Ratings based on 123 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Norfolk

Convenient hotel for our journey.

Posted Jul 30, 2016
The exterior of the hotel does no justice to the interior which is well furnished and attractive. The room we had was convenient, comfortable and welcoming.
4 out of 5
by Chris

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 26, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Roger

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 7, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by JAYSHREE

ok for one night stop over.

Posted Jun 5, 2016 on Hotels
OK. Nothing really special. Creeky floor.
4 out of 5
by Lloyd from Wales

Looks like a pub but nice rooms!

Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
Looks like a pub from the outside but rooms are surprisingly spacious and well equipped. Reception staff are helpful and pleasant. Breakfast choice and quality average. Overall good value for money.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overnight stay

Posted May 4, 2016 on Hotels
Overall an enjoyable stay although there were some plumbing problems as the shower/bath was very slow to empty.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not as good as expected

Posted May 3, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel could do with a little TLC in places. The breakfast was ok but we had to wait for various items including plates & glasses. The staff could be heard saying that they had had too many people down at the same time. Well when we were there for breakfast, there wasn't many others & we still had to wait a while for everything.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Nothing special

Posted Apr 29, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Big room and nice brekkie.
Location: pub across the road
At midnight they arrived in the room above us, thought they were coming through the ceiling ,creaking and banging .My wife got scolded in the shower ,kept changing from hot to cold.
4 out of 5
by Carol from Preston

Revisit to Barrons

Posted Apr 24, 2016 on Hotels
We have stayed here before, normally at a weekend. The room was lovely, the only fault with room 103 is the room above has extremely creaky floor boards and as it was occupied by workers one of which was up at 4.45 and the other at 5.45 it did not assist with a great nights sleep. The lady on reception did say she would get the floors looked at following our comments to her. We will stop here again as it is a lovely hotel with very good staff and is within 5 miles of family who we were visiting.
3 out of 5
by Chris from London

Decent hotel, however my room was uncomfortable (s

Posted Apr 22, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel overall was OK, the service was friendly and the room was large, however in need of modernisation. The Radiator was stuck on full (control knob broken) and the windows catches were broken (2nd floor so no security issue), the room was like a sauna. I reported the radiator to reception and they sent a staff member to fix, he stated he had turned it down and opened the window. The radiator never got cooler, I had to close the window due to noise and slept on top of the covers, however didn't sleep well due to the dry heat.