was great and made especially memorable by eating in the garden on a beautiful, warm, sunny day. I've read the reviews branding the hotel "Terrible" and wonder if they're written out of malice. I downgraded my review from 5 to 4 overall bearing in mind these criticisms and being reminded of some of the room's failings too - but to my mind the flaws just add to the charm of the hotel and my overall experience was "Wonderful". I would book again but not a Club room :)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 5, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 2, 2015 on Hotels
It was such a beautiful hotel with garden .The restaurant was great.
5 out of 5
by Ralph from cambridge

looking forward to going back

Posted Jul 1, 2015 on Hotels
one night stay, unfortunately arrived too late for dinner, but enjoyed some drinks outside under the full moon, in a beautiful setting. Plan to go back, having more time to spend at the hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mediocre at best

Posted Mar 24, 2015 on Hotels
Mediocre at best. Our room was very spacious...so that's a plus...but there were suspicious stains on the sofa and elsewhere on the carpet. The breakfast was poor. The eggs were bad and the croissants not very fresh. The wifi was awful. I had a business call and it was very frustrating to skype. Would not recommend the place at all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northwich

Autumn retreat

Posted Nov 28, 2014
Pros: Quiet location
Cons: Tea & coffee in the rooms
Location: Walibi Amusement Park
fantastic setting with wonderfull gardens in a quiet location
3 out of 5
by DG from UK

Quirky

Posted Aug 28, 2014 on Hotels
Nice enough hotel but needed more staff to assist when you have to navigate a maize to your room.
5 out of 5
by Lyn

Off the beaten path

Posted Jun 27, 2014 on Hotels
Very nice hotel.. I don't recommend the hotel for a family vacay with young kids because I felt like we would be bothersome to guests if we were too loud but my kids are at that age where they will somewhat listen. Service was spectacular and people were always welcoming. Our room was a little bit of a trek, but worth it... It's a little big of a maze there :)