Ratings based on 243 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
39% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from miami

Posted Sep 16, 2017
The hotel was in very poor conditions. Dirty bed sheets with terrible smell , old and out of date ceiling structure with spider webs, bathroom in poor condition as well , the AC was dripping water on the carpet , you could hear your neighbors loud and clear. I cannot give an opinion about breakfast, "I didn't take that risk."
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

An interesting stay

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Pros: The rooms were decent and clean.
Cons: Better key card machine; good work ethic from all employees, not just a few; Not enough towels for 4 people despite being charged extra.
Location: Gas stations and a few restaurants are nearby. Right off I95 which was convenient.
On the Expedia reservation I listed 4 people in the room. When I arrived at the hotel with my family who left Florida to escape Hurricane Irma, I was charged an additional 20 because they said the reservation only showed 2 people. I would have booked a nicer hotel if I knew I was going to be charged an additional amount at the door (even after I put 4 people in the room on the reservation). One young male employee gave minimal effort on stocking the breakfast area and checking people in/out. Luckily, another male employee showed up and began working hard to stock the area Saturday. The following day an older female employee picked up the slack for him. At least 3 times during my Friday-Sunday stay, the key cards did not work. One of those times, multiple families in the hotel that attempted to use their card within a 20 minute span were locked out. Then the police showed up for a domestic violence incident in one of the lower rooms. It was a little scary to see several cop cars speed in with their lights flashing and sirens. At least 5 families on my row of rooms couldn't get our families into our hotel rooms safely. No apology was given when the keys were brought in to be re-keyed. The rooms were decent and clean.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Terrable place stay clear

Posted Sep 13, 2017
The wall were paper thin you could hear everything from the rooms next door. Very noisy if you want sleep don't stay here. My wife didn't even want to shower there.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very disappointing

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Extremely rude desk clerk. Pictures of hotel is misrepresented. Cafeteria ceiling half missing and nasty stained tiles. Gym is in a closet. Computer room is in bathroom hall and useless 20 year old computer just for looks. Every time you leave your room you have to go several times back to desk to get a working key card. Check in time was delayed by several hours and was threatened to cancel my room and reservation . Asked,waited and had to return 4 times and hours later for my room. I was disrespected im front of 20 people just because I asked for my room 2 hours after check in. This was the most unprofessional business I had ever came across my life. I might even contact an attorney because it was that bad and in the worse time that we needed safety.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

Lack of clean

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: Nothimg
Cons: Everything
Location: Good location
Terrible experience. Room not clean, smell ugly. And too expensive $101 !!!! Charging $101/night when ppl was running away from hurricane Irma. So disappointed
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Disgusting!

Posted Sep 10, 2017
We checked in at 12am and the room was not ready yet. I called prior to let them know I was checking in late to guarantee the room and was transferred 4 times. The staff was so not polite or welcoming. I had to ask where the room was because was not easy to find and ask to beg for two plastic forks. The room was disgusting, smelled bad. The bathroom was not clean, hair all over. The pillows were yellow and stained, the sheets as well. The chairs were all dirty, couldn't even seat. Was too tired to complain and I don't think I would have solved anything. We just spent the night after a long trip and we're leaving early in the morning, but that doesn't justify the horrible experience. I have worked in the hotel industry before and if that was unacceptable. I wish I had had slept in the car.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Any Port in a Storm (or Before One)

Posted Sep 10, 2017
We got out of Florida ahead of Hurricane Irma, trying to return to California, and were only able to get a flight out of Raleigh-Durham. So, we trekked up I-95 with about half of Florida, horrendous traffic most of the way, and after our dinner stop, I was able to book somewhere to sleep through Expedia while my wife drove. It turned out to be the Ramada in Walterboro. The bed was very comfortable, but that's about all good that I can report about this property. The walls were paper-thin; we could hear every word spoken in the room next door, and every wheeze of the C-PAP machine they used. If we hadn't been utterly exhausted, the surprising comfort of the beds would not have helped. The facility is old and worn, and it shows. Plus, the free breakfast is very spartan. Best to head to the Shoney's next door. The staff seemed overwhelmed, but given the situation, that's pretty understandable. When I told them that I had booked through Expedia, they seemed annoyed. To their credit, they did react charitably to some angry and irrational guests. This place does not do wonders for the Ramada brand, that's for sure. But it was a place to stay. Refugees can't be choosers.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 31, 2017
I good place to stay over while you are on the road. A bunch of restaurants and gas stations nearby. The room was clean and comfortable, free wifi.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from FL

The Worst

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Total refurbishing.
Location: Only went there because it was the only room I could find between the Atlantic coast and Nashville TN near the area of total eclipse on 8/21/17.
Tied for the 2nd worst hotel/motel I've stayed in in my life. I'm 70 years old and well traveled. The place is worn out and dirty.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando, FL

Quickly renovated

Posted Aug 23, 2017
The room had a new headboard and new Tv, but everything else was dated or in need of replacement. The A/C was old, it worked perfectly, the sheets were clean and the towels smelled fresh.